We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No regrets, I would recommend to anybody!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added State Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
State Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2117 E St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sizzling Summer Savings!
Ranked #61 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Dallas, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“No regrets, I would recommend to anybody!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Location, location, location! This place is within easy walking distance of most anything you want to do in downtown DC and on the rare occasion is it not, the public transportation system is amazing. Yes, as other people have mentioned, it is an older property, but very well maintained. If you usually stay at a new HIE or Courtyard, you will notice the differences in age. However, it was clean, the service was exceptional (generally better than the two hotels listed previously), especially the door men! The beds were comfortable, nice flat screen TV. As a bonus, we had a separate kitchen, not just a kitchenette. Dishes provided and the maids wash the dishes for you every morning. I did not notice any smells that a couple of other people have mentioned but do wish they would add some lamps with outlets attached to them. The room did not have enough outlets easily accessible for today's typical traveler (much less family) with all of our electronic gadgets that need to charge. My only annoyance if I had to find one is on our first day it was almost 60 degrees. Warm for this time of the year and the AC units were turned off and not allowed to turn on and the windows only opened about 6" so it was hard to get the room cooled down, but they brought us a fan and it cooled down enough the rest of our trip that it was not important. In fact, turned on the heater later in the week. Again, any small annoyances were more than overcome by the great location and great service! I would stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    297
    417
    134
    44
    27
See reviews for
264
223
70
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights! We had an amazing experience. The hotel was clean, the people working there were exceptional and remembered us from the first day. If we needed anything they were there at the door to help us. The only reason I didn't give it a 5 star was because we called for a plunger and it took 2 hours to get it and because they didn't tell us why they were charging our card $60 when we checked in, we are still waiting to be refunded but we just got home.

The hotel was clean, in an excellent location and when we needed a microwave they brought it to our door in about 2 minutes! It was in a great location, 3 blocks from the Mall and Lincoln Memorial. There was a Liquor store and 24/hr CVS right down stairs. There wasn't very many food options near by and the Dunkin Donuts next door is closed on the weekend (WTH?)!

The metro is about 2 blocks up and 4 blocks over and that would take you anywhere. All in all it was a memorable experience and we for sure will be staying there next time!!! Thank you so much!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Meg E,

Our door men are an asset to our hotel. They truly enjoy meeting people and welcoming them back on a daliy basis. Sorry it took us a while to get you the plunger, we'll make sure to improve on that. The $60 reserved on your credit card upon check in should only be an authorization for incidental charges and if not used, should be released back to your card. Please contact me directly should you not have received the credit by now. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Myself and my fiancé stayed here for 4 nights between February and March. It was a pleasant stay and for the price we paid there wasn't to much to complain about. Yes the decor is old but who really cares? The rooms are big and clean.

The only negatives were the smell coming from the ventilator fan on the 8th floor, some evenings our room would have an unpleasant smell for a few hours, the slowness of the lift and the fridge in our kitchen was quite noisy.

Would still recommend you stay here.

Room Tip: Try not to get room 829!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear BananaMilkshake1,

Thank you for your review and we're glad you and your fiance had a pleasant stay with us. We apologize for the negatives you've experienced while staying with us but we will make sure to identify the sources of these issues so that we can either fix them or replace them so that they'll be no bother to anyone else in the future. We hope to have you back in the future. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Having been working in Washington DC for a few days at the National Convention Centre we chose to take a couple of extra days vacation to check out the tourist attractions in DC. We stayed at the State Plaza on East Street and our stay could not have been more comfortable as the room featured two twin Queen Size beds, a bathroom and a spacious kitchen/dining area. The location of the hotel was superb for sightseeing as not only were many of the main attractions a short cab ride away but the Metro system was very accessible with Foggy Bottom station only a five minute walk away opening up a whole host of new possibilities. The staff at the hotel were helpful and polite and left us with the impression that nothing was too much trouble. We did not eat in the restaurant as there was a great food store next door so we decided to make full use of our kitchen facilities and go self catering. i would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for smaller pillows as the height of the standard ones is rather large!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Nickyt13,

It's very nice of you to take time to give us your review. We're also glad that you consider the State Plaza Hotel your home away from home. I will make sure to convey to our staff your kind words and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I have been using the hotel for the last 22 years; it is close to a metro station and to all important places and monuments in Washington DC, it has the same classic decoration, the same furniture, the same nice restaurant, very good service, it is quiet and very enjoyable; for my generation going to the hotel is like going back home.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear JuanCSilva,

In behalf of all our staff, I would like to thank you very much for your 22 years of loyalty. We are going to change a bit with our renovations but I hope you'll continue to come stay with us and maybe even appreciate the new "stuff". We're excited about it and really hope you'll like it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nehalem, Oregon, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here for our annual work trip for the last three years. PROS: affordable, big rooms, kitchen, close to Mall, in college neighborhood, staff is good. CONS: too hot at night, tub faucet leaked, wifi slow, noisy, NO hot water last morning, far from the Hill, far from metro stop, construction. . This place has been good in the past. Make sure your room is far from the elevator, and up a few floors.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dakota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I liked the location of this hotel, close to GW University, the White House, the monuments, and the museums. The bed was excellent and there was a full kitchen area (in which I only used the coffee maker). The decor had a 1950s feel, with green ceramic tile in the bathroom, etc. The entire hotel was clean, comfortable, and the room price was very affordable. Wireless internet in the room was reliable. The flat screen TV worked well and there was an excellent selection of channels. The restaurant in the lower level is an informal feeling but "white tablecloth" place with a limited menu, good service, and reasonable prices. In Washington DC there are lots of hotels with much higher prices and not much more in terms of value. I recommend the State Plaza for those on a budget who would appreciate the kitchen, the safe area, cleanliness, and handy location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to State Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about State Plaza Hotel

Address: 2117 E St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#56 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#63 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — State Plaza Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your State Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
State Plaza Washington Dc
Hotel State Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage State Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.