We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disgrace” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel to your Saves list
The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1127 Connecticut Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #76 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Bristol
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“A disgrace”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

We were offered a free upgrade to an executive room. The room was furnished in a traditional style with old TV etc. The cups provided for coffee were paper (poor for a 4 star), there was no milk (fresh or in a pot) and the mini bar would not open. There was make up on the pillow (had clearly not been washed) and a hair in the bath. The AC was functionless and blew cold air but this did not appear to cool the room. We complained (twice) and were told the manager would come to our room - she did not turn up.

I would have checked out at this point but having prepaid, there was little alternative and we accepted a further upgrade to a suite with the same decor. Again, there was a hair in the bath but I had given up by this point.

The manager stated that he would leave something in our room (another hair perhaps) but didn't bother (clearly they lead by incompetence in this place).

Despite being offered free internet by Expedia, the hotel tried to charge me, claiming I should have known (presumably by telepathy) that the free internet was wireless and on the mezzanine level. As expected, the internet didn't work anyway.

The coffee was not refilled after one night (how cheap can you get) so I asked for more. Guess what? It didn't turn up.

The whole stay was an utter shambles. They claim to have refurbished the place but it is tired with evidence of wear throughout. Don't be fooled by the grand entrance and hallway - the rooms and level of service are utterly incongruous.

I would avoid this place. There are much better places to stay and they managed to ruin part of our honeymoon.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    483
    227
    90
    62
See reviews for
308
287
81
488
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

If you had to spend a weekend in your room... this would be the place I would want to do it. The comfiest bed, feeling of privacy, spacious and all amenties provided.

They even gave us a loan fridge at no extra charge on check in.

An easy walk to the White House. I didnt actually enjoy Washington as a whole and wont be returning in a hurry. But this hotel stands out in both of our minds as the one of the nicest rooms we have ever stayed in. We were road side so a bit noisy at times but otherwise couldnt fault this room or hotel. Awesome fitness centre at no extra charge (as it should be... take note Vegas) Internet in business centre costs though (complimentary in Californian Hotels!!)

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

Room was small and dark, and the window overlooked the elevator shaft. Large mirrors on most of the walls failed to make the room seem larger. There were not enough towels in the bathroom and those that were there weren't very plush. I was very shocked to discover no safe in the room. Old TV. I was also surprised that the room only had one chair at the desk - there was no reading chair which you normally find in higher-end hotels.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

My family and I were apprehensive about the level of service we would experience during our long DC weekend trip this week, especially since we'd taken advantage of a pretty good online deal ($118/night). But they were actually quite gracious, from the doorman to the receptionist, who gave us all three of the little preferences I'd made online--"high floor," "rollaway bed," and "feather-free room." There was admittedly no view from the top-floor room, and the valet parking was absurdly expensive ($40/day), but it wowed our kids and the service was exemplary. There was even some guest that merited secret service, though we didn't stick around to see who it was.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moville, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

We stayed here the 25/26 of June 2009. The hotel itself is very nice with ok service. The room itself was big, and the bed was very comfortable! However the room overlooked the back of the hotel which is not very nice and the TV was very dated. The hotel bar was very expensive but maybe this is to be expected in a quality hotel!
The location of the hotel was about a 5/10 minute walk from the whitehouse and is in very good location. I got the hotel over priceline so for the price I was happy, however if I were to pay the full price for the hotel I wouldnt recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

The Mayflower Rennaisance is no doubt a beautiful historic hotel and overall, we enjoyed our stay there. We were, however, disappointed when upon after first full day of touring around D.C., we came back to a room where the beds hadn't been made, towels hadn't been changed, coffee hadn't been replaced, etc. Bottom line, our room wasn't touched. We were also billed over hundred dollars by Renaissance for what should have been redeemed Marriott points. The location is great and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

The Mayflower is not even a 5 star wannabe. It offers very little to compete with other DC hotels (such as the Fairmont, Four Seasons, etc). The deluxe room faced an air shaft/other buildings. The room was big, the amenities were lovely, the bed and bedding were fabulous but the towels felt like sandpaper, the tv was old and antiquated(I don't mean historical as the hotel likes to pass itself off as, justifiying the lousy views and small rooms). However, there were no safes in the room . Their customer service is lacking for a 5 or 4 star hotel. I was treated as though I booked on priceline when in fact I booked using points (since I "was" a frequent Marriott guest and I was down for an upgrade). I came to the conclusion that the "deluxe" room I booked was the worst room in the hotel (due to the darkness of its lack of any view)

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Address: 1127 Connecticut Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#54 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#74 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 657
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known as the progressive Grand Dame of the nation's capital, The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel is a 4-diamond luxury hotel and a proud member of Historic Hotels of America. With a timeless aura highlighted by an abundance of modern conveniences, our historic hotel is perfectly located in the heart of downtown with iconic attractions like the White House and National Mall just minutes away. Our hotel features 650 guest accommodations and 74 handsomely-appointed suites each with signature Renaissance bedding and Aveda bath products. Ideal for leisure and business, our hotel offers exceptional meeting, banquet and event space, complete with an on-site floral boutique, multiple dining options and a Thomas Pink retail store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayflower Hotel Washington Dc
Renaissance Washington Dc
Washington Dc Renaissance
Renaissance Mayflower Hotel
Mayflower Hotel Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.