We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The River Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The River Inn to your Saves list
The River Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   924 25th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
DIRECT BOOK 10% OFF
Ranked #10 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Bridgetown, Barbados
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Would stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Ideally close to Metro in central location for sight seeing. Small suite room with kitchen; dated but classy touches, slept well so bed comfortable and no noise from quaint street which has historic town houses. This boutique hotel had pleasant helpful staff and the intimate trendy restaurant served good food and wine. I cant imagine Ramsey would complain. Keith the maitre d gave good food and wine advice and was abley assisted. Interesting people met at Dinner and breakfast even though I was travelling alone after a fire science conference at UMD. Susan a regular for dinner was a Lobbyist and very good company when I had dessert at the bar.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrittanyFOS, Front Office Supervisor at The River Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Hello there, and thank you for your review on The River Inn! I'm glad to hear that we made you feel right at home during your stay. We get a lot of compliments on our comfortable beds, we've even had guests call us after they've checked out to ask what kind of mattresses we use so they can purchase one themselves! Also, thanks for your review on our in-house restaurant, Dish + Drinks. The staff there are great, and the food is highly rated! We get a mixed crowd of local neighborhood residents, theater goers, and hotel guests, so you're able to meet new people at every meal. I am so glad that you enjoyed your time with us, please come back again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    329
    54
    28
    15
See reviews for
287
303
53
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Severna Park, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the River Inn last Thursday for a quick get-away. The room we stayed in was quite lovely, with a little sitting area and small kitchen. The room was clean, and the staff were very accomodating and helpful. We had a problem with the coffee grinder in our room, and it took the staff less than 5 minutes to deliver another one to us. Excellent customer service!

We have stayed here a few other times. The hotel is in a great location, very close to the Foggy Bottom metro. I highly recomment The River Inn!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrittanyFOS, Front Office Supervisor at The River Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Greetings! Thank you very much for staying at The River Inn, and for giving us such a nice review! I love the rooms here, they are all very spacious and cozy. Thanks for the compliments on our staff as well, we love getting feedback and ensuring that our guests are enjoying their stay. I'm glad that you liked our customer service! Thanks for coming on back to us so many times, we are looking forward to your next visit! Take care, and thank you for choosing The River Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Staffs
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This Hotel is in an excellent positon, we have been to Washington DC on many occasions, but must admit this is the best Hotel we have stayed in. The rooms are very large with a sitting area table and chairs and also a small very equiped kitchen, although we didn't use it it would be adequate to cook in if you wanted too. The staff were very accomodating and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Thsi is a place I would most certainly go back too without hesitation.

Room Tip: I would say any room would be a good room. the hotel is on a leafy road with very little traffic noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrittanyFOS, Front Office Supervisor at The River Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Hello, and thank you for your comments on The River Inn! We really appreciate your kind words about our hotel. Like you, I love the size of our suites, it's like having your own apartment in DC! The kitchens are great if you want to cook during your stay (it can save you money by not going out to eat as much!). Our location is a large draw as well, we are in a quiet historic district that appeals to many of our guests. Plus, we are walking distance to so many of DC's sights! Also, thank you for your compliments to our staff, I'll be sure to pass it on. Thanks again for your review, we hope to see you again sometime at The River Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Just stayed a week for work, and was pleasantly surprised. Yes, the hotel is old. It was quite warm out and the heat was on when we arrived, see previous review, but within the first day they had gone back to ac. No oven or dishwasher, but we weren't planning to bake anything anyway, and they provide dish soap. Also any breakfast dishes we left were washed by housekeeping, which seems over and above. All in all, I would stay here again. The staff does the best they can considering the age of the building and the location can not be beat. Quick walk to the metro and you can get anywhere, walk the other direction and you find shops galore. Try Baked and Wired cupcakes while you're in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrittanyFOS, Front Office Supervisor at The River Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Greetings, and thanks for your recent stay at The River Inn! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your week with us. Thank you very much for your understanding with our heating and a/c system, I know our weather in DC has been so volatile the past couple of months, it makes it difficult to determine when to switch over for the season. Thanks as well for your comments about our housekeeping staff, they work very hard to ensure your room is in great shape! Also, guests love the location of the hotel, since it is so close to the main sights of DC as well as local favorites. Baked and Wired is a great place, I'm glad you got to try it during your stay. We look forward to a future visit from you at The River Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baddeck, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I was very happy with my stay at this hotel until I returned home to find I had left several articles of clothing in the dresser drawer. I called to ask if the hotel had a lost and found and was told yes. The manager told me the housekeeper reported nothing was left in the room. Not good enoug and not very helpful. Accountability is lacking. I regret leaving a tip for the housekeeping staff. Disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrittanyFOS, Front Office Supervisor at The River Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Greetings, and thank you for your review on The River Inn! I am glad to hear that you did enjoy your stay at the hotel. I am sorry that you had an unpleasant experience with leaving items at the hotel, and that there was a miscommunication about our lost and found. From my understanding, this was resolved shortly after when your items were found. Our staff confirmed directly with you the best address to send them to, and your package was sent out yesterday. I hope that this one instance does not deter you from coming back to us at some point! Please give us a call the next time you consider visiting DC. Thanks again for your feedback, and we look forward to hearing from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I just completed my third stay at The River Inn. One of the best things about this hotel is it’s location. It’s in a quieter part of DC, and, from the hotel, it’s a short walk to a bank, Trader Joe’s, Whole Foods, the Foggy Bottom metro stop, and a Fedex/Kinko’s; a drug store, a post office, and Georgetown are slightly longer strolls. The hotel is not slickly modern, but a little more old-fashioned, and it is not part of a “cookie cutter” chain. Furnishings are comfortable, and the suites are, as advertised, larger than most hotel rooms in DC, especially the bigger Potomac Suites. I find the suites to be intelligently laid out, as well. The staff is invariably polite and tries to be helpful.

