We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome visit!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   999 Ninth St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15% off
Ranked #57 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Awesome visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My family and I stayed two nights at the Renaissance. The hotel was beautiful and right in the midst f everything you could possibly want to do. We walked to the White House, Lincoln Memorial, National Mall, and the Martin Luther King exhibit. The hotel was within walking distance f the Ford's Theater as well as China Town. The parking across the street was much more reasonable than the valet parking that will probably still pop up on your receipt even if you don't use it. (check your bill and account before leaving!!) Check in and check out was quick. They even have a computer for you to print your boarding passes in the lobby. There's also a Starbucks.
The beds were extremely comfortable and the shower head was amazing! The room stayed stocked with plenty of towels and wash cloths. We plan on returning to DC before the year is out and we will definitely be staying at the Renaissance again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    439
    175
    41
    28
See reviews for
181
163
79
506
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We were in DC for one night, and tried to cram as much sight seeing as we could into our short stay. The Renaissance was in a great location, 15-20 minute walk from the White House and monuments, and 5-10 minutes from several restaurants. I'm not sure if we were drop dead tried, or if the beds were extraordinarily comfortable - but I had one of the best nights sleep I've had in a while :) If we ever make it back to DC (I hope we do) we'll definitely check out this hotel again.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Have stayed in Marriott's Renaissance hotels before, including the Mayflower.. where they once turned the water off all night. I guess I should have learned my lesson.
Pros - Rooms are well equipped with up to date functioning, sleekly styled appointments and are fairly clean. Very comfortable bed.
Cons - Did not honor our request for a high floor and were told concierge floor services not available on weekends - breakfast voucher instead. Room was close to the building next door so it was dark, it overlooked an alley where, sadly, many homeless men spent their night on benches. Tried to get food at 10 pm and were rudely handed a menu in the Sports Bar (the only place open on a Sat. night at 10) with 4 items on it! This is supposed to be a trendy hotel, how could there not be more food offered on a Sat night?!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon L, General Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Merlin V,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent experience at our hotel.

I certainly understand your frustration at the limited menu offered in our hotel the evening you were here. I have discussed it with our Director of Restaurants and he and our culinary team are working on creating a more inventive fun variety of menu items to welcome our late night guests. I thank you for your feedback - it inspired our team to complete this project sooner than later!

I understand your concern that our club lounge is not open on the weekends; we do value our elite guests and offer them a full breakfast for two in our 15 Squares restaurant which offers omelets and waffles as well as the normal fare in our club lounge.

I do hope that you try Renaissance again (as well as our hotel) as we value our discoverer's feedback which allows us to improve our service.

Sincerely,

Sharon Lockwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Good accommodations, attentive personnel, decent location...makes for a good business hotel. It was a short distance from some decent eateries but also the restaurant inside was good too. Better if you don't have a car...hassle navigating through DC to get there but easy access to the freeway when leaving. On that note, the valet was efficient.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walden, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my husband and two kids as our last road trip stop and boy was I impressed. The location was right in the heart of everything! When we entered the hotel it was simply beautiful and classy. I checked in through my mobile phone so all I needed to do was pick up my keys. I even checked out from my mobile phone which was convenient! The room was facing the city so we had a great view. It was clean and comfortable and I was really impressed. The bathroom was modern and I loved loved the shower head! Breakfast was amazing! Everything was fresh and tasty! Thankfully our rate included breakfast and valet because by themselves breakfast is 50.00 for two adults with children 12 and under free and valet would have been 42.00 per day! Always look for a bundle because it's cheaper that way! There's a Starbucks in the lobby for the coffee lovers and a nice bar as well. We ordered dinner in our room which was pricey but was presented nicely and tasted great! Overall I would stay here again! I will say that if you plan to sleep in put the do not disturb sign outside of your door! Room service knocked on our door at 9am! lol

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

I stayed at the Renaissance Hotel last week for a conference and the room and hotel were great. However, when I got home and unpacked I realized that I left a bag of my jewelry in the hotel room safe. What an idiot! It had been about 3 days since I checked out so I called the hotel and they connected me to Loss Prevention. I spoke to a very nice man, who put me on hold for a bit, and came back to tell me they found it and would ship it back to me. It arrived within days. I would have been heartbroken to have lost the jewelry- it included two pairs of Tiffany earrings and some pieces my husband had bought for me.

I feel like this could have gone a couple of different directions with someone telling me the stuff was gone or just giving me the run around but instead the gentleman there was helpful, honest and courteous. Unfortunately you don't get this kind of customer service everywhere these days and it is so appreciated!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Hubby had a work trip, so me and the two kids tagged along. The pros: Great location, close to a lot of good restaurants, has a Starbucks INSIDE (which is great for your early morning java fix), can print boarding passes in the lobby, hotel staff was very pleasant and accommodating, and our room was always well cleaned. The cons: The size of the room (traveling with two small kids), late checkout was only until 1pm, cost to self-park was $35/day (more than it cost us to park at our airport for the 5 days we were gone!), we were on the 9th floor, but could hear all of the street traffic. Overall, it was a nice stay, but if we went back, it would be without the kids.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Address: 999 Ninth St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#44 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#52 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 807
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, our hotel is ideal for experiencing all the history and culture of the nation's capital. Our hotel is in the unique Penn Quarter district, between Capitol Hill and the White House, putting travelers just a few blocks from the Verizon Center, the Spy Museum, Chinatown, National Portrait Gallery and the world-famous National Mall monuments. Surrounded by boutique shopping and eclectic dining, you'll discover something new around every corner.Experience profound comfort in our luxury hotel from plush, well-dressed beds and spacious desks to high-speed Internet throughout. Our recently renovated guest rooms and lobby offers five dining options including, room service,Starbucks, Mixx Bar, 15 Squares Restaurant and Presidents Sports Bar. Vida Fitness Center and Aura Spa is open from 5am - 10pm and is complimentary to guests and includes a Sauna, Steam and one person lap pool. Don't forget to check in with our Navigator for the inside scoop on events in the city during your stay. Discover something new while you are here and the best of DC when staying with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Washington Dc
Renaissance Washington Dc Hotel
Washington Dc Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.