We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay but some problems” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   999 Ninth St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #56 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
NJ
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good stay but some problems”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Good hotel. Big complaint would be that the Elite lounge was closed on the weekends-They need to realize that members also travel on the weekends like other Marriott hotels and even Renaissance Hotels. Service was good, Rooms good size for DC.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    238
    69
    14
    14
See reviews for
91
72
22
311
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, FL
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is one of my favorite hotels in DC! Located in Chinatown within walking distance to the Verizon Center, Convention Center, tons of shopping and restaurants, several Metro stations, museums and the National Portrait Gallery.

The Lobby is very trendy and contemporary, lots of outlets, seating for individuals, groups, working, socializing etc. There is a nice lobby bar as well as a Starbucks, breakfast restaurant and sports bar.

Concierge Lounge is VERY spacious with a good selection of hors d'oeuvres and desserts. Lots of seating as well as an area you can connect your laptop to large monitors and work quietly.

Rooms in the executive tower area are very nice with walk in frameless shower, modern furnishings, safe, coffee maker, comfy bed. The only thing that is missing is that you cannot hook your laptop up to the flat screen, there is no connectivity panel as is standard in most Marriott rooms.

I have also stayed in a standard room, which was also nice, a little smaller, but it did have a tub, which was a plus.

Several times I've been upgraded to a suite, and all of them were very nice. Each was distinct with different attributes but all of them were very spacious.

Staff here are very efficient and friendly. There are plenty of cabs lined up outside the door if you need to head out. There is a dry cleaner, laundry by the pound (Parks Cleaners) just down the street. All in all it's very very convenient.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I recently attended a capitals hockey game and was forced to use stub-hub due to the price of trying to scalp them. The problem was how can I print the tickets! I went inside and started to ask for a business center inside the hotel. First person I saw standing tall was Yusuf, he greeted me with a smile and simply have me his email so he could print them out right at the front desk. I was astonished how professional and smooth Yusuf was. Great job management for putting someone of that caliber right at the front door.

Jason

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights during a conference. Very friendly staff. Great location - during conference breaks I walked to the Mall, China Town and up to Union Station. Surrounded by lots of restaurants.

I found the beds to be extremely hard. I took the feather comforter from the other bed and slept on top of it to add a little cushion.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Stayed here because it was the conference hotel but the cost of the rooms are way over priced for a basic room. I went to have lunch at the hotel restaurant at 1:30 pm and it was closed. The sign said if you wanted to eat you had to go to the bar. I thought this was the top of the line for Marriott but I guess I was wrong. Helpful and friendly staff but I don't I will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon L, General Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Phil B,

Thank you for writing a review about our hotel. I certainly understand your concern that room rates in Washington, DC are high during certain times of the year - especially during convention and Cherry Blossom season. Prices of guest rooms do vary throughout the year and during the slower summer season, you can find quite reasonable hotel rates in our Nation's Capital.

I do apologize that our restaurant was not open at 1:30pm when you were looking for a dining option. Our President's Sports Bar also has dining tables and is our second restaurant in the hotel with wonderful food options such as crab cakes, variety of salads, sandwiches and entrees. Also, as we are located in the heart of Penn Quarter, there are over 20 amazing restaurants within a two block radius of the hotel.

I certainly hope that if your travels return you to Washington, DC you will give us another chance and stay with us. We truly appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

Sharon Lockwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Close to the metro and was able to walk down to the National Mall. National Portrait Gallery is a few blocks away as well. Great restaurants close by. If going to the convention center or a game, cannot think of a better location.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

This is the first time I’ve stayed at Marriott’s Renaissance hotel chain, but it was nice and I recommend the hotel! Of the Marriott chains, I think it is nicer than the Marriott brand, right up there with the JW Marriott brand. I see it as: Fairfield Inn < SpringHill Suites < Residence Inn < Courtyard < Marriott < Renaissance < JW Marriott. So needless to say the hotel was great!

Rooms:
• Very clean and a good size.
• Bathrooms were modern and the tub was very clean with no signs of weird mold cracks in the grout.
• Had a small fridge, room safe and ample counter space for my suitcase, two backpacks and a bunch of tourist stuff.
• The only weird thing is that the hotel rooms that face inwards, directly face other rooms or an office building. Very close, but just close the curtains!
• Beds were VERY comfortable and used a duvet, so I knew they changed it every time.

Amenities:
• It is a higher end hotel, so there are higher end restaurants. Don’t fret, there is a Starbucks in the lobby to grab something quick, and right next door, connected to the building but not the hotel, is City Tab, a pretty good bar, and I’m sure less expensive than the bars at the hotel.
• Free computer/printer in the lobby to print boarding passes. Very handy.
• Free wifi, but only in the lobby! Disappointing that a nice hotel like that wouldn’t have free wifi in the whole hotel. This is something they should really change. Although they accommodate patrons by having a few tables with charging stations in the lobby, where people can do work, who wants to trek downstairs to use the wifi?
• Parking is $35/day for self parking. Due to the location, we just used Uber around town. It was so convenient and much cheaper than normal taxis, or even rental car + parking at the hotel. USE UBER!

Location:
• I was hesitant to stay at this hotel because of the neighborhood when I found out it was next to Chinatown. But in reality, it was a very safe, clean neighborhood. Being next to Chinatown was actually nice because there are a lot of restaurants and stores. (The Chinatown there is nothing like San Francisco’s.) Many different options within a 5 minute walk, ranging from quick fast food to nicer restaurants. For breakfast we went to Panera, 2 block away.
• Uber rides to the typical sightseeing locations: White House, Smithsonians, Washington Monument, Capitol, Lincoln Memorial, etc, are all under $10 per ride. Much cheaper than taking the Metro and walking the rest of the way, especially if you have 4 people in your group.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the street for any kind of view. Inward rooms face each other, like a square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Address: 999 Ninth St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 807
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the culture of DC while experiencing true sophistication at Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel. When you arrive at our hotel, you will feel as if you have found a hidden gem amongst everything that makes DC exciting. Award winning restaurants, boutique shopping, CityCenterDC, Verizon Center, Spy Museum, Chinatown, National Portrait Gallery and the world-famous National Mall are all steps from our hotel but will feel worlds away once you experience everything we have to offer. Our newly renovated hotel offers five dining options, including a Starbucks Cafe, a vibrant lounge, an onsite day spa and Vida fitness center. Uncover the best of DC with Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel, a luxury hotel in downtown DC that strikes the perfect balance of style and substance. Our hotel will leave you wondering how you can be so close to the Washington DC Convention Center, CityCenterDC, and Penn Quarter yet feel as if you've found your next great escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Washington Dc
Renaissance Washington Dc Hotel
Washington Dc Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.