We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be perfect if closer to metro station” 4 of 5 stars
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added State Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
State Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2117 E St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get Up & Go Package
Ranked #55 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Beijing, China
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Will be perfect if closer to metro station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

What I like about it:
Very nice hotel room, clean, cozy and big enough. 24-hour CVS and next door. Bus station right in front of the main entrance (I didn't take the bus though). Lincoln memorial and White House within walkable distance. Business center availble for printing and not too busy. Would be perfect if there is microwave in the kitchen. Will recommend to frineds and will stay here again.

What I don't like about it:
A little bit far from the nearest metro station (foggy bottom), about 8-minute walk. Try get a room in the south wing, because if your room is located in north wing, you will need to go to ground floor, go across the small yard and the garage to go to the south wing where business center and main entrance (where shuttle stops) are located. Not so convenient if you are a solo female traveller with heavy luggage.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor room in south wing! Should be able to see Lincoln Memorial
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    447
    146
    43
    24
See reviews for
290
272
76
199
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

We were a little bit apprehensive in booking this hotel after reading the mixed reviews, however our apprehension was quickly put to rest as soon as we checked in and found our rooms. Our room was well appointed with a separate bedroom with king size bed and pillows to dream for. The kitchen area was really the only area of the room showing its age and was not really functional as a kitchen as it lacked a lot of utensils. The staff were very polite and we were able to do an early check in. There is a convenience store next door along with a liquor store. We had the buffet breakfast which also very good, The hotel is well located, close to the White House and other Washington monuments. As stated in other reviews, there are a lot of homeless people near the Hotel, having said that, this probably applies anywhere in Washington


Likes
- Value for money
- Comfortable, well appointed rooms
- Small Kitchenettes
- Friendly staff
- Location to Washington


Dislikes
- No Wifi available at the time of our stay

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast northern ireland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

First the down side. There are not a lot of facilities near by - particularly for a one night visit. No nearby bars or restaurants. But by nearby I mean within a 10 minute walk. But I did find a passable breakfast in the University.

This is a really good hotel. I really liked the staff and the accommodation was way beyond 3 star. If I had been staying longer, I would have bought provisions - there was a nice kitchen to make breakfast.

The food shop (staffed by students I guess) had all you need to self cater including a great selection of wine and beer.

perhaps I was lucky with a corner room on the 8th floor, but I was as happy as a sand boy. If I was going back to DC, I'd stay here. Close to Foggy Bottom Metro - walking distance of Georgetown and short travelling distance to all the tourist wants, I recommend it highly.

The restaurant was OK - not that you'd go out of your way to go there, but OK to use. But it's not a very social place.

I don't have any photos, but if Trip Advisor permits heres a quick video tour of the room/apartment.
http://www.youtube.com/davysims#p/u/12/m1JpKP6q4Pc

Overall rating Very Good - but for the price Excellent.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011 via mobile

Stayed here two nights in August. Location is perfect for walking to all monuments, white house etc. Safe area, friendly helpful staff. Spotless room with it's own separate kitchen! The only thing that sorta stinks is 30.00 per day parking (valet) but they do not charge the day of checkout. I would stay here again in a heartbeat! CVS right next door for snacks, drinks etc. An excellent value and super clean place. The location is absolutely perfect for walking to all attractions and not worrying about parking or traffic. I will stay here again on our next trip!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, Michigan
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

This was a great location to stay at. Just minutes from the Mall area, the White House, and adjacent to George Washington University. A very clean, landscaped, safe area of DC in Foggy Bottom. The rooms were large with a full kitchen so you can save some money by buying groceries at the store next to the hotel and eating some meals in. The hotel has an onsite restaurant that was very good and 3 blocks away is Pennsylvania Ave. with several excellent restaurants to try. There is only ethernet (no Wi-Fi) in rooms, the beds were a little hard (for me), and since there are 2 buildings and 2 different main entrances, it takes a little time to figure out your way around the hotel. But these are only minor points and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Center, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Was pleasently surprised at how nice it was plenty room for my Daughter, Son in-law, my Sister and myself. Was within walking distince for almost everything and if not just a few blocks from the metro. Every thing was very clean and everyone was very plesant and helpful if needed.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

I scored a great deal at the state plaza ($90 per night) for a business trip in January. The small kitchen was perfect for preparing quick light meals. It was also located conveniently next to CVS and a liquor store. I was able to walk to most of my meetings from the hotel which was an added benefit. I would definitely stay again if I found a good deal on the price. I saw the price jumped to around $250 per night for the same room in the high season!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to State Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about State Plaza Hotel

Address: 2117 E St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#57 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#60 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — State Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your State Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
State Plaza Washington Dc
Hotel State Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage State Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.