We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Decent Rooms, GREAT STAFF” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1143 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #75 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good Location, Decent Rooms, GREAT STAFF”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I wasn't so in love with his hotel when I arrived. It was busy and noisy and my room was TINY. I tried to be comfortable in the "Queen Room" which was about the size of a queen bed, but I just wasn't. Figuring that it couldn't hurt to just ask, I went to the front desk to see if there was anyway that I could get a bigger room. To my surprise and delight, the clerks (Anteneh and Giovanni) really went above and beyond to find a better room for me. My spirits lifted IMMEDIATELY. This just goes to show that there is more to a hotel than just the building. I would definitely stay here again. Thank you so much for the hospitality!

Room Tip: ask for a king room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    342
    146
    36
    25
See reviews for
147
162
55
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Visited for business. Staff friendly and professional, amenities in room and hotel services good. But room and bathroom really small. They have to use space saving solutions, and it is desk or walk to the closet [see picture]. Internet very patchy. Cannot open window, so have to do with this odd smell. Location good if your business is in West end. Best coffee in town in the Illy café in the building.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley B, Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Skuatakin, thank you for your feedback. If you look on our website under guest rooms it does state that we are a boutique style hotel which means our rooms are slightly smaller than the average hotel room. I apologize that you were disappointed with its size. If you do find yourself coming back to DC, we would like to have you back at The DuPont Circle Renaissance. Please reach out to me in advance so maybe we can accommodate you in a more spacious room. ashley.banks@marriott.com Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Pros:
Hotel is well located, about 8 mins walk to the nearest Metro station. near good restaurants, a CVS and also, if you are up for it, mcdonalds and the likes.

Size of the room is quite ok, specially the bathroom was very spacious.

Cons
Among the worst things of the hotel, I would highlight the concierge service. We called in advance and during our stay to ask about Spas in the area and whether the hotel's concierge could recommend something or simply help us get something. We were promised a follow up call. For 4 days, we never such call back. Plain Awful.

Bad check in. Our reservation was not in their system, so you can imagine that this delayed the whole check-in process sensibly. Eventually, we were allowed in to a queen size bed room.

The TV did not work. We called and a person came, tried to fix it for 10 mins by switching on and off the device. Eventually, he proposed to bring the tv down and bring a new one back, but of course, we declined politely and asked it to be done the next day, which happened.

very poor bath assortments. we had to ask for a shower cap and barely make it with the 1 shampoo and 1 soap. not a Renaissance experience...

room, 715, had some funny noises from time to time. it was not outside noises, nor our neighbours, it sounded more like "structural" noises.

Valets were also quite poor. the front space parking is quite peculiar in this hotel and they should do a much better job at helping manage the traffic that gets accumulated there. in our case, as we were leaving the hotel, our taxi was stuck at least 5 minutes because of some ongoing pick up and drop off. no valet took action in helping with the process.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley B, Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Good day Robert M. Thank you for the candid feedback. Clearly you were disappointed with your experience. I apologize that the concierge did not report back to you about a local spa. I am also disappointed to hear that the check in experience took an extended amount of time. These first two factors do play a huge part in your first impression of our property. Not to mention the television issue, thank you for your patience while we worked to get that fixed. Another thank you for your patience with the time it took to get your transportation. I am are aware of the time it takes to enter and exit our front drive, however, within the next week or two New Hampshire Avenue will be opening up for both lanes of traffic. This should cut back on the congestion tremendously. Again, thank you for your feedback. I apologize it was not up to Renaissance standards, but with this feedback we hope to improve for future stays. If you have any other questions or concerns please feel free to reach out to me. ashley.banks@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights for the DC Women's Half Marathon in April. Very nice, clean rooms (although a bit small for 2 adults), extremely friendly staff. Couldn't connect to the wifi on any of my devices at first - eventually got my computer online with help from the front desk but they weren't able to get my phone to connect at all in the room. Ate at the hotel restaurant once - poor service (one order was wrong and we waited ~40 minutes for 2 bowls of pasta), food was average and overpriced. Walls are paper thin - barely slept the night before the race because of noise coming from a neighbouring room and the hallway.

All in all, this hotel made a great first impression, but it went downhill from there.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley B, Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Good day Robert M. Thank you for the candid feedback. Clearly you were disappointed with your experience. I apologize that the concierge did not report back to you about a local spa. I am also disappointed to hear that the check in experience took an extended amount of time. These first two factors do play a huge part in your first impression of our property. Not to mention the television issue, thank you for your patience while we worked to get that fixed. Another thank you for your patience with the time it took to get your transportation. I am are aware of the time it takes to enter and exit our front drive, however, within the next week or two New Hampshire Avenue will be opening up for both lanes of traffic. This should cut back on the congestion tremendously. Again, thank you for your feedback. I apologize it was not up to Renaissance standards, but with this feedback we hope to improve for future stays. If you have any other questions or concerns please feel free to reach out to me. ashley.banks@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We were made to feel like regulars by Noel and the rest of the staff at the hotel. They took care of everything we needed and went out of their way to make us comfortable. We requested and got adjoining rooms for our family, and they were nice and comfy and well kept. The lobby has many different cozy seating areas, with a bar and coffee shop right there for convenience. The location was terrific. I would definitely go back to the Renaissance next time we're in DC.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I don't understand how you can charge for wifi at a business hotel. It's ridiculous. But the staff was very helpful, light clean rooms although very very small. Great amenities in the room. Location was great! In the mid of DuPont circle. Walking distance from Georgetown and the big gardens. Good breakfast buffet!

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

For a city hotel it was excellent, helpful, kind staff who came to our aid when both my husband & I were ill whilst there. We found a wonderful deal which made it very affordable for a 4 star hotel, the facilities were good, and the restaurant staff were very flexible over food requests. It was also well placed for sight seeing and I would certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: Preferred the front rooms although back more than acceptable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Washington Marriott Georgetown
Washington Marriott Georgetown
#99 of 135 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 792 reviews
Upper Northwest
The Mayflower Hotel
The Mayflower Hotel
#80 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,616 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Melrose Georgetown
The Melrose Georgetown
#36 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.
Dupont Circle
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
#26 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel

Address: 1143 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#55 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#57 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#76 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, relaxed elegance awaits you at the Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel. We welcome guests with thoughtful amenities and a prime location near some of the city's most popular landmarks. All of our 355 hotel rooms and suites are stylishly designed and boast goose-down bedding and luxurious Aveda bathroom products. Stay connected with in-room Internet access and Marriott's innovative Plug-In technology panels, or unplug in front of your flat-screen TV. M Brasserie, our signature hotel restaurant, serves fresh and flavorful American fare; M Bar is the perfect spot for a drink after a day spent exploring Dupont Circle. Planning a meeting or event in Washington, DC? Our innovative and flexible event space allows us to specialize in small meetings and ensure we cater to your unique needs. And be sure to ask our hotel Navigator for a few insider tips to help you experience the best of DC, the way locals do. Discover something new and exciting with every stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
m Street Hotel Washington Dc
Renaissance Washington Dc
Washington Dc Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.