We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, friendly staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added State Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
State Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2117 E St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Charlton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, friendly staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

The wife and I stayed here for a 3 day trip to DC and it was great. Upon arriving the doorman and gentleman at the front desk were super friendly. They provided us with a map of the city and other brochures. It was a great way to start our trip.

The room was very clean with all the standard amenities like a coffee maker, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, and a microwave. It also had a small kitchen area with a table for two, full size fridge, stove top, and sink. The bathroom was a good size. The shower had great water pressure. There was a little foyer area off of the bathroom with a vanity and desk for my wife to get ready while I used the shower. There was a complimentary bottle of water each morning. The bed was comfortable with nice sheets.

Also, our room was in the back tower of the hotel on the first floor, closest to the elevator which was fantastic. We were literally the closest room to the back lobby which takes you out onto F St. And the hotel is next door to a CVS in case you needed to pick up medicine or toiletries. But the hotel does provide shampoo, conditioner, soap, hand lotion, and shower caps in the room already.

We had breakfast one morning in the hotel restaurant and chose the continental which was around $11 and included what you'd expect for a continental breakfast. You could pay more if you wanted eggs, bacon, and french toast. The server at the restaurant was very attentive. I don't think my coffee ever got below half full before it was topped off.

With all of this being said, I think my favorite part of the hotel was the location. It's right in the middle of the foggy bottom district and is basically equidistant to the White House and National Mall. My wife and I jogged a 4 mile loop one morning that took us around the Washington Monument, Jefferson Memorial, FDR Memorial, Korean War Memorial, Lincoln Memorial, and Vietnam Memorial. We took our cameras with us and were able to knock out a bunch of sites in a couple of hours due to the location of the hotel. It's only a few blocks away from the Metro as well.

I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel if you're stopping by for a trip to DC. The staff was friendly, the room was clean, and the location was fantastic. It's not the fanciest hotel, don't expect the Ritz, but if that's not a problem for you I say you should definitely stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Greg P,

Thank you so much for such a nice review. It is great to hear such wonderful feedback. Our team works very hard to ensure optimal guest service is being provided to everyone, and it’s great to know their work is being recognized. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to our nation’s capital!

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    474
    157
    44
    25
See reviews for
300
289
81
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We had a very good time in this hotel, the quality/price ratio was very good.
- Clean, big and well equiped rooms, with comfortable beds and a big kitchen. Bathrooms clean too.
- Good location (not the best though)
- Good staff

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear VictorRp1982,

Thank you for posting your review. I am happy to hear that everything from our friendly staff to our great location helped to make your stay enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I often travel to business meetings in Washington. More often than not I stay at the State Plaza. The place is very good value for the price and the service is great. I want to commend the exceptional service of one of the front door concierge staff named Bekele. Bekele can always be counted on to go out of his way to help a traveller out. Thanks very much. Al Panico

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Ajpan,

We are so happy to have read your review. It is always nice to hear such wonderful comments regarding our associates and the excellent service they provide. I will be sure to let Bekele know how thankful you are to him for being so helpful throughout your stay. We look forward to the next opportunity to welcome you back to the State Plaza Hotel.

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

fantastic hotel especially for the price you pay. i guess its been recently refurbished, the rooms are huge with two queen size beds a kitchen and dining plus a nice bath. the rooms are clean and location is unbeatable its a ten minute walk to the national mall. I would strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Tricunfos,

Thank you for posting such a nice review. I am delighted to know that our competitive pricing, spacious and clean rooms, along with our convenient location helped in making your stay excellent. We greatly appreciate your recommendation and we hope to see you again, the next time your travels bring you to the nation’s capital!

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is in a good location and the newly refurbished rooms have a fresh look even though the choice of decor colors is a strange one for a hotel. Rooms were very clean during the stay and comfy overall. Rooms are nice and big with kitchen but found it strange that there's no microwave in the kitchen. Breakfast however was a disappointment with limited choices and monotonous even for a few days stay.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Howard C,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am happy to hear that our spacious rooms and convenient location was a great fit for you during your stay. Thank you for bringing to our attention the concerns mentioned above, we are working hard to ensure that they are being rectified. We hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

2nd time at this hotel. you cannot beat the location, especially for GW or the monuments.
Rooms very large, and we stayed in newly redone room.
2 queen beds - very nice.

Only negative is the breakfast "buffet" is too expensive for the variety and quality of the foods offered.
However, still rated overall experience as excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear hermsherm,

We appreciate you posting such a great review. I would like to thank you for continuously choosing to stay at the State Plaza when you visit D.C. It is nice to know that our convenient location, service and large rooms contributed to your decision to stay with us again. We can’t wait to see you again soon, the next time your travels bring you to our nation’s capital!

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

My father and I stayed here a few months back over the holidays. The staff was wonderful, always ready to help with luggage or local attractions. Our room was big enough for two people who liked their privacy, which was great for the price. Overall a great stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Emerthomas13,

Thank you so much for posting your review. It is great to hear you enjoyed our wonderful team here at The State Plaza and our spacious guest rooms during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to State Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about State Plaza Hotel

Address: 2117 E St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#60 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#66 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — State Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, BookIt.com and TIG Global so you can book your State Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
State Plaza Washington Dc
Hotel State Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage State Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.