We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms are a bit small but great location & staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1143 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up to 20% In DC
Ranked #78 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Johnson City, Tennessee
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Rooms are a bit small but great location & staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

This is a trendy, newly renovated hotel in the Foggy Bottom area of DC. There are plenty of restaurants around and the hotel is close to the Metro. The staff at this hotel makes it worth the stay - every time I interacted with anyone from the hotel it was outstanding. The rooms are a little small but clean & up-to-date. A good place to stay for a trip to DC.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    166
    251
    105
    31
    25
See reviews for
96
120
46
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011 via mobile

Rooms and everything was nice but it is very noisy due to the outside AC so are you a light sleeper don't choose this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Stayed here this past weekend. We were there to spend time with our grandson while my daughter and son-in-law attended a wedding at the site. Washington can be difficult to navigate with all the one way streets. When we called the hotel once in the city, they provided a VERY patient employee who helped guide us to their location. This was very much appreciated. Although the rooms were a little small, especially with all the needed baby equipment, the staff was so helpful. When we requested some special items they were provided immediately. The food ordered in the lobby bar was excellent as was the breakfast buffet. There are many great restaurants located with walking distance and we found them to be a bargain as well.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

I had a wonderful welcome, and although I had asked for a king bed, there were none left when I checked in, so I was upgraded to a room on the Club Floor (two beds). I agree that the rooms are small, but the beds and pillows are excellent. I found the service to be very good (only problem is getting a cab at certain times of the day), and facilities are well renovated and do provide that boutique feel. Special kudos to the front desk for ensuring that I received several packages that were sent to me in a very timely way.

The location was well placed in between Washington Circle (Foggy Bottom metro, Orange and Blue lines) and DuPont Circle (Red line metro) so it made access to both my conference location and my headquarters very easy. I would return.

Room Tip: Club floor is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

I stayed here two nights for a small vacation with my sister. Got a great deal on Orbitz. After reading all the negative to so-so reviews on here, I was a little apprehensive about what to expect. My expectations were greatly exceeded. The staff was always around to welcome us back to the hotel and answer any questions. The room was spotless, hallways were fine, beds weren't phenomenal but after walking around DC all day, who could tell the difference? I didn't go for the valet parking at the hotel but instead parked at the economy parking lot at DCA and took the metro to the Foggy Bottom stop. It took less than 15 minutes. The location is unbeatable for the price. The Chinese restaurant across the street is great (with inexpensive wine!) and the coffee shop connected to the lobby is convenient. We decided to eat at the hotel restaurant one night and did not regret it. Get the mango creme brulee. It was unbelievable. The food service is slow but well worth it. I will be staying here for any return trip to DC!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

I stayed 3 nights at the Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel. It is in a great location, and I liked the lobby area. Valet parking was friendly + efficient - it is the same parking rate $$ as other DC hotels. The Bellhops were friendly and cabs were readily available - Metro station a few blocks away, Georgetown is walking distance.

The hotel overall was clean, the hallways and common areas (we were on a preferred memeber floor with drinks, snacks, cafe) were a little dated and needing of update - but certainly not horrible. The check-in was friendly as was housekeeping.

The rooms are a small, I'm from NY so I'm used to small hotel rooms - I would say they're the same as a hotel room in the City. For DC they are small. The beds are comfrtable, sheets and bedding - standard, nothing special or luxurious. I asked for a room with 2 beds - unaware this hotel only has King Beds, Queen Beds - but rooms with 2 beds ONLY doubles - not two QUEENS? There is no way I'd recommend that for a family. Two adults or even two kids over 6 is not enough room in a double bed. There isn't room to roll in another bed - so don't try to squeeze more than 2 people in a room..

Bathroom was ok standard size, nothing special. Terry robes in the closets and decent products (soaps, shampoo) - the robes and towles were not soft, but do the job - I didn't use the robes - I was going to - but they weren't soft so I didn't bother..

Again, this isn't a bad hotel it's just not a 4 star property, and the site I booked it on said it was - I wouldn't pay rack rate - and would staying again if I got a good deal; more than 100 per night I think is too much.

Room Tip: Stay on a club level floor - quiet and cafe with snacks, drinks, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, NJ
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Booked this hotel in August '11 for one night--$80 on Priceline. Checked in quite late, asked for a King room and got it. If we were staying for more than one night I probably would have changed rooms, as it was right next to the elevator, but at 11:30 pm I wasn't about to deal with it. Noise was minimal. Room was comfortable, albeit strangely shaped (prob because elevator bank literally cut into it). Otherwise, no complaint--clean and comfortable. We parked for free on the street. There is a coffee shop in the lobby. Great location near DuPont Circle.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel

Address: 1143 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#62 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#68 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated and contemporary, our hotel's accommodations exude stylish luxury. Perfect for a getaway to the Washington, DC area, our hotel is minutes from Georgetown, Foggy Bottom and the DC Metro, bringing the best of the city's attractions to our doorstep. Our guest rooms and suites feature deluxe amenities creating the boutique hotel experience our guests have come to expect. Take in our goose down bedding, sleek bathrooms, wireless Internet and plug-in technology panels, all the while exploring our unique location in the nation's capital. Sip and savor in our Caffe serving illy coffee and our M Lounge & M Brasserie serving indigenous, seasonal dishes and cocktails. An on-site fitness center and business center ensure you are taken care of while on your road and don't forget to ask our Navigator for insider tips for dining and shopping in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Tingo and Despegar.com so you can book your Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
m Street Hotel Washington Dc
Renaissance Washington Dc
Washington Dc Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.