We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 star hotel with 5 star service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The River Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The River Inn to your Saves list
The River Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   924 25th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Now for 10% Off
Ranked #12 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“3 star hotel with 5 star service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We are currently staying in this hotel and we are very pleased with our choice! The hotel is in the perfect location, within walking distance of Foggy Bottom metro station, the White House and Georgetown. All can be reached in under 15 minutes and the hotel is on a quite, residential street. The front desk staff are really friendly, nothing is too much trouble. All of them genuinely wanted to chat to you and were ready to help. The rooms were spacious and very comfortable. They room decor is fine, some elements have recently been added like flat screen TVs and 'rain' showers. Continuing to improve the decor of the rooms will definitely raise the standards. The kitchen area is a bonus, even though we only used it to make coffee! Highly recommended - superb value for money!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrittanyFOS, Front Office Supervisor at The River Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Hello there, and thanks for your review on The River Inn! I am very glad to hear that you are enjoying your stay so far. The location is perfect, with so much to see and do within walking distance. The Foggy Bottom neighborhood is a historic district, and is very quiet! Thanks for your nice compliments on our front desk staff, we pride ourselves on having energetic agents who will do anything they can to help our guests. I'm glad you liked the suites as well, I know when my mother stayed here she loved being able to make her own coffee, including grinding the beans! Just to let you know, we will be undergoing renovations in our suites later this fall, so you will have to come back and see all the changes! Thanks again for your stay at The River Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    360
    65
    29
    16
See reviews for
325
334
58
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Wonderful evening and accomodations. Centrally located within walking distance to many attractions or short taxi ride. Staff extremely accomodating. Suites are well appointed. Nice bar and restaurant on site.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrittanyFOS, Front Office Supervisor at The River Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Hello there, and thank you for your nice comments on The River Inn! Our central location is a great draw for our guest, since we are close to so many attractions! If walking isn't ideal, there are always taxis we can call and also the Metro within 2.5 blocks of the hotel. Thank you for the great comments on our staff and in-house restaurant Dish + Drinks. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at The River Inn, and we hope to see you again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

My mom traveled to DC to visit me and she stayed at the river inn for a week.
The rooms are suites with seating area, small kitchen, desk and large bathroom.
The staff is very friendly and there is a small restaurant and bar on the premise.
Georgetown is a short walk away and foggy bottom metro is around the corner.
The biggest advantage is that this hotel is in a very quiet street: no sirens from the ambulance going to GW hospital!!
Next time I have guest, that's where they'll be staying!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrittanyFOS, Front Office Supervisor at The River Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Greetings, and thank you for your recent stay at The River Inn! I am so glad to hear that your mom enjoyed her visit, and that our hotel had a part in it. The rooms are a great size, whether it's one person visiting or a family. I agree with you that our staff is very friendly, and I hope you and your mom had the opportunity to try our in-house restaurant, Dish + Drinks! If not, I'm sure you enjoyed the many restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Also, as you stated, we are indeed on a very quiet street, it feels so far away from the city's hustle and bustle when in fact we are downtown! Thank you for your nice comments, hopefully we'll meet more of your family and friends on future visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Very nice hotel on a quiet street. Close to Foggy Bottom metro station, we used the metro all the time, easy, safe and quick to go to all the fantastic museums and everything you want to see in Washington D.C. Short walk to Georgetown. Several nice restaurants close to the hotel. Friendly and helpful staff. We had a Potomac suite for 3 adults and it didn’t feel cramped at all. Very comfortable beds. Nice kitchen in suite and with the great Whole Foods at Foggy Bottom you can easily bring food back to your suite after a long day visiting. The full kitchen makes it easy to prepare breakfast which saves a lot. Housekeeping did a good job, cleaning and fully restocking the bathroom every day. The area around the hotel felt safe at all times. The furniture in room is kind of worn but everything is clean. I would highly recommend this hotel for the price and quality.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrittanyFOS, Front Office Supervisor at The River Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Hi, and thank you so much for your review! The location of The River Inn is very appealing to our guests. It is walking distance to a lot of the sites of DC, as well as public transport to go even further. I'm glad you enjoyed your Potomac Suite, those are very nice and large rooms! The kitchens are very nice to have as well, especially with two grocery stores nearby. Thank you also for your compliments on our housekeeping staff, we will definitely be passing your comments on to them. Thanks again for your recent visit, and we hope to see you on your next visit to DC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We bought it with discount coupon stating that it is a 4 star hotel. However it doesn't feel like a 4 star due to the run down feel of the building and decor. However, it was still a comfortable stay. Our room was clean. Big room. Comfortable bed. Location is good, only a couple of turns to the metro.
The bike hire was complimentary, but they sure were basic bikes, not very comfortable to ride at all. Breakfast was... Sufficient. It was free after all. I, however, would not pay for that breakfast.
Service was good. Front desk very friendly.
Feel indifferent about the hotel. Wasn't fantastic for me to come again, but definitely nothing deterring me from going back again either.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrittanyFOS, Front Office Supervisor at The River Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Greetings! Thank you for your recent visit to The River Inn. I am glad to hear that you had a very comfortable stay with us! Our guests always have the nicest things to say about our beds, and they have even asked what kind of mattresses we use so they can get one themselves! Location wise, we are in the perfect spot for walking to the sites or for using the Metro system. I'm also happy that you were able to use our complimentary bike service, DC is a very bike friendly city and it is one of the best ways to view the sites! My apologies that you felt our decor was not up to par. However, later this fall we will be undergoing renovations, so I hope with that, along with our great service and friendly staff, you will be tempted to visit us again sometime! Thank you again for your review on The River Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is a very good hotel, just a few minutes walk to the White house and the National mall.
There are good restaurants and bars in the neighborhood. The room was big, they have free wifi. the only drawback was that there was no breakfast included in the room price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrittanyFOS, Front Office Supervisor at The River Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Hello there, and thank you for your kind words about The River Inn! We are in the perfect location for visitors to DC. Our guests love the short walk to the White House, the National Mall, and the local retaurants and nightlife that Foggy Bottom and Georgetown provide! Our suites are a great size as well, especially for visiting families and business travellers that need the space for work. You are correct in that breakfast is an additional charge, however for your next stay you are more than welcome to call our reservations department directly to have your breakfast included with the room rate. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The hotel is situated in a largely residential neighborhood, close to transportation and a few restaurants. Trader Joe's is a short walk, and several small bar//grills close by. Spacious clean room with full kitchen. Restaurant was good, but not overly so...a little pricey for what it was. 6 southwest of hotel is the wharf, which features some great seafood and atmosphere along the river. Georgetown shops are a short distance from this area.You will find the room decor slightly dated, but they are starting renovations, I've heard, this fall....but very clean and comfortable.
Location is fantastic to see the sites or get onto a Metro or Hop-On, Hop-Off bus.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front are on a colonial looking walk-up type street. Some minor noise from GW Hospital...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrittanyFOS, Front Office Supervisor at The River Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for your great review on The River Inn! We are known for our great location in the Foggy Bottom historic district, as well as the proximity to local restaurants and attractions. I am glad that you got to explore the shops of Georgetown and the waterfront. We are also very close to the Metro system, as well as stops for the hop on hop off bus tours. You are correct in that we will be going through renovations later this fall, so I hope you come back soon to see our new suites! Thanks again, and we look forward to seeing you return to The River Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Inn

Address: 924 25th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The River Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Despegar.com so you can book your The River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The River Hotel Washington Dc
River Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.