We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine - nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1143 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up to 20% In DC
Ranked #80 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Staten Island
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fine - nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed at the Renaissance for two days for a conference. It was fine. They warned in advance that the room was "European style," which means small. It was OK - about the size of a standard cruise ship cabin. I had forgotten my charger for my tablet, so was forced to use the hotel's computers. There were free computers in the lobby area - two on tables near the bar area and a "secret" one near the check-in desk that you could stand and use. There were also fee-for-use computers in the downstairs business center. I just used the free ones, and was amused that they indicated some kind of technical issue accessing Facebook, when it seemed clear the hotel had disabled Facebook so people didn't spend hours looking at it. But at least I could check my email.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    163
    260
    110
    32
    25
See reviews for
103
122
46
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chalfont, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is my favourite hotel in Washington DC. I really appreciate the kindness of the entire staff, the front desk and also the people who help with the luggage and in getting you a taxi like Solomon and Virgil etc. They are all very patient and wonderful.

The best part is the lounge access where Gigi provides wonderful hospitality and always makes you feel at home! The Indian food made by the Indian chef is excellent here. The vegetarian Indian food is delicious.

The House Keeping staff is also great!

I love this hotel and their staff. Whenever I visit DC, my first preference is always to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel was recommended by our travel agent, and it did not disappoint. Although the location was quite a way from the National Mall and other city centre attractions, transport was good via the Metro (a 10 minute walk away). Friendly staff and very comfortable. We didn't eat there apart from room service one evening (which was good) - we were recommended to use a place called "Bread and Chocolate" nearby in M Street for breakfast which used every day.
Recommended.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here this past weekend for a quick getaway in Washington DC. For starters, nice decor from lobby to the individual rooms. There were three in my group so we booked a room with two double beds. My preference is always for two queen sized beds, but space wise the rooms are too small for anything larger. Also, about space...rooms are not large. Their was enough space for our small bags and to maneuver without bumping into each other. However, I would not suggest having more than 3 people in the double room if you have larger luggage, there definitely will be minimal space. Everything was clean, from bed sheets to bathroom linens. T.V. with standard channel selection, was able to adjust room temp to our liking. Basically what I'm saying is...zero complaints about the room!

They have a great breakfast buffet in the morning that lasts until 12pm. $21 gets you pretty much everything including coffee and/or a beverage. Pancakes, toast, croissants, fruit, muffins, eggs, bacon, sausage, french toast, waffles...name it. It's part of the buffet. Well worth the money.

Staff was pleasant to deal with as well. We had a great server at the in-house restaurant and received lots of help with direction from a front desk representative named 'Aida'. If you end up booking this hotel, you will see what I mean...she is pretty awesome!

Location wise this is a quiet area that is close to many restaurants and conveniences. There is a 24hr Walgreens across the street as well as a gas station and bank. We were actually able to take a healthy walk to the National Mall (approx. 15 - 20mins). Not too bad.

Overall, I was pretty pleased with my experience at the Renaissance in Dupont Circle. My only complaint is that when I checked-in, I was not advised that there would be a $100 hold placed against my card for incidentals. Many hotels use this as standard practice, but advise you of this prior to logging your card info into their system. Since my room was booked for me, I was not advised of this policy. I got a nice surprise after getting back to N.Y. and thinking someone hacked my account only to find it was the hotel's freeze. It wasn't such a big deal, I just wish the person who checked me in had made this clear before doing so.

Would stay again if I had to.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Great people, very "W" like, not quite as posh. Perfect location to Georgetown and transportation. Some rooms are Euro-tiny - so pick carefully. Wonderful concierges and concierge level on 8th floor. Pay if u must. Saves a bundle in meals vs. DC prices.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Overall it was good (not great). I was a put out and frustrated that having booked a family room 6 months ago when I turned up they didn't have the room available. To be fair we were given a room with a pull out sofa and a put me up bed and told that we could move the following day but this wasn't ideal - once you're unpacked (we were staying 3 nights) you don't want to have to re-pack etc. Also it took 4!! attempts (in person) to get a duvet/eider/comforter from the front desk as the pull out only had a sheet and blanket. On the flip side, Epie was brilliant, the food was tasty and the location was great - 5 minute walk to the open top tour bus, about 20 minutes walk to the White House, and there are loads of great restaurants in the area. I love the area but not sure I'll be back to this hotel when I visit again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley B, Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Mr. Tim,
Thank you for your response. I apologize that the room type you requested was not what you received upon check in. It is best to guarantee your bed type when making your reservation. I understand your frustration and certainly would not want to move after unpacking as well. Thank you for mentioning that it took four attempts to recieve a duvet comforter. That is also unacceptable and disheartening to hear on our end. If you see you and your family coming back to the district, I hope you will reach out because we would like to make up for our mishaps. Thank you, Ashley B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Just got robbed of my money at this hotel I booked the hotel way in advance and I booked it through the hotel's website not with a third party. I booked a two queens room and when I got there the had none and they apologized to me and the manager comp.my parking which it was unheard of before $50.00 to park then when I got to my room they added an additional role bed which it was the most uncomfortable bed I ever slept on i felt the springs on this bed in every inch of my body. Then after the sleep less night I got up for breakfast which it was a normal breakfast at any regular average hotel after we had that we got a receipt of $20.00 person. At check out they asked me how was your stay I answered terrible and sleepless night the answer was oh sorry. That's a bad customers service.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley B, Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Mr. Ehab A,
Thank you for your review. Due to market demand- parking and breakfast are those prices to keep up with our competitors. I apologize you felt breakfast was just average. I would mainly like to touch base on your checkout experience. We had a chance to fix your stay with us and we failed. This type of demeanor is unacceptable from our staff. We are taking your review and using it for retraining purposes to insure that this situation does not happen in the future. Again, thank you for your review. Ashley B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel

Address: 1143 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#68 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#70 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated and contemporary, our hotel's accommodations exude stylish luxury. Perfect for a getaway to the Washington, DC area, our hotel is minutes from Georgetown, Foggy Bottom and the DC Metro, bringing the best of the city's attractions to our doorstep. Our guest rooms and suites feature deluxe amenities creating the boutique hotel experience our guests have come to expect. Take in our goose down bedding, sleek bathrooms, wireless Internet and plug-in technology panels, all the while exploring our unique location in the nation's capital. Sip and savor in our Caffe serving illy coffee and our M Lounge & M Brasserie serving indigenous, seasonal dishes and cocktails. An on-site fitness center and business center ensure you are taken care of while on your road and don't forget to ask our Navigator for insider tips for dining and shopping in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, Reservation Counter, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
m Street Hotel Washington Dc
Renaissance Washington Dc
Washington Dc Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.