We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good the bad and the ugly” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The River Inn

Save Saved
You added The River Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The River Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   924 25th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“The good the bad and the ugly”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The good is the staff, as they are very nice and helpful - and for the staff I could give 5 stars. Otherwise - the hotel is extremely disappointing, especially that it held a certificate of excellence!
It is advertised as a luxury. Luxury it is not, it is barely acceptable. Rooms are relatively spacious and gosh! they are really ugly, furnished with old furniture, lacking any style and taste. Rooms smell with old cigar smoke, even if they are for non-smokers. We thought of upgrading the room, but the apartment was even more tired, with a colour peeling of the walls and grey, tired carpets. The old air-condition unit was making a noise, so it was difficult to sleep. Plus, it was either too hot or too cold.
There is a kitchen in each room, and we thought it might be an advantage, but believe me, if you are not on a special diet it cost the same to eat outside, and at the Foggy Bottom you have a lot of nice, cheap places to eat (plus some expensive and beautiful restaurants in Georgetown). And the kitchen in the room means additional unpleasant odours.
Usually, if the room is not so nice, there is a hotel lobby one can rest. In this hotel lobby is so small that it almost do not exist, furnished with VERY OLD furnitures and decorated with one dying orchid. So this is not an option.
The restaurant seems to be nice, but it is also very ... underdecorated. And again, staff in the restaurant is great. I did not try food, as we ate outside.
The gym is again very small and rather tired.
Wifi is in every room and most of the time it works really well, which is an advantage. While choosing the room there is a rule that higher is better.
I got severe allergy from the air-condition unit, I was bitten by some sort of bugs in this hotel (not mosquitos), I was sleepless from the aircondition noise.
Regarding room service there was the rule: if not living a tip, the room was always slightly unfinished. With tips it worked. I seldom tip roomservice every day, I usually live bigger amount in the end of my stay, but in Rivers Inn everyday tipping was necessary.
I liked the location though, however any hotel close to metro is in a good location, as metro works in DC really well. The "walking distance" to National Mall is ca 20-25 minutes, so it is better to take metro anyway (as then you can be too tired to walk in the museums and Mall itself). The big advantage of this hotels are bicycles, as than it is possible to cycle in the Mall and Potomac or RockCreek.
It was overpriced, this hotel - as for the amount you pay there you expect just a glimpse of luxury.
This hotel was acceptable, but not comfortable and sort of basic standard. If it was 3 stars I would not complain. But it does not deserve 5 stars, it does not deserve excellence certificate and it is UGLY.

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrittanyFOS, Front Office Supervisor at The River Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Greetings, and thank you very much for your review on The River Inn. I am glad that you enjoyed the location of the hotel, it sounds like it suited your sightseeing needs, such as heading to the National Mall and Georgetown. Also, thanks for mentioning our bike service; guests love that they can use the hotel bikes for free up to two hours! However, I am sad to hear that you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We will definitely take your feedback into consideration for our operations. In case you didn't notice during your stay, we are going through a modernization process at the hotel. All of our suites are being updated with new furnishings, bedding, and carpets. Also, we are getting brand new elevators, which the staff and guests are very excited about. Knowing this, I hope that you give us a second chance for your next visit to DC! Please keep us in mind, and we look forward to hearing from you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    432
    297
    50
    28
    15
See reviews for
251
256
48
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here for Marine Corp Marathon 2011, it was great.
I got lost finding it. so if you are catching the Metro to Foggy Bottom, turn right and back on yourself when you come out of the station. Walk through a pedestrian area and keep going. Cross and odd road junction with a 7/11 on the right - but keep going. At the next junction, turn right and The River Inn is on the left.

Breakfast is not included, it is expensive and not worth the wait.

