We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a hotel at a great price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The River Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The River Inn to your Saves list
The River Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   924 25th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
DIRECT BOOK 10% OFF
Ranked #10 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
La Canada Flintridge, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A gem of a hotel at a great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We booked this hotel because of the price and convenient location. We were very pleasantly surprised that is turned out to be a great location, convenient to GWU Metro. The room is large, with a sitting area and a small kitchen. The hotel is peaceful and well decorated. Wonderful staff and a great value. We stayed for three nights and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrittanyFOS, Front Office Supervisor at The River Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Hello, and thank you for choosing The River Inn for your recent stay in Washington, DC! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. As you stated, the location is great! We're in such a peaceful area, yet close to so many of the city's sights. With the Foggy Bottom/GWU Metro stop only 2.5 blocks away, all of DC is at our front door. The rooms are a great size, with plenty of room to spread out and socialize. The kitchens are helpful as well, especially if you came with family or plan on staying with us for a longer period of time. I'm glad you liked the decor of the hotel, we have recently begun upgrading our suites, so I hope you come back to us sometime to see our new look! Thanks again for your comments, and we look forward to your next visit at The River Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    328
    54
    28
    15
See reviews for
287
302
52
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Took a taxi from Union Station to the hotel cost around $25. When we drove into Twenty Fifth Ave at first I thought we were in the wrong street but to my great surprise this wonderful tree lined and residential area of historic Foggy Bottom accommodated The River Inn. Wonderful welcome from the staff, We were allocated a large room with an older style kitchenette and lounge area, Extremely well presented and very clean room. Bed was also very comfortable with a large work desk.Absolutely loved the room as it was well furnished and very comfortable for our 5 day stay in Washington. A very good rate with a hot breakfast included each morning in the restaurant downstairs. Location wise was excellent as we locked into the hop on hop off bus service for 3 day pass and collection point was about 12 minute walk away from the Hotel. You are only 8 minutes away from Foggy Bottom metro station with great links to the centre of Washington and to Union Station.The Hotel has an excellent restaurant however there are a number of other excellent restaurants all within 8 to 10 mins walk from the Hotel.You are also only about 15 minute walk to the river area which has lots of restaurants all with great views of the water. You are also close to the boats that take you for a cruise up the river. Of course you are very close to the infamous Watergate building for those people old enough to remember is where the Democratic Headquarters were located and the famous breakin with the late President Nixon being involved. My god is this building ugly however couldnt stop taking photos...think building has been classified on the National Trust to preserve.The Hotel also has a coin laundry in the basement which is excellent.It was a perfect location for a perfect visit to Washington DC. Great staff who are extremely helpful and very friendly. Housekeeping staff do a great job each day presenting and cleaning the room. Well done to everyone...when I come back to Washington would not stay anywhere else, from an older person it is simply superb, 11 out of 10 for service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrittanyFOS, Front Office Supervisor at The River Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Greetings! I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time in Washington, DC, and that The River Inn played a large role in that! First of all, guests love our location. We are located in a quiet, historic district that is a nice residential area. But, we are so close to the busy areas of the city either by walking or public transport! Secondly, our suites are very spacious and especially accommodating for longer term stays. The kitchens and the comfortable beds help a lot too! What you said about the Watergate is really funny; for such a historic building, it is definitely not the most attractive to look at, but you can't help but be in awe of it. However, DC has many other amazing pieces of architecture to look at! Lastly, our staff at the hotel are a huge part of the guest experience. We do all we can to make sure you enjoy your stay! Thank you very much for your nice comments about the front desk, housekeeping, and restaurant staff. We hope to see you again soon at The River Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

