We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel for budget and tourism” 5 of 5 stars
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added State Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
State Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2117 E St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Braila, Romania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel for budget and tourism”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I chosed this hotel for the location and the budget. My intention was to stay a week to visit another DC, after last year I made a touristic tour in 2 days. The hotel was perfect. Near to a metri station (5-10 minutes walk), near to downtown. There are apartments in the hotel and near there is a CVS and a liquor store. The neighboroughts are quite and safe. The staff was wonderfull. The apartment has a bedroom, a livingroom, a bathroom, a kitchen and 3 closets. The bedroom was large, in the livingroom I put my laptop (free wi-fi). The bathroom was ok, with what I needed. In the kitchen is a big fridge, a stove and everything you need for cooking and eating.
My room was at first floor at the end of the corridor. From there you can go in the inner yard when you can smoke.
Every morning I had free cofee and tea. And the newspaper.
I reccomand this hotel for budget, cleanliness, quiet and location.
You don't need breakfast at the hotel, you can make it yourself.

Room Tip: The E street entrance building
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear puzzleeurope,

We were so happy to have read that you found our hotel to be "perfect" for numerous reasons. There is a great satisfaction among our staff when our Guests leave our hotel happy and raving about State Plaza Hotel and it's staff. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    272
    388
    130
    41
    27
See reviews for
249
206
67
160
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grafton, VT
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The State Plaza Hotel is a great place to stay in DC. The rooms are enormous for a city hotel, suites actually. There is a nice full kitchen (though no microwave) and plenty of room. they are converted old apartments and have that feel which I am certainly not opposed to. The beds were very comfortable, the rooms clean. the staff was helpful and polite. And the price can't be beat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear WholeWideEd,

Greetings! It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our rates a great value and our staff polite and helpful. We do have microwaves and we bring them to you upon request free of charge. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The location is fantastic! The staff is very friendly and attentive. The "rooms" are spacious. The bar in the restaurant is small but the service was personal and friendly. But...the property needs an upgrade. I read that they are going to upgrade soon which is great. Unfortunately I'm sure that my family and others will be priced out of this terrifically located hotel :-(
We traveled with 2 teenagers (a boy and girl!) so we booked a suite (through booking.com). The rate was great and the room was a converted apartment with a kitchen, large living area with a huge fold out bed/couch, a huge double bedroom and a teeny-tiny bathroom. Luckily there was a vanity area outside the bath so the "ladies" had a place to get ready while someone else showered-shaved-ect. The carpets are really old, the heat hadn't been turned on yet (the front desk volunteered a space heater--but I had visions of setting the place on fire with that!), we needed more garbage cans and the staff was awesome in that they put one in the kitchen BEFORE we even asked :-) The beds were very comfortable and the bed linens were clean and comfy. My son said the fold-out was comfortable. The noise from outside was a non-issue, even on garbage morning.
I really want to give this property 4 stars because of the staff, the value!!! and the location...I just can't. However, if you can excuse the little things (which we can and we would book here again) I do recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear AML67,

We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. As you mentioned, we are renovating the hotel which should address some of your concerns. Let us know the next time you're visiting DC. You might just be pleasantly surprised as we will continue to strive to be the best value in town even after our renovations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We've stayed at the State Plaza numerous times over the years and enjoyed its proximity to GWU, all the monuments, the White House, the Metro, etc. We're from Canada and would certainly stay at the State Plaza during future visits to D.C. The staff have been most helpful with everything including the valet parking and information about the sites to see in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear SGarlick,

It is always a pleasure to read a review when our Guests appreciate our helpful staff and we thank you for taking the time to post it. Thank you for continuing to stay with us while in DC and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Fifteen minutes by cab from Reagan National Airport. Easy check-in to a very large room with two King-sized beds, a kitchen (tables and chairs, full sized fridge/freezer, full-sized cooker and microwave), a bathroom and a dressing room. Although the room had little charm, it was newly decorated, clean and functional. The State Plaza does lack amenities and dining facilities but there are a few good restaurants and cafes in the immediate vicinity (a liqour store and a grocery are next door) such as Bertucci's, TGI Fridays and Tonic @ Quigleys. Location is in Foggy Bottom and adjacent to George Washington University. The President's White House is a couple of blocks away as is the National Mall with all its Memorials and Museums. Great value for the Bucks and I would definmately stay here again if in Washington DC.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear FairCityFrasie,

It was great to have read your review of the State Plaza Hotel. We do have a full service restaurant onsite and I apologize if you weren't notified of that. The restaurant is actually quite good and is one of the local favorites in the area. We hope you can try it on your next visit if your travel plans bring you back to Washington DC. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Nice hotel, but way too pricy. Huge rooms which is not really necessary, but since client is located in the same block, this was really the only option. Rooms are quiet, staff are helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: No pool :0(
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear PeterGiesen,

Thank you for posting your review. We strive to be the best value in town by making sure our rates remain very competitive or even lower than other hotels in the area. I'm sorry that you felt we were too expensive when you visited us but we were delighted to have read that you found our staff helpful and rooms quiet. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhubaneswar, Orissa, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The Washington Experience has become a stellar one with State Plaza. It is nestled close to everything. I have explored the National Mall, White House and The GWU.. all on foot. The rooms and ambiance are royal. The service staff is very polite and courteous.. love them absolutely. They come many times a day to ensure everything is fine. With all facilities available to make a stay worth the day.

We are a big group of 27 International Teachers and the only issue we have faced is the telephone bill. We perhaps didn't understand the "First 30 minutes" concept and went on to make multiple toll-free calls; ending up with unwanted bills on a tight budget. Each call costs.. so make it count till the 30th minute.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Kaish K,

I remember your group's arrival well to the State Plaza Hotel. We're glad that your group stayed with us and it was great to see so many people from your group coming from all parts of the world. I will share with our staff your kind words and I know they'll appreciate it. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to State Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about State Plaza Hotel

Also Known As:
State Plaza Washington Dc
Hotel State Plaza
Address: 2117 E St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#59 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — State Plaza Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere, Agoda and TIG Global so you can book your State Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage State Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.