We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1143 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15% off
Ranked #80 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Quite nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Excellent and friendly reception, OK sized rooms (they are smaller than typical, but are upfront about it) Solid location near Foggy Bottom and Dupont Circle Locations. Easy access from DCA airport.
Lounge is OK with good breakfast and evening snacks, drinks start at $5.
Illy Cafe is a big bonus for coffee lovers.
There are many options for food nearby, I would stay again easily.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    281
    119
    34
    25
See reviews for
112
131
49
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Don't expect anything boutiquey this hotel feels all corporate - but that's DC. The room was a little small but the bed was very comfortable. I found myself fumbling with the thermostat a few times trying to get the temperature right - freezing most of the time.

The hotel provides easy walking to Connecticut and DuPont Circle and a plethora of bars and restaurants, and is about 10 minutes walk to Metro. If you are slugging a bag in July or August, you may want to consider a cab. Humidity is oppressive and you will break a sweat in not time.

I have no issues with cleanliness or staff - staff was friendly and mostly inconspicuous, which is the way I like them!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Geez, after reading some of the reviews of this hotel online, I almost didn't stay here. It's a good thing I didn't listen to anyone. The hotel lobby is beautiful and modern. The staff from the doormen to the front desk are very friendly. The rooms are super clean and completely remodeled. The price is reasonable considering the location is in the heart of DC/Foggy Bottom/Georgetown.

I think some of you might benefit from visiting some of the poorest countries in the world where people sleep outside with no food/water or electricity. They couldn't dream of staying in a place this nice. We are far too spoiled as a people. Too much whining, not enough gratitude. Enjoy the city. There is no reason why anyone shouldn't like this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Love the location. Can't completely dismiss managements willingness to upgrade me to a junior suite, or the bonus points because of problems. But, the problems are hard to look past. A room with almost no direct sunlight. A rollaway bed that looked and felt worse than a pull out. A concierge lounge that was small, dirty and sparse on food. Will stay elsewhere next time.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley B, Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Mr. Mark K,
If you see yourself staying with us in the future; please reach out to me. We will do better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Stayed for two nights on a business trip. Was told at the front desk that since its a "boutique" hotel, some rooms are smaller than others. I just needed a bed. The room was small (definitely not ideal for families with kids) but clean and comfortable. Linen was fresh and I slept well. Bathroom is good size with a shower, no bathtub. Accessories are provided and are of good make (Aveda). There's a 24/7 gym in the lower level. Parking is expensive (mine was paid for so no issue there). Location is quite good. Walking distance to Dupont circle, Lincoln Memorial (about 20-25 minutes) and surroundings. I still don't understand why expensive hotels charge extra for WiFi whereas you get it for free at the Redroof Inn!! This is inexcusable. I was told it was complimentary in the lobby but I never tried it.
In summary, if you are coming to DC solo, as a couple or with buddies, this is a great place to stay at a reasonable cost with all the basic facilities you need - except for the expensive WiFi option.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Checked in to the hotel for a quick in-town overnight. Had indicated an Anniversary on the reservation and was upgraded to a Jr. Suite. OK!. Well, proceeded to the room, with anticipation and when we opened the door, were certainly underwhelmed by the 'upgrade'. Very small for a Jr. suite. Basically a sofa, coffee table, desk and TV on one side of a divider, smallish bath and bedroom on the other. And the view! Stunning overlook of the roof and three walls of the adjoining building.

Carpet really needed a refresher. Bed was OK. Everything else, just OK. Got a great laugh when I looked on the infosheet behind the door and saw that the room went for $1,000. That's a good one!

Room Tip: Try the sister hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley B, Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
GianniB, thank you so much for your review. We are a boutique style hotel which means our rooms are slightly smaller than the average hotel room. As far as the view, we are in the middle of the city. I am not sure if you are familiar with District of Columbia's height restrictions but unfortunately with everything having to be the same height. That being said our views from the hotel are limited. Your feed back about the carpet is appreciated and has been passed on to our engineering department to see what we need to do to get that suite looking better. Again, thank you for your feed back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The staff were friendly upon check-in and the room clean and comfortable. Easy distance to walk to Georgetown and the sites of DC. Location was quiet which is good for sleeping. Didn't partake of the breakfast as lots of places nearby. Would recommend to others.

Room Tip: I always recommend getting a room away from the elevators!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel

Address: 1143 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#71 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#73 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#74 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated and contemporary, our hotel's accommodations exude stylish luxury. Perfect for a getaway to the Washington, DC area, our hotel is minutes from Georgetown, Foggy Bottom and the DC Metro, bringing the best of the city's attractions to our doorstep. Our guest rooms and suites feature deluxe amenities creating the boutique hotel experience our guests have come to expect. Take in our goose down bedding, sleek bathrooms, wireless Internet and plug-in technology panels, all the while exploring our unique location in the nation's capital. Sip and savor in our Caffe serving illy coffee and our M Lounge & M Brasserie serving indigenous, seasonal dishes and cocktails. An on-site fitness center and business center ensure you are taken care of while on your road and don't forget to ask our Navigator for insider tips for dining and shopping in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
m Street Hotel Washington Dc
Renaissance Washington Dc
Washington Dc Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.