A bit tired and worn but the staff were warm and friendly. The room was large, comfortable and well equipped with a decent bathroom. The hotel is in a charming, relatively quiet area within easy reach of the metro system. We felt there was a lack of places to eat close to the hotel. If you enjoy walking, it was well placed for sightseeing. Just across from the metro station is possibly the best food market/deli we have ever visited, selling a vast array of groceries, wines/beers and take away foods to meet all tastes, so the lack of an oven was never a problem. If you want to be in the middle of the action you may prefer Georgetown but if you want a quieter location at a very reasonable price then this represents good value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrittanyFOS, Front Office Supervisor at The River Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Hi, thank you very much for your review on The River Inn! I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your suite, as well as the location of the hotel. The furniture in the rooms are getting a bit worn, so we are currently in the beginning stages of upgrading our suites. You'll have to come visit us again to see all of our updates! Also, we are walking distance to many of DC's sights, such as the White House, Lincoln Memorial, and Georgetown. I'm sorry that there aren't as many restaurants near the hotel, but in return we are in a nice, quiet residential area that is filled with history! As for the market/deli you visited, I believe you are speaking of the Whole Foods Market. It has been a great addition to the Foggy Bottom neighborhood. Again, thanks for your great review, we hope to see you again sometime at The River Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Barbados
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Ideally close to Metro in central location for sight seeing. Small suite room with kitchen; dated but classy touches, slept well so bed comfortable and no noise from quaint street which has historic town houses. This boutique hotel had pleasant helpful staff and the intimate trendy restaurant served good food and wine. I cant imagine Ramsey would complain. Keith the maitre d gave good food and wine advice and was abley assisted. Interesting people met at Dinner and breakfast even though I was travelling alone after a fire science conference at UMD. Susan a regular for dinner was a Lobbyist and very good company when I had dessert at the bar.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrittanyFOS, Front Office Supervisor at The River Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Hello there, and thank you for your review on The River Inn! I'm glad to hear that we made you feel right at home during your stay. We get a lot of compliments on our comfortable beds, we've even had guests call us after they've checked out to ask what kind of mattresses we use so they can purchase one themselves! Also, thanks for your review on our in-house restaurant, Dish + Drinks. The staff there are great, and the food is highly rated! We get a mixed crowd of local neighborhood residents, theater goers, and hotel guests, so you're able to meet new people at every meal. I am so glad that you enjoyed your time with us, please come back again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severna Park, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the River Inn last Thursday for a quick get-away. The room we stayed in was quite lovely, with a little sitting area and small kitchen. The room was clean, and the staff were very accomodating and helpful. We had a problem with the coffee grinder in our room, and it took the staff less than 5 minutes to deliver another one to us. Excellent customer service!

We have stayed here a few other times. The hotel is in a great location, very close to the Foggy Bottom metro. I highly recomment The River Inn!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrittanyFOS, Front Office Supervisor at The River Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Greetings! Thank you very much for staying at The River Inn, and for giving us such a nice review! I love the rooms here, they are all very spacious and cozy. Thanks for the compliments on our staff as well, we love getting feedback and ensuring that our guests are enjoying their stay. I'm glad that you liked our customer service! Thanks for coming on back to us so many times, we are looking forward to your next visit! Take care, and thank you for choosing The River Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Staffs
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This Hotel is in an excellent positon, we have been to Washington DC on many occasions, but must admit this is the best Hotel we have stayed in. The rooms are very large with a sitting area table and chairs and also a small very equiped kitchen, although we didn't use it it would be adequate to cook in if you wanted too. The staff were very accomodating and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Thsi is a place I would most certainly go back too without hesitation.

Room Tip: I would say any room would be a good room. the hotel is on a leafy road with very little traffic noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrittanyFOS, Front Office Supervisor at The River Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Hello, and thank you for your comments on The River Inn! We really appreciate your kind words about our hotel. Like you, I love the size of our suites, it's like having your own apartment in DC! The kitchens are great if you want to cook during your stay (it can save you money by not going out to eat as much!). Our location is a large draw as well, we are in a quiet historic district that appeals to many of our guests. Plus, we are walking distance to so many of DC's sights! Also, thank you for your compliments to our staff, I'll be sure to pass it on. Thanks again for your review, we hope to see you again sometime at The River Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Just stayed a week for work, and was pleasantly surprised. Yes, the hotel is old. It was quite warm out and the heat was on when we arrived, see previous review, but within the first day they had gone back to ac. No oven or dishwasher, but we weren't planning to bake anything anyway, and they provide dish soap. Also any breakfast dishes we left were washed by housekeeping, which seems over and above. All in all, I would stay here again. The staff does the best they can considering the age of the building and the location can not be beat. Quick walk to the metro and you can get anywhere, walk the other direction and you find shops galore. Try Baked and Wired cupcakes while you're in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrittanyFOS, Front Office Supervisor at The River Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Greetings, and thanks for your recent stay at The River Inn! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your week with us. Thank you very much for your understanding with our heating and a/c system, I know our weather in DC has been so volatile the past couple of months, it makes it difficult to determine when to switch over for the season. Thanks as well for your comments about our housekeeping staff, they work very hard to ensure your room is in great shape! Also, guests love the location of the hotel, since it is so close to the main sights of DC as well as local favorites. Baked and Wired is a great place, I'm glad you got to try it during your stay. We look forward to a future visit from you at The River Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Inn

Address: 924 25th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The River Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The River Hotel Washington Dc
River Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.