We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want to give it 4 stars but, I can't...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added State Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
State Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2117 E St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sizzling Summer Savings!
Ranked #62 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Northern California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Want to give it 4 stars but, I can't...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The location is fantastic! The staff is very friendly and attentive. The "rooms" are spacious. The bar in the restaurant is small but the service was personal and friendly. But...the property needs an upgrade. I read that they are going to upgrade soon which is great. Unfortunately I'm sure that my family and others will be priced out of this terrifically located hotel :-(
We traveled with 2 teenagers (a boy and girl!) so we booked a suite (through booking.com). The rate was great and the room was a converted apartment with a kitchen, large living area with a huge fold out bed/couch, a huge double bedroom and a teeny-tiny bathroom. Luckily there was a vanity area outside the bath so the "ladies" had a place to get ready while someone else showered-shaved-ect. The carpets are really old, the heat hadn't been turned on yet (the front desk volunteered a space heater--but I had visions of setting the place on fire with that!), we needed more garbage cans and the staff was awesome in that they put one in the kitchen BEFORE we even asked :-) The beds were very comfortable and the bed linens were clean and comfy. My son said the fold-out was comfortable. The noise from outside was a non-issue, even on garbage morning.
I really want to give this property 4 stars because of the staff, the value!!! and the location...I just can't. However, if you can excuse the little things (which we can and we would book here again) I do recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear AML67,

We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. As you mentioned, we are renovating the hotel which should address some of your concerns. Let us know the next time you're visiting DC. You might just be pleasantly surprised as we will continue to strive to be the best value in town even after our renovations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    297
    421
    134
    44
    27
See reviews for
266
224
70
176
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We've stayed at the State Plaza numerous times over the years and enjoyed its proximity to GWU, all the monuments, the White House, the Metro, etc. We're from Canada and would certainly stay at the State Plaza during future visits to D.C. The staff have been most helpful with everything including the valet parking and information about the sites to see in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear SGarlick,

It is always a pleasure to read a review when our Guests appreciate our helpful staff and we thank you for taking the time to post it. Thank you for continuing to stay with us while in DC and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Fifteen minutes by cab from Reagan National Airport. Easy check-in to a very large room with two King-sized beds, a kitchen (tables and chairs, full sized fridge/freezer, full-sized cooker and microwave), a bathroom and a dressing room. Although the room had little charm, it was newly decorated, clean and functional. The State Plaza does lack amenities and dining facilities but there are a few good restaurants and cafes in the immediate vicinity (a liqour store and a grocery are next door) such as Bertucci's, TGI Fridays and Tonic @ Quigleys. Location is in Foggy Bottom and adjacent to George Washington University. The President's White House is a couple of blocks away as is the National Mall with all its Memorials and Museums. Great value for the Bucks and I would definmately stay here again if in Washington DC.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear FairCityFrasie,

It was great to have read your review of the State Plaza Hotel. We do have a full service restaurant onsite and I apologize if you weren't notified of that. The restaurant is actually quite good and is one of the local favorites in the area. We hope you can try it on your next visit if your travel plans bring you back to Washington DC. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Nice hotel, but way too pricy. Huge rooms which is not really necessary, but since client is located in the same block, this was really the only option. Rooms are quiet, staff are helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: No pool :0(
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear PeterGiesen,

Thank you for posting your review. We strive to be the best value in town by making sure our rates remain very competitive or even lower than other hotels in the area. I'm sorry that you felt we were too expensive when you visited us but we were delighted to have read that you found our staff helpful and rooms quiet. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhubaneswar, Orissa, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The Washington Experience has become a stellar one with State Plaza. It is nestled close to everything. I have explored the National Mall, White House and The GWU.. all on foot. The rooms and ambiance are royal. The service staff is very polite and courteous.. love them absolutely. They come many times a day to ensure everything is fine. With all facilities available to make a stay worth the day.

We are a big group of 27 International Teachers and the only issue we have faced is the telephone bill. We perhaps didn't understand the "First 30 minutes" concept and went on to make multiple toll-free calls; ending up with unwanted bills on a tight budget. Each call costs.. so make it count till the 30th minute.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Kaish K,

I remember your group's arrival well to the State Plaza Hotel. We're glad that your group stayed with us and it was great to see so many people from your group coming from all parts of the world. I will share with our staff your kind words and I know they'll appreciate it. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed at this hotel over fall break. The staff was very friendly and helpful. My parents were traveling with us and they made sure our rooms were next door to each other. We also liked the location as there were decent restaurants close by as well as 5 blocks to the metro. The room was very large and the beds were comfortable. (One reason we chose this hotel is they had 2 queens instead of full size beds. This was important as we were traveling with our children.) Noise outside was a bit of an issue. I am a light sleeper and heard a truck beeping every morning as it backed into the alley behind the hotel. Also I could hear late night partiers at times. The rooms are a bit dated and a bit blah. However, they were comfortable and for the price, a decent value.

The on site restaurant was a bit pricey for breakfast. I ended up spending 11$ plus tip & tax for coffee and small muffin . ( Juice wasn't even included as you could only pick one drink.) Needless to say, we did not eat there again. Much better value and taste at the starbucks by the metro.

All in all though, I would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Stoutredtree,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the State Plaza Hotel. It is very important for us to hear back from our Guests to continually improve. I have forwarded your review to our restaurant manager for consideration and we are renovating our rooms to give them more character to make the State Plaza Hotel an even greater value. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
French in the UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Location, location, location, so they say ! This hotel is just a 5 min walk from all the most important monuments ! The room is clean, comfortable, big enough and offers a kitchen. We just asked for a microwave oven when we arrived (to warm our baby's bottles) and it was delivered in 5 minutes.
Funny fact: there are actually three entrances, one on E street, one on F street (check on GoogleMaps, you'll see them) and one on the side of the building. The two lobbies from E street and F street are identical. Although, there is no ramp in those lobbies, so if you need to access with a pushchair/wheelchair, you'll have to use the side entrance between the hotel and the embassy of Bosnia and Herzegovina once you get your room key.
I only give 4 stars out of 5 since I thought the walls were pretty thin, I could almost hear my neighbours' conversations...well, I shouldn't complain since they were probably more annoyed by my baby's crying at night. If you're looking for a good value for money hotel but with a good standard nonetheless, don't hesitate ! This is the one !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear KitkatLP,

Thank you for your review. We're glad you've discovered all the possible entrances and exits to and from the hotel. This certainly helps even more when walking towards different parts of the city and knowing where to enter the hotel for convenience and for accessibility. We send our "Bonjours" to the UK and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to State Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about State Plaza Hotel

Address: 2117 E St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#57 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#64 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — State Plaza Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Venere, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and TIG Global so you can book your State Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
State Plaza Washington Dc
Hotel State Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage State Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.