However, there are drawbacks to the hotel’s old-fashioned nature, and these were not evident during my first two stays, both of which were in mid-summer. Because the building is quite old, the heat and air conditioning are not available simultaneously; it must be one or the other. During summer or winter, that may not be an issue, but in spring or autumn, weather in DC can be quite variable. During my most recent stay, it was quite warm until a powerful cold front came through the area. Temperatures dropped into the 40’s at night, yet heat was not an option. In the United States, in 2012, in what is supposed to be a nice hotel, I do not regard this as acceptable; heat or air conditioning should be available whenever a guest wishes.

In addition, the day I arrived (October 4th), one of the two elevators in the building was out of service, and it remained so throughout my stay. The hotel is in the process of “modernizing” the elevator. That’s fine, except that the process is expected to take many weeks (I was told it will take around three months), particularly as the old elevator has to be removed piece by piece (again, this is an old elevator in an old building). So you have exactly one functioning elevator to serve an eight-story hotel with over one hundred guest rooms. As you can imagine, this sometimes leads to lengthy waits for the elevator. Why aren’t prospective guests advised about this on the hotel’s website? You can, of course, take the stairs to your room, but after a long day of sightseeing on my feet, climbing multiple flights of stairs to my room (I was on the top floor) is not something I want to do. The staff notes that they’ll try to accommodate guests on lower floors when it’s possible, but it isn’t always possible; this hotel is busy year-round.

Also, the hotel’s website notes that the Corporate Suites include a “full kitchen”. This is not true, or at least it wasn’t in the Corporate Suite in which I stayed. Where I come from, a full kitchen includes an oven and a dishwasher; my Corporate Suite had neither. This wasn’t a big deal, but it would be nice to be told the truth about a room you’re booking.

One final thing: recognize that the staff’s hands are tied regarding these issues. The River Inn’s parent company, Modus Hotels, naturally has the final say in everything pertaining to this hotel. The River Inn’s employees spend a lot of time listening to complaints (and apologizing to guests) for matters that Modus should be addressing.

Would I stay here again? At this point, I really don’t know.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrittanyFOS, Front Office Supervisor at The River Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Hello there, and thank you for your review on The River Inn. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel's location, suites, and staff. Just like you, I love the layout of the suites. This building used to be an apartment complex, so you can really envision yourself living here! I am sorry that our heat and a/c system was an inconvenience to you during your stay. As you stated, at this time of year our weather in DC can vary greatly, which makes it difficult for deciding when to switch over to heat permanently. Also, you are correct in the fact that we are in the process of modernizing our elevators. This does create a small hiccup with our day-to-day operations, but the end result will be two brand new (and faster!) elevators, which our staff and guests are very excited about. As another part of this process, we will be upgrading our suites very soon. These upgrades will include new furnishings and carpeting. We really do appreciate your feedback; we would love for you to give us another chance and to see our new elevators and suites! Thanks again for your comments on The River Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella Vista
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Each year we take one of our grandchildren on a special "them only" vacation! This year Lucy chose Washington, DC and the Amelia Earhart presentation!
So first we need a great place to stay? With Trip Advisor as our trusted guide we chose the River Inn, Wash.DC in the Foggy Bottoms area.
Booking was easy and from there it just got better.
Communicating via email and text we had the best of "early" service! Everything from where to go, what to do, etc.., They did not need to do this, but they did! Michael Truesdelle Jr. has been our main contact and people service skills are a "10!"
We are so happy to be spending our Thanksgiving week in D.C.
Now we just need the right place to eat Turkey Dinner?
Till the final report, Enjoy!
rick

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrittanyFOS, Front Office Supervisor at The River Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Hi, and thanks for your kind words about The River Inn! I am very glad to hear that we were a part of the great DC experience you and your family had. If you're speaking about the Amelia Earhart exhibit at the National Portrait Gallery, I've heard great things about it, so I'm sure you all enjoyed it! Thanks for your compliments to our staff, we work very hard to ensure that our guests enjoy themselves during their time with us. Thanks for booking with us again for Thanksgiving! We are looking forward to your next visit, and we'll be sure to have some Turkey Dinner restaurant suggestions waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Inn

Address: 924 25th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The River Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The River Hotel Washington Dc
River Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.