We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The River Inn

Save Saved
You added The River Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The River Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   924 25th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Oakland, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We recently stayed at the River Inn while I was in Washington, DC for a conference. The hotel is located on a tree lined street just a few blocks from the Foggy Bottom Metro Station and the Kennedy Center. It was a peaceful retreat at the end of the day. The room was kept immaculately clean by the friendly staff. The bed was very comfortable and the room was huge. They even had bicycles we could borrow for a ride along the river to the monuments. On our last night it was raining very heavily. We decided to eat at the restaurant at the hotel. By surprise, it was delicious. Definitely the best meal I had all week while in DC.

My sister stayed at a 5 star hotel closer to the White House during the same time we stayed at the River Inn. She could not sleep due to the street noise and her room was about one fifth the size of our room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kacem O, Front Desk Supervisor at The River Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. The River Inn has a peaceful and relaxed atmosphere but is also close to many attractions such as the Kennedy Center and the Foggy Bottom Metro is just a couple blocks away. I am happy to hear your positive remarks regarding the room’s size and comfort, and upkeep. It’s a Joy hearing you enjoyed our in-house restaurant, Dish. Hopefully, you will recommend us to your sister for her next visit to Washington. Thanks again and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    418
    293
    50
    28
    15
See reviews for
240
255
48
145
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
GA
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

A work trip means I had to stay here again. This time there was no mold anywhere and it seemed much cleaner (room 417). But, one of the men I was with found a random pair of ladies underwear that were leftover from a previous visit in his room and it took 2 phone calls before anyone would come to remove them. We got a good laugh at it but it still gives you the creepies thinking about the cleanliness.
The staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kacem O, Front Desk Supervisor at The River Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Hello! Thank you for your review. I am glad that your stay was better than your last with us.We look forward to seeing you again and making sure your next stay with us will be as pleasant as possible. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juniata
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

The River Inn location, extra special service and walkable Georgetown neighborhood will guarantee that we only will stay at the River Inn in the future. in fact, I have already told and retold the merits of The River Inn to friends and coworkers. We had such a glorious surprise and were upgraded to a corporate suite. This gesture was so unexpected! The staff was ultra attentive. Patrick was quick to assist us with the in room safe and then surprised us again with four breakfast coupons to the main floor restaurant, which he said "were a gift to make -up for any inconvenience" with the safe. Again, a gesture of service and so unexpected. Every morning as we were leaving for our touring day they asked if they could answer questions or provide tips. Again, when we returned at night they always authentically inquired about our days' highlights. The corporate suite was perfect for the four of us. We had so much space, a full kitchen, separate bedroom, etc. Two options for groceries are within blocks so,you can save money not eating out every meal. We had two queen beds in the separate bedroom and the mattresses were very comfortable. There was a separate queen size couch/bed in the living area. We requested extra pillows and they were promptly provided. Housekeeping went above our expectations, even washing the few breakfast dishes we left in the kitchen sink. Although we were back late each night, we did have two flat screen televisions we didn't watch much, but great to have access to D.C. weather forecasts and headline news while getting ready in the a.m.
Foggy Bottom metro station was a stroll away.....easy to fly in to Reagan International, take the metro to F.B and pull suitcases the short distance to The River Inn. Upon checkout, they provided a locked area for our luggage so we could squeeze in a bit more sightseeing before we headed to the airport. We had an amazing experience....loved the ease of the metro system, and were able to tour everything on our list. We were amazed that we could walk to the Lincoln Memorial from this hotel. It was a trip full of memories, thanks to The River Inn hospitality and very attentive staff. I regret that i didn't gather business cards of the staff members so am not able to identify front desk staff by name, however each staff professional was exemplary. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kacem O, Front Desk Supervisor at The River Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Greetings!
Thank you for your wonderful review. It sounds like you had great time here with us at The River Inn. We really appreciate your kind, constructive, and positive remarks regarding our hotel staff, location, and our overall hospitality. It’s great that you found your suite spacious and comfortable and I am happy that our staff accommodated you in every way possible. I am glad we will be seeing you again in the future. Thank you for the review and also for your loyalty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Once again, I found the River Inn to be a convenient and reasonably priced place to stay in DC. We were looking at colleges in the area and the desk staff were very helpful. We were only there for two days but will definitely return to River Inn!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kacem O, Front Desk Supervisor at The River Inn, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive review . I am very happy to hear that you found our hotel convenient for you. I want to wish you best of luck on the college search. We hope to see you again soon at The River Inn next time you’re in the Washington, D.C. area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My friend and I are 2 single women in our mid-sixties- we came to DC for 4 days of sightseeing over Memorial Day. The River Inn provided us the perfect place to stay: 1) close to the metro, 2) free bicycles to ride to the monuments or Rock Creek Parkway (which we did), 3) two blocks to Whole Foods or to Trader Joes for great food to cook in a full kitchen (which we did a lot!) 4) separate eating area, large living room and large bedroom (used to be apartments), 4) bedroom had 2 queen beds with very comfortable matresses. 5) walking distance to Georgetown, where we spent a lovely afternoon, 6) quiet, located in a residential neighborhood - we got a great sleep each night 7) super-friendly and responsive staff. Both my friend and I are recommending this hotel to anyone we know traveling to D.C. I would love to return!

Room Tip: Because the hotel in located on a residential street that did not seem busy, it was my impression th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kacem O, Front Desk Supervisor at The River Inn, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Hello there, and thanks for the fantastic review! It sounds like you and your friend have enjoyed your visit with us here at The River inn. We really appreciate the comments about our staff being super-friendly, that is definitely what we strive for! The suites are great aren't they? There is so much room to spread out, it’s also great to have the kitchen for making your own meals (especially with Trader Joe's and Whole Foods being around the corner!), guests love having grocery stores and the Metro nearby with just a five minute walk. Thank you for recommending us and we sincerely hope to have you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed there for the umpteenth time this past weekend, this the first time with family (my wife and I brought our son to DC for an internship, and we stayed an extra day for sight-seeing). Like all the other times I have been there, surely over 20 by now, it was an excellent experience. Big clean rooms, solid internet service, great AC, quiet drama-free neighborhood, great bang for the buck. Staff is courteous and sincere. This trip I did not order room service, but I have in the past, and the food has always been delicious. I would recommend The River Inn to anyone, whether you are traveling for business or visiting DC

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kacem O, Front Desk Supervisor at The River Inn, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for your loyalty and for sharing such a pleasant review of our hotel. It sounds like you and your family had a very enjoyable stay with us here at The River Inn, from the service of our staff to the decor and amenities of the hotel. We’re glad to have hosted you We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We enjoyed The River Inn more than most hotels in any city we have stayed. Liked the location as it is walking distance to Georgetown, GWU, and the National mall. But the staff and treatment at the hotel is the best part of the experience. Fresh coffee beans in the room to grind in the morning is a nice touch. And the rooms are so quiet they must have walls and windows that are very sound resistant. The decor of the rooms is very nicely done. Staff is very friendly and always treats you well.

Room Tip: Talk to the staff about what you would like and have them explain the details of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kacem O, Front Desk Supervisor at The River Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
It was great to have you, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us more than most hotels in any city you have stayed. It is a joy to hear that you were happy with our accommodations and great location but in particular that you found our staff very helpful and wonderful. Our team takes great pride in providing genuine service and it will be my pleasure to share your comments with them. Thank you for your valuable review and we look forward to welcoming you back to The River Inn, on any future visits to Washington, DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Inn

Address: 924 25th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#16 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The River Inn 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The River Hotel Washington Dc
River Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.