But the staff are great, the location is perfect and the rooms clean, tidy and the bed - AWESOME!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrittanyFOS, Front Office Supervisor at The River Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Hello there, and thank you for your review on The River Inn! I am glad to hear that you had a good time at the hotel, I hope the Marine Corp Marathon went well for you! In DC, it can be easy to get turned around, thank you for providing those walking directions for our future guests. As you said, breakfast is not included with the stay, but if you're interested in staying with us again sometime please call our reservations department directly and they can provide you with a room rate that includes breakfast! Thank you for the nice comments on our staff, we appreciate the feedback. We look forward to your next visit at The River Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada Flintridge, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We booked this hotel because of the price and convenient location. We were very pleasantly surprised that is turned out to be a great location, convenient to GWU Metro. The room is large, with a sitting area and a small kitchen. The hotel is peaceful and well decorated. Wonderful staff and a great value. We stayed for three nights and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrittanyFOS, Front Office Supervisor at The River Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Hello, and thank you for choosing The River Inn for your recent stay in Washington, DC! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. As you stated, the location is great! We're in such a peaceful area, yet close to so many of the city's sights. With the Foggy Bottom/GWU Metro stop only 2.5 blocks away, all of DC is at our front door. The rooms are a great size, with plenty of room to spread out and socialize. The kitchens are helpful as well, especially if you came with family or plan on staying with us for a longer period of time. I'm glad you liked the decor of the hotel, we have recently begun upgrading our suites, so I hope you come back to us sometime to see our new look! Thanks again for your comments, and we look forward to your next visit at The River Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Took a taxi from Union Station to the hotel cost around $25. When we drove into Twenty Fifth Ave at first I thought we were in the wrong street but to my great surprise this wonderful tree lined and residential area of historic Foggy Bottom accommodated The River Inn. Wonderful welcome from the staff, We were allocated a large room with an older style kitchenette and lounge area, Extremely well presented and very clean room. Bed was also very comfortable with a large work desk.Absolutely loved the room as it was well furnished and very comfortable for our 5 day stay in Washington. A very good rate with a hot breakfast included each morning in the restaurant downstairs. Location wise was excellent as we locked into the hop on hop off bus service for 3 day pass and collection point was about 12 minute walk away from the Hotel. You are only 8 minutes away from Foggy Bottom metro station with great links to the centre of Washington and to Union Station.The Hotel has an excellent restaurant however there are a number of other excellent restaurants all within 8 to 10 mins walk from the Hotel.You are also only about 15 minute walk to the river area which has lots of restaurants all with great views of the water. You are also close to the boats that take you for a cruise up the river. Of course you are very close to the infamous Watergate building for those people old enough to remember is where the Democratic Headquarters were located and the famous breakin with the late President Nixon being involved. My god is this building ugly however couldnt stop taking photos...think building has been classified on the National Trust to preserve.The Hotel also has a coin laundry in the basement which is excellent.It was a perfect location for a perfect visit to Washington DC. Great staff who are extremely helpful and very friendly. Housekeeping staff do a great job each day presenting and cleaning the room. Well done to everyone...when I come back to Washington would not stay anywhere else, from an older person it is simply superb, 11 out of 10 for service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrittanyFOS, Front Office Supervisor at The River Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Greetings! I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time in Washington, DC, and that The River Inn played a large role in that! First of all, guests love our location. We are located in a quiet, historic district that is a nice residential area. But, we are so close to the busy areas of the city either by walking or public transport! Secondly, our suites are very spacious and especially accommodating for longer term stays. The kitchens and the comfortable beds help a lot too! What you said about the Watergate is really funny; for such a historic building, it is definitely not the most attractive to look at, but you can't help but be in awe of it. However, DC has many other amazing pieces of architecture to look at! Lastly, our staff at the hotel are a huge part of the guest experience. We do all we can to make sure you enjoy your stay! Thank you very much for your nice comments about the front desk, housekeeping, and restaurant staff. We hope to see you again soon at The River Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

A bit tired and worn but the staff were warm and friendly. The room was large, comfortable and well equipped with a decent bathroom. The hotel is in a charming, relatively quiet area within easy reach of the metro system. We felt there was a lack of places to eat close to the hotel. If you enjoy walking, it was well placed for sightseeing. Just across from the metro station is possibly the best food market/deli we have ever visited, selling a vast array of groceries, wines/beers and take away foods to meet all tastes, so the lack of an oven was never a problem. If you want to be in the middle of the action you may prefer Georgetown but if you want a quieter location at a very reasonable price then this represents good value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrittanyFOS, Front Office Supervisor at The River Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Hi, thank you very much for your review on The River Inn! I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your suite, as well as the location of the hotel. The furniture in the rooms are getting a bit worn, so we are currently in the beginning stages of upgrading our suites. You'll have to come visit us again to see all of our updates! Also, we are walking distance to many of DC's sights, such as the White House, Lincoln Memorial, and Georgetown. I'm sorry that there aren't as many restaurants near the hotel, but in return we are in a nice, quiet residential area that is filled with history! As for the market/deli you visited, I believe you are speaking of the Whole Foods Market. It has been a great addition to the Foggy Bottom neighborhood. Again, thanks for your great review, we hope to see you again sometime at The River Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Barbados
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Ideally close to Metro in central location for sight seeing. Small suite room with kitchen; dated but classy touches, slept well so bed comfortable and no noise from quaint street which has historic town houses. This boutique hotel had pleasant helpful staff and the intimate trendy restaurant served good food and wine. I cant imagine Ramsey would complain. Keith the maitre d gave good food and wine advice and was abley assisted. Interesting people met at Dinner and breakfast even though I was travelling alone after a fire science conference at UMD. Susan a regular for dinner was a Lobbyist and very good company when I had dessert at the bar.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrittanyFOS, Front Office Supervisor at The River Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Hello there, and thank you for your review on The River Inn! I'm glad to hear that we made you feel right at home during your stay. We get a lot of compliments on our comfortable beds, we've even had guests call us after they've checked out to ask what kind of mattresses we use so they can purchase one themselves! Also, thanks for your review on our in-house restaurant, Dish + Drinks. The staff there are great, and the food is highly rated! We get a mixed crowd of local neighborhood residents, theater goers, and hotel guests, so you're able to meet new people at every meal. I am so glad that you enjoyed your time with us, please come back again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severna Park, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the River Inn last Thursday for a quick get-away. The room we stayed in was quite lovely, with a little sitting area and small kitchen. The room was clean, and the staff were very accomodating and helpful. We had a problem with the coffee grinder in our room, and it took the staff less than 5 minutes to deliver another one to us. Excellent customer service!

We have stayed here a few other times. The hotel is in a great location, very close to the Foggy Bottom metro. I highly recomment The River Inn!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrittanyFOS, Front Office Supervisor at The River Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Greetings! Thank you very much for staying at The River Inn, and for giving us such a nice review! I love the rooms here, they are all very spacious and cozy. Thanks for the compliments on our staff as well, we love getting feedback and ensuring that our guests are enjoying their stay. I'm glad that you liked our customer service! Thanks for coming on back to us so many times, we are looking forward to your next visit! Take care, and thank you for choosing The River Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Inn

Address: 924 25th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#16 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The River Inn 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The River Hotel Washington Dc
River Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.