We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1143 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #73 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
244 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Quite nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Excellent and friendly reception, OK sized rooms (they are smaller than typical, but are upfront about it) Solid location near Foggy Bottom and Dupont Circle Locations. Easy access from DCA airport.
Lounge is OK with good breakfast and evening snacks, drinks start at $5.
Illy Cafe is a big bonus for coffee lovers.
There are many options for food nearby, I would stay again easily.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    340
    144
    36
    25
See reviews for
145
160
55
270
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Don't expect anything boutiquey this hotel feels all corporate - but that's DC. The room was a little small but the bed was very comfortable. I found myself fumbling with the thermostat a few times trying to get the temperature right - freezing most of the time.

The hotel provides easy walking to Connecticut and DuPont Circle and a plethora of bars and restaurants, and is about 10 minutes walk to Metro. If you are slugging a bag in July or August, you may want to consider a cab. Humidity is oppressive and you will break a sweat in not time.

I have no issues with cleanliness or staff - staff was friendly and mostly inconspicuous, which is the way I like them!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Geez, after reading some of the reviews of this hotel online, I almost didn't stay here. It's a good thing I didn't listen to anyone. The hotel lobby is beautiful and modern. The staff from the doormen to the front desk are very friendly. The rooms are super clean and completely remodeled. The price is reasonable considering the location is in the heart of DC/Foggy Bottom/Georgetown.

I think some of you might benefit from visiting some of the poorest countries in the world where people sleep outside with no food/water or electricity. They couldn't dream of staying in a place this nice. We are far too spoiled as a people. Too much whining, not enough gratitude. Enjoy the city. There is no reason why anyone shouldn't like this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Love the location. Can't completely dismiss managements willingness to upgrade me to a junior suite, or the bonus points because of problems. But, the problems are hard to look past. A room with almost no direct sunlight. A rollaway bed that looked and felt worse than a pull out. A concierge lounge that was small, dirty and sparse on food. Will stay elsewhere next time.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley B, Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Mr. Mark K,
If you see yourself staying with us in the future; please reach out to me. We will do better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Stayed for two nights on a business trip. Was told at the front desk that since its a "boutique" hotel, some rooms are smaller than others. I just needed a bed. The room was small (definitely not ideal for families with kids) but clean and comfortable. Linen was fresh and I slept well. Bathroom is good size with a shower, no bathtub. Accessories are provided and are of good make (Aveda). There's a 24/7 gym in the lower level. Parking is expensive (mine was paid for so no issue there). Location is quite good. Walking distance to Dupont circle, Lincoln Memorial (about 20-25 minutes) and surroundings. I still don't understand why expensive hotels charge extra for WiFi whereas you get it for free at the Redroof Inn!! This is inexcusable. I was told it was complimentary in the lobby but I never tried it.
In summary, if you are coming to DC solo, as a couple or with buddies, this is a great place to stay at a reasonable cost with all the basic facilities you need - except for the expensive WiFi option.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
Level Contributor
74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Checked in to the hotel for a quick in-town overnight. Had indicated an Anniversary on the reservation and was upgraded to a Jr. Suite. OK!. Well, proceeded to the room, with anticipation and when we opened the door, were certainly underwhelmed by the 'upgrade'. Very small for a Jr. suite. Basically a sofa, coffee table, desk and TV on one side of a divider, smallish bath and bedroom on the other. And the view! Stunning overlook of the roof and three walls of the adjoining building.

Carpet really needed a refresher. Bed was OK. Everything else, just OK. Got a great laugh when I looked on the infosheet behind the door and saw that the room went for $1,000. That's a good one!

Room Tip: Try the sister hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley B, Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
GianniB, thank you so much for your review. We are a boutique style hotel which means our rooms are slightly smaller than the average hotel room. As far as the view, we are in the middle of the city. I am not sure if you are familiar with District of Columbia's height restrictions but unfortunately with everything having to be the same height. That being said our views from the hotel are limited. Your feed back about the carpet is appreciated and has been passed on to our engineering department to see what we need to do to get that suite looking better. Again, thank you for your feed back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The staff were friendly upon check-in and the room clean and comfortable. Easy distance to walk to Georgetown and the sites of DC. Location was quiet which is good for sleeping. Didn't partake of the breakfast as lots of places nearby. Would recommend to others.

Room Tip: I always recommend getting a room away from the elevators!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Washington Marriott Georgetown
Washington Marriott Georgetown
#99 of 135 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 789 reviews
Upper Northwest
The Mayflower Hotel
The Mayflower Hotel
#80 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,612 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Melrose Georgetown
The Melrose Georgetown
#37 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.
Dupont Circle
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
#26 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel

Address: 1143 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#54 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#59 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#73 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, relaxed elegance awaits you at the Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel. We welcome guests with thoughtful amenities and a prime location near some of the city's most popular landmarks. All of our 355 hotel rooms and suites are stylishly designed and boast goose-down bedding and luxurious Aveda bathroom products. Stay connected with in-room Internet access and Marriott's innovative Plug-In technology panels, or unplug in front of your flat-screen TV. M Brasserie, our signature hotel restaurant, serves fresh and flavorful American fare; M Bar is the perfect spot for a drink after a day spent exploring Dupont Circle. Planning a meeting or event in Washington, DC? Our innovative and flexible event space allows us to specialize in small meetings and ensure we cater to your unique needs. And be sure to ask our hotel Navigator for a few insider tips to help you experience the best of DC, the way locals do. Discover something new and exciting with every stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
m Street Hotel Washington Dc
Renaissance Washington Dc
Washington Dc Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.