We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
State Plaza Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2117 E St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 136 Hotels in Washington DC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Too expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Nice hotel, but way too pricy. Huge rooms which is not really necessary, but since client is located in the same block, this was really the only option. Rooms are quiet, staff are helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: No pool :0(
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear PeterGiesen,

Thank you for posting your review. We strive to be the best value in town by making sure our rates remain very competitive or even lower than other hotels in the area. I'm sorry that you felt we were too expensive when you visited us but we were delighted to have read that you found our staff helpful and rooms quiet. Take care.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    515
    162
    45
    25
See reviews for
331
323
83
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bhubaneswar, Orissa, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The Washington Experience has become a stellar one with State Plaza. It is nestled close to everything. I have explored the National Mall, White House and The GWU.. all on foot. The rooms and ambiance are royal. The service staff is very polite and courteous.. love them absolutely. They come many times a day to ensure everything is fine. With all facilities available to make a stay worth the day.

We are a big group of 27 International Teachers and the only issue we have faced is the telephone bill. We perhaps didn't understand the "First 30 minutes" concept and went on to make multiple toll-free calls; ending up with unwanted bills on a tight budget. Each call costs.. so make it count till the 30th minute.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Kaish K,

I remember your group's arrival well to the State Plaza Hotel. We're glad that your group stayed with us and it was great to see so many people from your group coming from all parts of the world. I will share with our staff your kind words and I know they'll appreciate it. Take care.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed at this hotel over fall break. The staff was very friendly and helpful. My parents were traveling with us and they made sure our rooms were next door to each other. We also liked the location as there were decent restaurants close by as well as 5 blocks to the metro. The room was very large and the beds were comfortable. (One reason we chose this hotel is they had 2 queens instead of full size beds. This was important as we were traveling with our children.) Noise outside was a bit of an issue. I am a light sleeper and heard a truck beeping every morning as it backed into the alley behind the hotel. Also I could hear late night partiers at times. The rooms are a bit dated and a bit blah. However, they were comfortable and for the price, a decent value.

The on site restaurant was a bit pricey for breakfast. I ended up spending 11$ plus tip & tax for coffee and small muffin . ( Juice wasn't even included as you could only pick one drink.) Needless to say, we did not eat there again. Much better value and taste at the starbucks by the metro.

All in all though, I would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Stoutredtree,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the State Plaza Hotel. It is very important for us to hear back from our Guests to continually improve. I have forwarded your review to our restaurant manager for consideration and we are renovating our rooms to give them more character to make the State Plaza Hotel an even greater value. Take care.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
French in the UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Location, location, location, so they say ! This hotel is just a 5 min walk from all the most important monuments ! The room is clean, comfortable, big enough and offers a kitchen. We just asked for a microwave oven when we arrived (to warm our baby's bottles) and it was delivered in 5 minutes.
Funny fact: there are actually three entrances, one on E street, one on F street (check on GoogleMaps, you'll see them) and one on the side of the building. The two lobbies from E street and F street are identical. Although, there is no ramp in those lobbies, so if you need to access with a pushchair/wheelchair, you'll have to use the side entrance between the hotel and the embassy of Bosnia and Herzegovina once you get your room key.
I only give 4 stars out of 5 since I thought the walls were pretty thin, I could almost hear my neighbours' conversations...well, I shouldn't complain since they were probably more annoyed by my baby's crying at night. If you're looking for a good value for money hotel but with a good standard nonetheless, don't hesitate ! This is the one !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear KitkatLP,

Thank you for your review. We're glad you've discovered all the possible entrances and exits to and from the hotel. This certainly helps even more when walking towards different parts of the city and knowing where to enter the hotel for convenience and for accessibility. We send our "Bonjours" to the UK and we hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I've been twice in this hotel and I love it. The location is great, you can reach most of the touristic sites by walking and also you have the metro station Foggy Bottom just 5 blocks ahead. I had a room with equipped kitchen, so if you like to save money you just have to go to the corner and buy some food in CVS. The staff is very very nice and helpful. By the way, if you like to go shopping it's important to know that Pentagon City Mall station in on the blue line toward Franconia Sprinfield, just 2 or 3 stops from Foggy Bottom, but if you have more time for shopping please don't miss Potomac Mills, this is a little bit farther, but you can have everything half of the normal price in D.C. To go to Potomac Mills, take the blue line to the final stop Franconia Sprinfield and then the bus to Potomac Mills, that costs about $2.5.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear analu68,

We're so glad you've become a repeat Guest at the State Plaza Hotel. The fact that our "Guest" such as yourself willingly comes back to stay with us again is the best compliment I can give our staff. It is also great to hear you've discovered great convenient shopping areas while you were here. Until the next time, we wish you well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

My room was large and comfortable. The staff was friendly, helpful, and informative. In particular, Manuel was superb. Though an older hotel, it is well situated in Washington and offers more space for the price than other hotels - true value. I was here on government business, and just had a short walk to work.

Room Tip: Stay on the E Street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
109 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Hotels in DC are always very expensive but this hotel is very good value. Its location is excellent ( 5 min walk to foggy bottom metro, 5-10 min walk to lincoln memorial and 5 mins to kennedy arts centre). Rooms are very good and lives up to 3 stars. My room was a junior suite which was 2 big beds, kitchen, dressing room, and bathroom. Big flat screen tv. Free wifi and good safe in wardrobe meant $159 was very good value. Positioned next to a large pharmacy which also sells food, and an excellent grocery store 2 mins away ( fo-bo-gro) everything you need is at hand. Its also on the edge of the george washington university campus so loads of cheap eats and bars locally.
Staff were very helpful, and overall was an excellent experience. Deffo stay here again. Comparable hotels nearby are $200+

Room Tip: Junior suite is same price as standard room so always ask for one, even if travelling alone, so you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear nachooooo,

We love your avatar. Anyway, we're ecstatic you thought that we were the best value in centre of DC. We certainly feel that way and it's always great to get validation from the most important source and that will be you, our "Guest".
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#58 of 136 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 284 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Lombardy
Hotel Lombardy
#17 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,468 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
George Washington University Inn
George Washington University Inn
#24 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#12 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,151 reviews
Dupont Circle
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Downtown / Chinatown
Hotel Harrington
Hotel Harrington
#106 of 136 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to State Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about State Plaza Hotel

Address: 2117 E St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#43 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#60 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — State Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and TIG Global so you can book your State Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
State Plaza Washington Dc
Hotel State Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage State Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.