We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added State Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
State Plaza Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2117 E St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We read the reviews on this hotel before we booked, we were not disappointed. The price was also very good. The room was large and spotlessly clean, the bed was very comfortable with good linen, there was also a kitchen which was ideal as we had breakfast before we went out for the day. The bathroom was a good size and had good towels and toiletries. The staff were very helpful and very pleasant. The bistro/bar was good, the food excellent. The location was perfect, very convenient, only a 15 minute walk from the Lincoln memorial, etc. The Foggy Bottom metro station was only 10 minutes away. The area felt very safe as the George Washington University halls of residence were also in the surrounding area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear cardifftravellers,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your review of the State Plaza Hotel. We become extra motivated when we know Guests such as yourself appreciate our efforts in making your stay a pleasant one. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you again in the future. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    503
    160
    45
    25
See reviews for
318
313
81
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I have stayed at the State Plaza a number of times now for weekend trips to DC. The hotel is conveniently located near several popular parts of the District, which makes for easy access to restaurants, tourist attractions and nightlife. Street parking is available on both sides of the hotel (the main entrance is on E Street; the back entrance on F street connects the second building), and the hotel offers valet parking that will cost you a nice chunk per day. Dining is available on site if you desire to try the fare. The hotel decor, though well-kept, shows its age, but also adds a unique charm to the building that the average chain hotel doesn't have. The staff is typically helpful and professional. If you are looking for a reasonably-priced, clean place that provides the basic amenities while you lay your head while in D.C. for a night or two, this is worth checking out!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Toni G,

It's wonderful hearing from a regular visitor like yourself. Nice to hear you find The State Plaza Hotel conveniently located and a great value. We are also excited to let you know that we will be undergoing some renovations very soon floor by floor to make The State Plaza Hotel an even greater value. We hope to welcome you again to The State Plaza Hotel soon. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Excellent location, service and comfort. Added plus, a small kitchen with sink, stove, refrigerator and could request microwave. Could walk to White House, National Mall and Smithsonsian if fit. About 6 blocks from a Metro station (Foggy Bottom) and was around the block from George Washington University. Would recommend not having an auto (just an extra expense) and transportation was nearby. We will definitely stay there again when we return to Washington.

Room Tip: Would recommend second floor to be able to walk down stairway and not have to take the elevator each...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear NepalTraveler66,

It is our pleasure to have read your review and that you enjoyed your stay at the State Plaza Hotel. It is also nice that you found our location ideal and within a short walking distance to most of Washington D.C.'s popular attractions. We look forward to welcoming you back to the State Plaza Hotel in the future. Much regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
127 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I paid $178 for bed only (corporate rate) this September.

I like this place because of location (close to subway, close to shopping, bars & restaurants) and rooms (flat screen TV, microwave in kitchenette, good Internet connectivity). Had to ask for microwave.

They are very good at getting taxis and the airport shuttle for Dulles.

Restaurant is good but a little pricey; the adjoining drug store has lots of ready to eat food.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the E Street side of the hotel. Otherwise, you need to walk through the garage to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSatSP, Director of Sales at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear constanttraveler71,

We're happy to hear you like our location and that you found our hotel a good value. We thank you for staying with us and hope that we could be of service to you once again should your travel plans bring you back to Washinbgton D.C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My husband and I just returned from our stay at State Plaza Hotel. It is located within the George Washington Univ. campus (Foggy Bottom area). It is quiet, clean. Price was pretty good for the area. Our room actually had a kitchen attached with a full fridge and oven. Just used the fridge for water and beer. They had wine glasses too! Room service was great! Elevators were a bit slow and we had to get used to which side of the building to enter as there are two entrances, north or south. If you go to the 6th floor of the north building and your room is in the south building, you have to go all the way back down the slow elevator to the lobby and walk across to the other side and take that slow elevator. LOL Other than that, this is a GREAT place to stay! Staff was very nice and helpful. Very close walk to the National Mall too! They also can order you a taxi for return to the airport at a cost of $18, or you can always take the Metro. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSatSP, Director of Sales at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Bonnie K,

Thank you for posting your review. We're glad you were able to take advantage of all our amenities. We actually have a front desk where you can check in and out on both ends of each building so no reason to walk all the way to the other side anymore. It was our pleasure serving you and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Right near the Metro Center, Farrgot North, and near a Whole Foods/CVS which was great for our little kitchen to cook in. The price was extremely fair and we booked 2 weeks which saved us a nice chunk of change.
This hotel looks fairly plain on the outside, but the rooms offer plenty of space the room service is prompt. We had a situation where our toaster malfunctioned, burnt one side to a crisp and the other side wasn't even toasted. It ended up filling our room with smoke. The desk was kind and within 5 minutes offered us a new toaster and forgiveness on our "Toasty" room. (Bad pun I know).
I was really glad to see that they cared so much about our burnt toast even though it was around 1am!
The location is great because you are able to walk 3 blocks to the metro station and from there you can access every point in DC. Another reason for the location is it is close to Penn. which means easy access to the Mall, but also to the great eating locations of DC.

My one tiny complaint is no pots and pans in the kitchen. Plates and silverware were present.

Enjoy and Book Early!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSatSP, Director of Sales at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear bleeble,

We appreciate you taking the time give us your review of The State Plaza Hotel. We're glad you found our Hotel clean and safe with a pretty good "Book in advance deals". You can actually request for pots and pans and we will be happy to bring them to you for your cooking needs at no additional charge. Sorry you weren't informed about this. We hope to have you again as our Guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheraw, SC
Level Contributor
239 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This was a perfect place to stay, directly across from my daughter's GWU dorm and very close to the Mall. Valet parking is not cheap, but is convenient. Room was actually a suite with a kitchen with table. No oven, but a cook top. No microwave... thought that was rather odd.... Lovely old property, really two properties that are joined, so you may have to go up and down and along corridors to get where you want to be... Not one I would recommend for anyone in a wheelchair...I'm sure there must be some way in without stairs, but we never found it..

Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSatSP, Director of Sales at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear BethW724,

We're very happy that you felt the State Plaza is a perfect place to stay. We actually put microwaves in rooms upon request and I'm sorry if you weren't notified about this but we do have them. We also have wheelchair access in between the two buildings where there are no steps required to get to the elevators. We hope to see you again in DC in the future and thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#61 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 270 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Lombardy
Hotel Lombardy
#16 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,416 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
George Washington University Inn
George Washington University Inn
#24 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Quincy
The Quincy
#14 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 841 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#12 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,126 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hotel Harrington
Hotel Harrington
#105 of 135 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to State Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about State Plaza Hotel

Address: 2117 E St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#47 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#61 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — State Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and TIG Global so you can book your State Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
State Plaza Washington Dc
Hotel State Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage State Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.