We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room in DC” 3 of 5 stars
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added State Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
State Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2117 E St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good room in DC”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed at this hotel over fall break. The staff was very friendly and helpful. My parents were traveling with us and they made sure our rooms were next door to each other. We also liked the location as there were decent restaurants close by as well as 5 blocks to the metro. The room was very large and the beds were comfortable. (One reason we chose this hotel is they had 2 queens instead of full size beds. This was important as we were traveling with our children.) Noise outside was a bit of an issue. I am a light sleeper and heard a truck beeping every morning as it backed into the alley behind the hotel. Also I could hear late night partiers at times. The rooms are a bit dated and a bit blah. However, they were comfortable and for the price, a decent value.

The on site restaurant was a bit pricey for breakfast. I ended up spending 11$ plus tip & tax for coffee and small muffin . ( Juice wasn't even included as you could only pick one drink.) Needless to say, we did not eat there again. Much better value and taste at the starbucks by the metro.

All in all though, I would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Stoutredtree,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the State Plaza Hotel. It is very important for us to hear back from our Guests to continually improve. I have forwarded your review to our restaurant manager for consideration and we are renovating our rooms to give them more character to make the State Plaza Hotel an even greater value. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    489
    160
    45
    25
See reviews for
312
300
81
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
French in the UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Location, location, location, so they say ! This hotel is just a 5 min walk from all the most important monuments ! The room is clean, comfortable, big enough and offers a kitchen. We just asked for a microwave oven when we arrived (to warm our baby's bottles) and it was delivered in 5 minutes.
Funny fact: there are actually three entrances, one on E street, one on F street (check on GoogleMaps, you'll see them) and one on the side of the building. The two lobbies from E street and F street are identical. Although, there is no ramp in those lobbies, so if you need to access with a pushchair/wheelchair, you'll have to use the side entrance between the hotel and the embassy of Bosnia and Herzegovina once you get your room key.
I only give 4 stars out of 5 since I thought the walls were pretty thin, I could almost hear my neighbours' conversations...well, I shouldn't complain since they were probably more annoyed by my baby's crying at night. If you're looking for a good value for money hotel but with a good standard nonetheless, don't hesitate ! This is the one !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear KitkatLP,

Thank you for your review. We're glad you've discovered all the possible entrances and exits to and from the hotel. This certainly helps even more when walking towards different parts of the city and knowing where to enter the hotel for convenience and for accessibility. We send our "Bonjours" to the UK and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I've been twice in this hotel and I love it. The location is great, you can reach most of the touristic sites by walking and also you have the metro station Foggy Bottom just 5 blocks ahead. I had a room with equipped kitchen, so if you like to save money you just have to go to the corner and buy some food in CVS. The staff is very very nice and helpful. By the way, if you like to go shopping it's important to know that Pentagon City Mall station in on the blue line toward Franconia Sprinfield, just 2 or 3 stops from Foggy Bottom, but if you have more time for shopping please don't miss Potomac Mills, this is a little bit farther, but you can have everything half of the normal price in D.C. To go to Potomac Mills, take the blue line to the final stop Franconia Sprinfield and then the bus to Potomac Mills, that costs about $2.5.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear analu68,

We're so glad you've become a repeat Guest at the State Plaza Hotel. The fact that our "Guest" such as yourself willingly comes back to stay with us again is the best compliment I can give our staff. It is also great to hear you've discovered great convenient shopping areas while you were here. Until the next time, we wish you well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

My room was large and comfortable. The staff was friendly, helpful, and informative. In particular, Manuel was superb. Though an older hotel, it is well situated in Washington and offers more space for the price than other hotels - true value. I was here on government business, and just had a short walk to work.

Room Tip: Stay on the E Street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
97 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Hotels in DC are always very expensive but this hotel is very good value. Its location is excellent ( 5 min walk to foggy bottom metro, 5-10 min walk to lincoln memorial and 5 mins to kennedy arts centre). Rooms are very good and lives up to 3 stars. My room was a junior suite which was 2 big beds, kitchen, dressing room, and bathroom. Big flat screen tv. Free wifi and good safe in wardrobe meant $159 was very good value. Positioned next to a large pharmacy which also sells food, and an excellent grocery store 2 mins away ( fo-bo-gro) everything you need is at hand. Its also on the edge of the george washington university campus so loads of cheap eats and bars locally.
Staff were very helpful, and overall was an excellent experience. Deffo stay here again. Comparable hotels nearby are $200+

Room Tip: Junior suite is same price as standard room so always ask for one, even if travelling alone, so you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear nachooooo,

We love your avatar. Anyway, we're ecstatic you thought that we were the best value in centre of DC. We certainly feel that way and it's always great to get validation from the most important source and that will be you, our "Guest".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Overall I had a very pleasant and comfortable 5 night stay here on a recent business trip.
Good:
- location: nice safe university neighborhood and close to major DC sites
- big rooms with kitchen
- for a big city as DC: great value for money
- friendly staff

Could be better:
- cleaning of rooms; I have never seen so much dust under a bed before
- although recently painted, the rooms are a bit dated. Kitchen and bathroom bring you right back to the 70's
- Thin doors and walls make the hotel noisy

Would stay again!

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms near or above the restaurant. Can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear 4kiwis2011,

It was a pleasure reading your review. Your opinions are important to us and we will make sure to improve on our shortcomings. We will start moving all the beds to get to the bottom of them in each of our rooms to make sure we collect any dust we find. We are also in the process of renovating our rooms floor by floor which should address some of the improvements you've suggested. Until the next time, we send you our best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Kampala, Uganda
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed for 5 nights at the state plaza hotel. Was attending a global meeting on Immunization monitoring and surveillance at the Pan American Health Organization (PAHO building). Just 2-5 minutes walk to the venue. CVS just next door. No need to move far to get your basic needs. Very spacious rooms with two queen size beds and lots of pillows. Kitchen is well equiped with all that you need to prepare your own food. A very big freezer for your room. Well not sure whether the other rooms had the same size. A gas burner in the kitchen and a coffee maker. It's a real home away from home. Bathrooms are very neat with a number of towels. Actually had five towels for the five nights. And the staff, right from the reception to the room service were all very caring. In summary, it is worth the name. The next time you are in DC, check it out.

Room Tip: Prefarably select rooms on the higher floors. They are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Mugisha D,

Thank you for taking the time to review the State Plaza Hotel. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the hotel conveniently located as you were only minutes away from your meetings. We send our greetings to Uganda and we hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to State Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about State Plaza Hotel

Address: 2117 E St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#47 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#67 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — State Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and TIG Global so you can book your State Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
State Plaza Washington Dc
Hotel State Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage State Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.