We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a value at this price point” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   999 Ninth St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #59 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Syracuse, ny
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“not a value at this price point”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed 2 nites for a convention in May 2015. This is a $300+ / room place, so you expect certain things at this price point.
First the good: the lobby is great, the staff very welcoming, and our room itself was clean and modern. No problems here.
But.
But at this price point, I expect free wifi in the room, not a surcharge of $12-15/day for internet access. Guys, it's not 1996 anymore. Internet is infrastructure: if you don't charge extra for electricity or water and you cater to biz / convention clientele, free internet is assumed. Big shock.

Also, we tried breakfast at the resto in the lobby: how about $21 for 2 eggs, bacon, hash brown, and toast? My wife had the eggs benedict and couldn't finish one, it was so poorly prepared. Big minus here. We all get that hotel restos are selling convenience but we really felt ripped off.

With so many other hotels a block away, I would stay at any of the others on my next visit.

Dear managers: this is your wakeup call. Get to work.

Room Tip: go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    285
    92
    19
    17
See reviews for
109
86
27
380
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I had a very brief stay at the Renaissance Washington DC this past week and I was very notably underwhelmed. The service across the board - from the day and night front desk staff to the fitness center staffer - was completely without passion or interest in providing helpful service. It was just a hotel with rooms. No one really seemed to care about being helpful or friendly. It strikes me as sad, since the location was perfect for the AANS meeting, and the rooms were perfectly functional.

Room Tip: Consider choosing a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo County, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Location is very good for the Convention Center. Service is very good. Quite adequate electrical plugs for laptops, cell phones etc. WiFi should be included at these room rates! Would not recommend to a family with children for touring DC. Food and restaurant are typical for a large hotel in a metropolitan area.

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I recently stayed 4 nights at this hotel. If you're looking for a nice hotel close to public transportation and the DC attractions, this is it! The Chinatown/Gallery Place metro stop is about two blocks. This station has the red, green and yellow lines.

My room was very spacious with a sofa to relax on, but the bathroom was kinda small. As a Gold Marriott Rewards member, I had access to the concierge lounge. I loved the free "adult" beverages and snacks each evening. The only downer was the lounge not being open on Friday and Saturday evenings. There are several dining options at this hotel. Also, there are many other great options within walking distance. I heard the fitness center is very nice but didn't get to experience it for myself. I got my exercise by sightseeing and visiting the various museums. :-)

When I return to DC, I will be booking this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I was in DC to attend a congress and this hotel was ideally located, just across the street from the conference centre. The hotel itself is functional with clean rooms and offers a decent breakfast. The fitness centre was excellent, spacious and well equipped and I ended up using it almost daily. The hotel is also close to a number of good restaurants, the subway and Chinatown. On the negative side, despite the stiff $400 daily room cost, I still had to pay separately for the wifi which was ridiculous. Would recommend mainly for the proximity to the conference centre.

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon L, General Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Ramdas P,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I certainly agree that our hotel is a perfect location to the convention center and all the great sites of DC - we are in the heart of CityCenterDC where new retail and restaurants open weekly!

I appreciate your feedback about the separate cost of wifi - may I suggest you join Marriott Rewards? There is no charge to join and all Marriott Reward members qualify to receive free internet in guest rooms. Of course, anyone is welcome to use our free wifi in our amazing lobby where you can work, meet and play!

We look forward to your return to our hotel the next time your travels return you to our Nation's Capital!

Sincerely,

Sharon Lockwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Interesting lobby with plenty of nooks and crannies, even a library near the lobby bar with books for the guests to read during their stay. Nichole, the concierge, or "Navigator" as Renaissance terms them, was great and offered plenty of dining and entertainment options for me and my colleague, Ian the bellman was very gracious and knowledgeable about the area, and Rosemary at the front desk was amazing and explained the benefits of signing up for Marriott Rewards, the least of which is the free wifi for members, which i recommend any traveler going to a Marriott property to look into. She was able to give me a great room with a lovely view, and remembered my name throughout the stay which was a great personal touch. Also appreciated was the new renaissance discovery magazine left in my room, it was such a great branding material and really was a great, high-quality touch that fits perfectly with the theme of discovery that the Renaissance brand preaches. Rooms were nice and spacious, the only amenity that was lacking seemed to be some kind of bath gel or wash, which was no big deal, just was a small touch that would have been appreciated since i had a bath tub and for the first time in my life was compelled to take a bath. This issue was easily remedied when i called downstairs to the operator, Gwen who graciously had plenty of gel, soap, and lotion. Operators were lovely, I spoke to a younger woman Veronica, the next morning about extending my check out for another 45 minutes as I had a conference call, and she graciously accepted my request and actually gave me a full hour to check out late. Room service was standard fare, expensive and generic, but the lovely lady (for the life of me I cannot remember her name, i believe it was Mary) that took my order was more than happy to give me advice on her favorite options, and was patient even though I probably dissected the menu while on the phone with her for close to two minutes. The only complaint that I had about the hotel was the elevators, they are scratched and scraped, and don't provide an accurate representation of the great hotel that they service. I'll definitely be back next time I find myself in downtown DC.

Room Tip: low floors facing the street will probably be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twinsburg, Ohio
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

By now I should be exhausted staying in hotels --- 9 of my last 15 nigths have been in 3 different DC hotels. But my two night stay at the (downtown) Renaissance was outstanding. The lobby is sectioned off into different rooms with different types of seating and style -- and not that noisy despite being very busy. The consierge lounge was similarily designed -- sectioned off and with different types of seating -- and the best evening buffet I have had, possibly ever. (The crab cakes were huge, the size you would pay $25 for two at a fish house). The room was very nice. My only "complaint" was that my view was of "nothing" --- looking into a central core of rooms looking back at me. It did not matter ---- when I was in my room all I needed to do was work and sleep. I had a meal at the lobby bar the week before (when I was staying at the Marriott a few blocks away) and it was excellent. This was a very enjoyable stay. No complaints and an excellent property. I selected "boutique" and "charming" as a descriptor below based on the lobby and concierge lounge, the rooms were rather standard Renaissance and not boutique.

Room Tip: If a view is important, ask for an outside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Address: 999 Ninth St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#52 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 807
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the culture of DC while experiencing true sophistication at Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel. When you arrive at our hotel, you will feel as if you have found a hidden gem amongst everything that makes DC exciting. Award winning restaurants, boutique shopping, CityCenterDC, Verizon Center, Spy Museum, Chinatown, National Portrait Gallery and the world-famous National Mall are all steps from our hotel but will feel worlds away once you experience everything we have to offer. Our newly renovated hotel offers five dining options, including a Starbucks Cafe, a vibrant lounge, an onsite day spa and Vida fitness center. Uncover the best of DC with Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel, a luxury hotel in downtown DC that strikes the perfect balance of style and substance. Our hotel will leave you wondering how you can be so close to the Washington DC Convention Center, CityCenterDC, and Penn Quarter yet feel as if you've found your next great escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Washington Dc
Renaissance Washington Dc Hotel
Washington Dc Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.