We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, great service, great rooms, okay breakfast!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added State Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
State Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2117 E St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get Up & Go Package
Ranked #57 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Nairobi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good location, great service, great rooms, okay breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

If you are looking for a nice suite hotel then this hotel is for you. The location is great, next to metro and some of the monuments. It's also a few minutes walk to the White House, incase you want to take a glimpse of where the US president lives! The rooms are large with a nice spacious bathroom, cloakroom and small kitchen. Seems the hotel was once an apartment rental. The staff is very friendly and is always willing to assist. As a first time visitor to Washington DC appreciated the service provided by the front desk. Now the only criticism I have is on the breakfast. For someone who loves a good meal in the morning, the breakfast was not that great. Only scrambled eggs provided each day stayed there ( booked for a week). Would have loved to see a change in breakfast menu at least to provide even a change in the type of eggs served. So basically the breakfast menu never changed! But on the bright side for dinner, I tried the cheese cake and it was wonderful. The hotel is also a walking distance to various restaurants so you can improve your experience by trying out some of the cuisines available.Definitely recommend it. If you are looking for a hotel within Washington then this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Adventurer29,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted to hear how great your experience was with us. It is always nice to hear such positive comments regarding our hotel and our associates within it. In light of the above mentioned concern, I would like to let you know that we are re-vamping our restaurant and we encourage you to try our breakfast again. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    443
    144
    43
    24
See reviews for
288
267
76
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Great service here and the rooms are very nice (new) and clean, had a issue with guest next door (screaming at midnight and using bad language) but not the fault of the hotel and they tried sending security to this neighbor but he was just rude and obnoxious. Other than that we really enjoyed our 3 nights here, shout out to the doorman because he was very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear TMas777_10,

We are so happy to have read your review. It is always wonderful to hear such positive comments and feedback regarding our hotel and our associates, as we continuously strive for customer excellence. We look forward to the next opportunity to welcome you back to the State Plaza Hotel!

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morelia, Mexico
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I stayed here for 27 nights for a second year in a row. The place has excellent service and facilities. Exactly what you need to be ok. I had a suite which is a little bit bigger and helps if you have kids or stay long. Fitness center is ok and location is great for the white house, Kennedy center, etc. just 10 minutes to Reagan Airport with no traffic. Beds was very good.

Room Tip: a suite if you can pay the difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear RodrigoSigal,

Thank you for your review. It’s nice to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of our hotel and due to this you came back to stay with us for a second time. Our rooms are very accommodating for our long term and short term guests and it’s great to hear they were a perfect fit for you. We hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

With à view over the Washington Monument and the White House à 10 min walk away combined with à superb suite and à warm welcoming this is à very good place to stay. Expensive valet parking though. 32USD

Room Tip: King suite facing E Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear JaneSD8364NU,

Thank you so much for posting your review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again the next time your travels bring you to Washington D.C.!

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We were only in DC for a night and chose State Plaza as it is near Andrew Mellon Auditorium which is were the celebration was to be held. The hotel is also conveniently located near several stores for shopping. State Plaza is a quaint establishment and met our needs for a short visit. Our room was very clean and even had a small kitchen which would come in handy for quick meals. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear TravelDetailsbySJ,

We appreciate you taking the time to leave your review. I am happy to hear that due to our convenient location and rooms with a kitchen, we were able to meet all of your needs. Thank you for choosing the State Plaza and we hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, In
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I usually have to stay here when in DC for meetings as they have a good rate for my company (a national nonprofit). Usually, I hate it as the rooms are a throwback to the 1970's. Apparently they are popular with international travelers, though, since that's what they think of when they think of America. I don't get it. I was pleasantly surprised when I was asked if I wanted a remodeled room in the north tower and even more surprised to see how much better it looked. The infrastructure is still the same (e.g., low functioning AC), bu tan improvement nonetheless.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the North Tower as the South Tower has not been remodeled yet. You will give up a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Hotel was clean. Rooms were big and well-equipped. All rooms are actually suites, and our room had a kitchen, dressing room, bedroom and bath. Staff was courteous and helpful. Within walking distance of many good restaurants, the Kennedy Center, the waterfront, Georgetown's shopping district, etc. Weekend rates were very affordable. We would definitely stay there if/when we return to Washington in the future.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Klinsky,

Thank you for posting your review. It was nice to hear how helpful our convenient location was for you during your stay, as we are right in the middle of downtown, dc and within walking distance to many attractions. I am pleased to hear you would stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to State Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about State Plaza Hotel

Address: 2117 E St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#59 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — State Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, TIG Global and Tingo so you can book your State Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
State Plaza Washington Dc
Hotel State Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage State Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.