We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service First” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   999 Ninth St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15% off
Ranked #59 of 131 Hotels in Washington DC
Fenton, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Service First”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

I can't say enough about the front desk service I received from Roman, who got me into my room early and phoned later to make sure I was comfortably settled. Room service was very prompt (although expensive) and food was adequate. The facility was somewhat noisy on my first night (Sunday) but subsequently quieted down. Comfy beds and towels. I would book again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    463
    178
    43
    30
See reviews for
185
170
81
543
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Very convenient, right by the convention area of downtown Dc, it was about 5-6 blocks to the national mall! rooms were clean, service was good and a great value when we stayed. I assume that this place would be pricey during busy times.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We recently traveled to DC over the Easter weekend during spring break. There were nine of us altogether. We had a King suite with an adjoining double room and another room for the three teens traveling with us. The rooms were absolutely perfect which is really just expected from Marriott Properties, but having recently had a bad experience with another hotel chain I have decided never to take the Marriott way of housekeeping for granted again!
The hotel lobby was very cool and had that Renaissance brand feel to it. The bar had a great lighting system and the theme carried throughout the decor in the lobby. Lots of places to sit and chat and have a drink, feel intimate and yet still part of the scene. Once when we came in from the day of touring, there was a woman singing softy from one of the library alcoves....really nice touch.
I had a chance to meet the GM of the hotel. She was very nice indeed and took time to ask how our stay was going, if our rooms were to our liking and even gave us a few suggestions on where we could go to eat.
The hotel is very centrally located. We walked to everything but the National Zoo.
Dining was very convenient. One block away is Chinatown, but don't let the name fool you. There is everything there from Irish Pubs, to Italian, American Bistro, and yes even a Chinese restaurant or two.
Great trip, great hotel.

Room Tip: They are all good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

My wife and I, being Angel Baseball fans, travel to an away city once a year to watch them play out of town. This year we chose DC as the Angels had not played at Nationals Park before. Having stayed at the Renaissance five years ago when our daughter graduated from the University of Maryland, we thought we would give it another go, when there was not snow all over the ground!

We checked in late Monday night after a delayed flight from LA, but were warmly greeted and the check-in process was super smooth and the staff very friendly. The next morning we were looking for directions and spoke to Yussef and he provided clear directions to where we wanted to go and the easiest way to get there. The Renaissance location is very central to the downtown DC/Chinatown/Gallery area and with the Metro only a couple of blocks away, which makes the rest of the city easily accessed.

The room was a Junior Suite and had all the amenities we needed and although close to the lobby (being on the 2nd floor) it was incredibly quiet. The entire staff was incredibly friendly and helpful with any questions or wants. A big shout out to David the doorman who always greeted us with a smile and his humor!

We would definitely stay at the Renaissance in the future. And did I mention we got to witness Angels 1st Baseman, Albert Pujol's hit his #499 & #500 homerun of his career?.........priceless!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We had a big group of people staying at this hotel for a conference. Not only was the hotel beautiful and clean the staff was very helpful and friendly and really a pleasure to work with. ERICA IN PARTICULAR!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

…pretty much says it all. This is a terrific location for the convention center. The staff are courteous and helpful. Food services for meetings are very good; room service (at least breakfast) average/fair. Rooms are a little dreary and sad; DO NOT TAKE YOUR WIFE FOR ROMANTIC GETAWAY! I had to change rooms twice because of problems (and staff were lovely about this).

Room Tip: Look it over before the luggage porter leaves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon L, General Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Richard C,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent experience at our hotel. I appreciate your feedback about our staff and services and our convenient location to the Washington, DC Convention Center.

I certainly understand your concerns that our hotel was not what you expected for your romantic getaway. I am concerned that you thought our hotel was dated as our lobby and guest rooms were recently renovated and have modern touches. I apologize that you had to move rooms twice due to your dissatisfaction.

Please let us know if your travels do return you to our Nation's Capital. We would like to rectify the issues you had on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Sharon Lockwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, PA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Arrived on Tuesday, 4/15/14. It was a nasty, rainy day. The hotel was about 3 blocks away from the Metro. Very convenient (walkable) to everything, sightseeing, restaurants, you name it. Check in was an absolute breeze, thanks to Cheryl, at the front desk!! Got up to my room on the 9th floor, nice view, very quiet. Hotel was very clean overall. I will definitely stay here again without hesitation!!! :) :)

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Address: 999 Ninth St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#48 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 807
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the culture of DC while experiencing true sophistication at Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel. When you arrive at our hotel, you will feel as if you have found a hidden gem amongst everything that makes DC exciting. Award winning restaurants, boutique shopping, CityCenterDC, Verizon Center, Spy Museum, Chinatown, National Portrait Gallery and the world-famous National Mall are all steps from our hotel but will feel worlds away once you experience everything we have to offer. Our newly renovated hotel offers five dining options, including a Starbucks Cafe, a vibrant lounge, an onsite day spa and Vida fitness center. Uncover the best of DC with Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel, a luxury hotel in downtown DC that strikes the perfect balance of style and substance. Our hotel will leave you wondering how you can be so close to the Washington DC Convention Center, CityCenterDC, and Penn Quarter yet feel as if you've found your next great escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Washington Dc
Renaissance Washington Dc Hotel
Washington Dc Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.