We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent stay for business travelers” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1143 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15% off
Ranked #80 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Decent stay for business travelers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Pros: Staff helpful and friendly. Room clean and decent size. Good location; took a 15 minute walk to the White House.

Cons: Didn't appreciate being next to the elevator, but apparently that was all that was available, despite Marriott Rewards Gold level. (I think reservation desk was more concerned about getting me into larger room vs location of room.) No mini bar in room, a little inconvenient since my business function was a late event and ended after room service closed for the night.

Keep in mind this is a boutique hotel; I was a little surprised since my previous Renaissance stays have been in bigger hotels.

I had no WiFi issues like previous reviewers.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Horowitz, Rooms Operations Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Hi JFrig,
Thank you for the review and thank you for being a Marriott Gold Rewards Member! We are a boutique style hotel with rooms that are modern and clean, but do tend to run on the smaller side. I think you may have hit the nail on the head. With Marriott Gold Elite Members like yourself, we try to make an effort to place you in rooms that are a little larger. One suggestion I would make is to set up a preference in your Marriott Rewards profile for a room further from the elevator. This will help notify other Marriott hotels to place you in a guest room further from the elevator. Of course, if you would like to reach out to me and send me a message with your Rewards information I can make sure that this does not happen again at our hotel. Thank you for your loyalty to our brand. I hope to see you soon. Take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    295
    123
    34
    25
See reviews for
118
137
51
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed for a conference - not a bad property, the rooms are clean, well lit and have aveda amenities but they are on the small side. The club lounge is a bit off on offerings - this property makes you pay for wine (where no other Renaissance does...) in the lounge and they asked for cash--no receipt! very odd. The breakfast has a variety of stale bread options but luckily redeems itself with decent oatmeal and lots of fresh fruit. Meh for what you pay for....For $400 bucks a night, its so-so. Kimpton properties are much better!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Horowitz, Rooms Operations Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Hi DC-IMF-FAO traveler,
Thank you for the candid feedback. I was disappointed to see that we fell short of your expectations. It sounds like we did not provide you with a very memorable experience. We take these comments very seriously and I will use this feedback as a training opportunity for the team. Feel free to reach out to me if you decide to give us another shot and we will give you the VIP treatment you deserve. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I stayed here over Labor Day Weekend. The price was amazing, as Congress was out of town for the holiday weekend. The room size was adequate (one bed) and the furnishings were well done and the bathroom was contemporary and stylish. I did not use the wifi in the room, did not have a car, nor did i use the bar or coffee area in the lobby. I found the staff to be welcoming and the cleanliness from the maid was good. The staff called a cab for me (which picked me up quite early - 3:30am) with no complainng at all. There was no view from the windows, as it overlooked another office building. The best part of this stay (besides the price) was the location. I got off at the GWU/Foggy Bottom station- and walked just a couple of enjoyable blocks. You are close to a Whole Foods market for snacks and food, close to Dupon Circle for its bars and restaurants. The area is quite safe and full of people all day and night. I liked this general location more than staying closer to the capitol or in VA.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Horowitz, Rooms Operations Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Hi tallcodude,
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us over the holiday weekend. I agree, it is a such a great location and pretty close to wherever you'd like to be! We look forward to having you again soon. Take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

As several reviewers have stated, some of the rooms are small, really small. Others have stated that their rooms were large so it must depend upon the location. We stayed on 8th floor, which is Marriott concierge floor. If this is an upgrade for elite members, what a disappointment! This room would be fine for single person or couple but not when traveling with teenagers. There couldn't be much more than two or three feet around each of two full-sized beds. The desk chair hit the bed when pulled out. The bathroom contained small vanity, tub/shower and toilet (approximately 5 x 8).

The location was very convenient with Metro (a few blocks away) and Circulator bus stop nearby. Coffee shop is next door (Izzy). Located across the street, Grillfish is a nice option for lunch ($10-$15)-try the fish and mushroom chowder or brunch, if you like oysters. Overall, room size was a big disappointment. I have stayed at other hotels in Dupont Circle and this room was half the size with similar price. Not a good value unless you are using Priceline.

Room Tip: Rooms facing street have better cell reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Horowitz, Rooms Operations Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Hi PAHITTHEROAD,

Thank you for your feedback. While I see you appreciated the local area, the room size was clearly a disappointment. We are a boutique style hotel with rooms that are clean and modern and have everything you may need, but do tend to run on the small side. The room sizes do vary however, and if you decide to stay with us again you may find a room available on another floor that may have the square footage that others do not. Thank you again for the note and take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I agree with other reveiwers that getting a cell signal is challenging. I stayed on the 8th floor, facing inward, and repeated found myself seeing "0 bars" on my cell phone. If I walked into the lounge, the signal was spotty. On the ground floor lobby, I saw signal availability strongest.

The room was clean, large and easy to walk around. The carpet design seemed to be a bit updated and felt did not match the decor of the wallpaper and the furniture. But the room was clean, no odors of any kind and a comfortable bed and bedding.

Lounge staff was incredibly helpful and polite. The hotel itself is in a good location, walkable to multiple restaurants and getting a taxi is very easy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I have stayed here before but have never written a review because I was only in transit. This time I had a full two weeks to get a feel for the place, and it ain't too bad.
Firstly the location is ideal for both tourists and business folks alike. 10 minutes to Dupont circle (don't let the name fool you, this hotel is not on Dupont Circle), 15 minutes to George Town and 5 minutes to the Foggy Bottom Metro. There is also a good selection of restaurants close by and a convenience store just across the street.
The bar and reception area are very pleasant and the food gets a 9/10 in my book for quality and value. The rooms are a bit on the cramped side but the sleep quality is good and everything works.
But what sets this place apart from the other local establishments, at a similar cost, is the friendly service you get from everyone. Often times 'have a nice day'is just a platitude but here the team seem to genuinely mean it and enjoy thier work. Good on ya.
I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Some, but not all, rooms have a bath - great for washing your smalls over the weekend :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Horowitz, Rooms Operations Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Hi Gustypants,
Thanks for the great review of our hotel. I'm happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you join us again soon. Sincerely, Mike Horowitz, Rooms Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The staff was very friendly, and the finishings were very luxurious feeling. The room we had was the cheapest so a little small but the location was great- close to Dupont Circle and right by the bus to Georgetown.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel

Address: 1143 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#65 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#74 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#76 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated and contemporary, our hotel's accommodations exude stylish luxury. Perfect for a getaway to the Washington, DC area, our hotel is minutes from Georgetown, Foggy Bottom and the DC Metro, bringing the best of the city's attractions to our doorstep. Our guest rooms and suites feature deluxe amenities creating the boutique hotel experience our guests have come to expect. Take in our goose down bedding, sleek bathrooms, wireless Internet and plug-in technology panels, all the while exploring our unique location in the nation's capital. Sip and savor in our Caffe serving illy coffee and our M Lounge & M Brasserie serving indigenous, seasonal dishes and cocktails. An on-site fitness center and business center ensure you are taken care of while on your road and don't forget to ask our Navigator for insider tips for dining and shopping in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
m Street Hotel Washington Dc
Renaissance Washington Dc
Washington Dc Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.