We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value in great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added State Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
State Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2117 E St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get Up & Go Package
Ranked #57 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good value in great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This hotel is 3 blocks west of the White House, adjacent to the campus of George Washington Univ. It is a converted apartment building, so our room had a full kitchen and eating area, which was very nice. It is an older building and has been renovated with a minimalist feel, but I thought for the area it was a good deal. Good free internet. There was only 1 elevator that was slow. Like all DC hotels, parking was expensive.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear LanceTinNC,

We're happy to have read your review and that you found the State Plaza Hotel a good value in a great location. We've just upgraded to a better Wi-Fi and good to know it's serving our Guest well. Take care and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    443
    144
    43
    24
See reviews for
288
267
76
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brantford
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights (package deal with flight). The staff are great people. They made our stay better. We called for a kettle for tea three times and they claimed someone was bringing one. Eventally they admitted they didn't have kettles. A pot was provided and tea could be made. The hotel is tired looking and the pillows are horrible.

We booked a king bed and at check in they said all they had was a queen room. We did not accept this and expected the issue resolved. They offered to upgrade us to a suite. That was very much appreciated! The suite was huge.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Michelle S,

Thank you for taking the time to review the State Plaza Hotel. We appreciate hearing directly from our Guest so that we can take action plans to resolve these issues. We wil purchase more kettles to make sure everyone who needs them gets one. We will be undergoing a floor by floor renovation soon and we hope you'll give us another chance the next time you're in Washington D.C.

We're glad you enjoyed the upgrade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We were looking for a good Washington DC hotel and couldn't be happier with our decision to stay at the State Plaza. The price was very good and the room was huge, newly renovated and the bathroom was absolutely beautiful. We've stayed in many "suite" hotels with less room and it was very nice to be able to spread out and be comfortable getting ready for our many excursions. The location of the hotel was also great. Just a few blocks from the Washington Mall, we walked to many of the monuments and several of the Smithsonian Museums. The staff at the State Plaza also helped us get discounted tickets to the Kennedy Center and we were able to have a very pleasant walk to the show.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Ditti44,

We're happy you decided to stay with us and thank you for your review. Our suites are some of the largest you'll find in the city and we appreciate you noticing our newly renovated bathrooms in the suites. It's also nice to know that you were able to enjoy a show at the Kennedy Center which is conveniently located to The State Plaza Hotel. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This hotel is older than many, but that only adds to the charm. Each room is a suite, with a kitchenette, large bathroom and very comfortable beds. The shower had a cloth shower curtain and attached to the bathroom was a dressing room with a large vanity and mirror. The vanity had a cloth skirt. I like details like this. Also, the towels are big and soft, with a large shower head and good water pressure. Every now and then, the pipes would sing a little, but it was not that loud.
If you are looking for sparkling new, this is not the place to stay. If you are looking for history, in keeping with the city you are in, this is a wonderful old hotel. The staff is always helpful, dressed in suits and crisp uniforms, and ready with advice on places to visit and how to get there. We traveled by cab a good deal of the time. Walking is possible, but the city blocks are very long. There are two desks located in the hotel, both manned and you can catch a cab out of each entrance. One is on G street and one is on F street. The hotel was clean, and there is one good restaurant that serves three meals a day. This was a very good value but nothing in Washington is cheap. That being said, we stayed here for three nights and four days and found the hotel comfortable and safe after busy sight seeing days. We walked to the metro subway our first day and rode out to Arlington Cemetery and easily found our way back. The second day we took a cab to the White House for a tour, walked to the Smithsonian from there and walked back to the hotel at the end of the day. I am 56, in good physical shape, my husband is 60 and in fair physical shape, but we did not want to do that every day. Still a cab ride to Union Station was the most expensive of all trips and it was only $11.00. Our average cab ride was $8.00, with a $2.00 tip. All in all, we spent about $70.00 on cab rides. Not at all bad for all of the running around we did. Just ask someone at either desk to get you a cab and one will be there in minutes.
This hotel is across from George Washington University, so there are young people milling about all the time. There was not a lot of noise from our room though, and I think having all these young people waling around, added to the feeling of safety in the area. The hotel is right next door to a liquor store and a CVS drug store, so if you forget anything, it is convenient to walk next door for whatever you need. Everything stays open until at least 9:00 p.m. on week nights.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the front entrance lobby. We were in room 325, which is an upstairs room t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Andree D,

We're glad you found the State Plaza Hotel charming. Our staff also thanks you for the kind words. We really appreciate them and we hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We read the reviews on this hotel before we booked, we were not disappointed. The price was also very good. The room was large and spotlessly clean, the bed was very comfortable with good linen, there was also a kitchen which was ideal as we had breakfast before we went out for the day. The bathroom was a good size and had good towels and toiletries. The staff were very helpful and very pleasant. The bistro/bar was good, the food excellent. The location was perfect, very convenient, only a 15 minute walk from the Lincoln memorial, etc. The Foggy Bottom metro station was only 10 minutes away. The area felt very safe as the George Washington University halls of residence were also in the surrounding area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear cardifftravellers,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your review of the State Plaza Hotel. We become extra motivated when we know Guests such as yourself appreciate our efforts in making your stay a pleasant one. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you again in the future. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I have stayed at the State Plaza a number of times now for weekend trips to DC. The hotel is conveniently located near several popular parts of the District, which makes for easy access to restaurants, tourist attractions and nightlife. Street parking is available on both sides of the hotel (the main entrance is on E Street; the back entrance on F street connects the second building), and the hotel offers valet parking that will cost you a nice chunk per day. Dining is available on site if you desire to try the fare. The hotel decor, though well-kept, shows its age, but also adds a unique charm to the building that the average chain hotel doesn't have. The staff is typically helpful and professional. If you are looking for a reasonably-priced, clean place that provides the basic amenities while you lay your head while in D.C. for a night or two, this is worth checking out!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Toni G,

It's wonderful hearing from a regular visitor like yourself. Nice to hear you find The State Plaza Hotel conveniently located and a great value. We are also excited to let you know that we will be undergoing some renovations very soon floor by floor to make The State Plaza Hotel an even greater value. We hope to welcome you again to The State Plaza Hotel soon. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Excellent location, service and comfort. Added plus, a small kitchen with sink, stove, refrigerator and could request microwave. Could walk to White House, National Mall and Smithsonsian if fit. About 6 blocks from a Metro station (Foggy Bottom) and was around the block from George Washington University. Would recommend not having an auto (just an extra expense) and transportation was nearby. We will definitely stay there again when we return to Washington.

Room Tip: Would recommend second floor to be able to walk down stairway and not have to take the elevator each...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear NepalTraveler66,

It is our pleasure to have read your review and that you enjoyed your stay at the State Plaza Hotel. It is also nice that you found our location ideal and within a short walking distance to most of Washington D.C.'s popular attractions. We look forward to welcoming you back to the State Plaza Hotel in the future. Much regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to State Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about State Plaza Hotel

Address: 2117 E St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#59 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — State Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, TIG Global and Tingo so you can book your State Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
State Plaza Washington Dc
Hotel State Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage State Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.