We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   999 Ninth St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #56 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Montague
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Comfortable and good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for the location. It was excellent for walking to many areas of business in DC. Metro was nearby. The bed was very comfortable, the room rather plain. I don't think that any real views are possible in this location, but i could be wrong. I had a view of a parking lot. The hotel was quite busy, with lots of guests coming and going at all times. The staff were very helpful and gracious. The rooms were extremely clean and housekeeping paid attention to details. Overall, the level of service and the location were great, the actual bed was excellent and the ambience was okay. I will likely return because of the proximity to my work. I will be working on upgrades, but it remains to be seen how much that will improve the plain furnishings and the lack of any view.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    237
    69
    14
    14
See reviews for
90
72
22
311
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I stay in this hotel when working with Washington DC clients - and it is always a good experience. My rooms have been spacious and clean and, almost always, upgraded since I am a Platinum Marriott member. Unlike others, I had no issues at all with the internet - it worked perfectly. I do think it would be helpful, however, if there were additional power plugs - especially next to the beds. The front desk staff is helpful, friendly, and accommodating, as is the concierge. Even the security guard was friendly and helpful!

The concierge lounge is nice, large, has ample seating, and the food selections are quite good. The woman who runs the concierge lounge, in the evenings, is outstanding - her customer skills and desire to be helpful are appreciated. If you will be using the concierge lounge, it is helpful to ask for a room in that tower.

The hotel location is convenient - to the Capitol, museums, Chinatown, and other attractions - all are easily within walking distance.

I do recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: If using the concierge lounge, ask for a room in that tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I was very pleased with our 6 day stay at the Renaissance. The staff was quite accommodating. We flew in on a red eye flight which brought us into town quite early and the hotel allowed us into our room by 9:00 am!! We were so appreciative! We also enjoyed take out appetizers from the lounge and the staff packed it up with ease. Thank you Renaissance Hotel for being an excellent host to our NSA conference.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, NC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a week over the July 4th holiday because the hotel held a conference we were attending during the last half of our stay. Almost all staff members we encountered were very friendly. They accommodated my request for a room away from the street, and it was very quiet on the 12th floor. The gentleman who checked us in called about 15 minutes later to make sure everything was okay in our room. The navigator (concierge) who works during the day was very helpful with making dinner reservations and even printing out a map of how to walk there. The navigator who works in the evening was not as friendly and very curt in answering a simple question we had. The staff at the sports bar, snack market, and breakfast place were all extremely friendly. The food we ate was the best hotel food experience we've ever had. The nachos, mashed potatoes, and crab cake are especially delicious.

The room was very clean and large. I'm a bigger person who usually cannot fit into hotel chairs, but I was able to comfortably sit in both the reclining chair with the ottoman and the office chair. The team who redesigned the rooms had useful touches like the small reading lights in the headboard of the bed, the safe in a drawer by the bed, and the sliding door to save room in the bath area. I prefer a softer bed and thought the bed was too firm. However, my husband slept great and had no complaints about the bed. The art was also great, like the wallpaper in the bathroom with the pictures of historical DC. We usually didn't have to wait more than a few minutes for an elevator even with the hotel filling up as the week went on. The lobby was large (and loud) but had several smaller lounge-type spaces around the perimeter to encourage people to hang out and talk.

The hotel is right across from the Carnegie Library and just a few blocks from the Chinatown metro stop. There are all kinds of restaurants within a few blocks from fast food like Quiznos and Panera to upscale places like Del Campo. The Old Town Trolley also has a shuttle that comes right to the hotel for customers. The meeting spaces for our conference on the lowest floor were extremely cold. I think the air conditioning was probably refreshing when coming from outside in July, but when you are sitting in it for hours during workshops and meetings it was too cold.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarkwgriswold
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My wife and I spent four days at this hotel for our son's wedding.

The hotel is very convenient to Chinatown and the Verizon Center area.

The rooms are very nice, with a large television and newer furniture. Very good housekeeping staff, and the staff overall was very friendly and helpful. We had what sounded to be a domestic situation in a nearby room one night and security responded quickly and handled the situation in a most professional manner.

The only downside was a brunch for the guests held the last morning we were there in 15 Squares Restaurant. We repeatedly had to look for employees for assistance throughout the morning, when they should have been standing by for the service fee charged.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I spent five nights at the Renaissance Washington DC Hotel, and would be happy to stay again. The location is great, not just for things around the hotel but for anywhere accessible by the Metro system (there are two stations within a very short walk). My room was comfortable and surprisingly quiet for a downtown hotel (not much you can do about the ubiquitous DC sirens, but other than that it was quiet). The staff were unfailingly friendly and helpful, and I mean all of them--front desk, concierge, restaurant staff, housekeepers.

There were only two things that were a bit annoying. One was the internet service. It worked (I never had a problem getting connected and staying connected), but it was slow. Perhaps if I had upgraded to the more expensive service it would have been better. The second thing was the air conditioning. Again, it worked fine in getting the room to the desired temperature, but then it had a tendency to shut off. Not just the fan and cooling mechanism stopping, like you would expect with any thermostat-controlled system. I mean, it shut right off. Power off. At first I thought this was just an energy-saving device, but when the room started to heat up again and the system didn't go on again, I had to physically turn it back on to get the room to cool again. Fine during times when I was working there during the day, but not so fine at night. Maybe I'm just picky because I like to work in a cool room and sleep in a cold one, but it did get annoying.

Despite these relatively minor complaints, however, I was very happy with my stay, and would probably choose this hotel again for its location, comfort, and the great attitude of the staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Connecticut
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed at the Renaissance Washington DC Hotel for two nights in late June. Our niece was being married in a church nearby with the reception across the street from the hotel at the Carneige Library. The hotel was centrally located for what we needed within the city. We walked to the White House one evening and visited the National Portrait Gallery nearby too. The beds were a bit soft for my taste and the pillows were too. The bathroom door is a sliding one that doesn't close all the way (to make the bathroom clearly sealed off from the bedroom area). The sink was also in the bathroom rather than outside the toilet/shower area, allowing only one person to get ready at a time which was an issue when preparing for a wedding. The room doors also slammed if you didn't hold onto them - this was an issue in the mornings and late at night when guests in other rooms let their doors go. The crab soup via room service was awesome! The staff was also very professional and helpful. The lobby was well laid-out with many small gathering areas and a bar where the wedding's welcome reception for family was held.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Address: 999 Ninth St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#44 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 807
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the culture of DC while experiencing true sophistication at Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel. When you arrive at our hotel, you will feel as if you have found a hidden gem amongst everything that makes DC exciting. Award winning restaurants, boutique shopping, CityCenterDC, Verizon Center, Spy Museum, Chinatown, National Portrait Gallery and the world-famous National Mall are all steps from our hotel but will feel worlds away once you experience everything we have to offer. Our newly renovated hotel offers five dining options, including a Starbucks Cafe, a vibrant lounge, an onsite day spa and Vida fitness center. Uncover the best of DC with Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel, a luxury hotel in downtown DC that strikes the perfect balance of style and substance. Our hotel will leave you wondering how you can be so close to the Washington DC Convention Center, CityCenterDC, and Penn Quarter yet feel as if you've found your next great escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Washington Dc
Renaissance Washington Dc Hotel
Washington Dc Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.