We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unattractive makeover of a classic hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel to your Saves list
The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1127 Connecticut Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #76 of 131 Hotels in Washington DC
Scarsdale, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Unattractive makeover of a classic hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I have stayed at the Mayflower and attended events there for many decades. I was stunned to enter the hotel on my last visit. They eliminated the charming lobby bar area, as well as the charming old bar that was on the left as one entered, and replaced both with a tacky, noisy space on the right hand side of the lobby. My husband and I endured one visit to the new bar, and never went back. Previously, we delighted in meeting friends in the old bar. I also found that the lobby bar area was a great place to people spot, and more than once ran into friends there by chance. This was an ill-judged renovation which has taken much of the charm and fun out of a Washington classic. The effect is to make the hotel colder and less welcoming. The rooms do not appear to have changed, but the attraction of the Mayflower was primarily the public spaces where one could see and meet friends and spot famous faces.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayflower20036, Manager at The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. We appreciate knowing what you enjoyed about your stay and where we have area for improvement. I will forward your concerns to the hotel manager. Please feel free to contact me directly if you have any further concerns.

Adam Grode
adam.grode@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    478
    221
    88
    61
See reviews for
306
284
79
476
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

I stayed for a week for work. I found the staff very helpful and the location was perfect. Literally 5mins from the Farrgot North Metro which is 3 stops from Union Station. Also very close to DuPont Circle with lots of restaurants and night life. Rooms are also quite spacious, modern and clean.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baton rouge
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

The spicy margaritas are one of the best things to ever enter my mouth. The atmosphere was electric and a great time was had by all. Everyone around us was having a jovial time and the party never ended. You MUST try a Spicy Margarita.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

In town for a sports event held over the course of several days at the Convention Center.

This is a huge hotel and used quite a bit for large conferences.

Pros
• Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Cleaning staff was very good too.
• Beautiful hotel, inside and out.
• Beds comfortable. Bathroom clean and updated.
• Clean hallways and rugs looked newer.
• The famous Mayflower bar is here.
• Nice gift shops.
• Centrally located in DC.

Cons
• Parking is expensive at the hotel. You pay 46.50 for valet parking. You can park around the corner and pay $30/day but it’s still a valet service (meaning you just can’t get your car when you want it). It typically takes 10-15 mins to get your car at the hotel and only 5 mins at the place around the corner.
• Breakfast is expensive
• Wifi is not free
• At the front desk I asked for a USAToday (typically free) and was told to purchase it at the gift shop

I would stay here again but would look for a better alternative for storing my car.

Room Tip: The higher you are, the further you're away from the city road noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We were so looking forward to staying at this hotel which had come highly recommended. We were traveling with our 2 children and had booked connecting rooms months before the trip. When we arrived, we were not given connecting rooms and even the manager was unsympathetic to our situation. Our bill was also full of erroneous charges (internet fees, the breakfast bill was higher than the paper receipt, parking charges were twice what was originally quoted). All in all, this has been the most disappointing hotel experience we have ever had.

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayflower20036, Manager at The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
You should have expected more of your stay at The Mayflower Renaissance Hotel and apologize that we were unable to deliver a better experience. Feedback such as yours is taken very seriously and we share it with our various departments so that we may find ways to improve our service. I do have all your information and will be reaching out to you soon. Please accept our apologies for the lapses you experienced and we truly hope for the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,
Darcy Roberts
darcy.roberts@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We had a very nice stay at the Mayflower. The hotel is very well placed, not too close to downtown but far enough away from the unbelievable amount of police sirens and cavelcades. I can't believe they call them secret service cause they are hardly that lol. All of the staff at the hotel are extremely helpful and friendly, it was comfortable with all the amenities you expect including wifi (although it was a little hit and miss) There is a metro station just on the corner of the block and another for the other lines just 2 blocks away. There is an irish bar one block up on the left of connecticut and another bar called Rumors. We had breakfast at Pauls which is a French cafe just on the next block to the hotel. It is about 15 minutes walk to Washington monument and about 20 minutes to the Smithsonian Air and Space, so the hotel is very well placed and I would recommend it for a stay in the Capitol.

Room Tip: We had room 605 which was a nice quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Hotel is in great location in terms of accessing tourist sites, restaurants and shops. The entrance is grand and the historic character to the hotel is neat. The room was clean but the furniture in the rooms felt a bit tired. I think the carpet can be updated. We stayed in a suite and it was a true suite with a bedroom that is separate from a large living room area with a writing desk. Even the bathroom was very spacious. The staff were helpful and polite.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Address: 1127 Connecticut Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#49 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#71 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 657
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known as the progressive Grand Dame of the nation's capital, The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel is a 4-diamond luxury hotel and a proud member of Historic Hotels of America. With a timeless aura highlighted by an abundance of modern conveniences, our historic hotel is perfectly located in the heart of downtown with iconic attractions like the White House and National Mall just minutes away. Our hotel features 650 guest accommodations and 74 handsomely-appointed suites each with signature Renaissance bedding and Aveda bath products. Ideal for leisure and business, our hotel offers exceptional meeting, banquet and event space, complete with an on-site floral boutique, multiple dining options and a Thomas Pink retail store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Expedia, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayflower Hotel Washington Dc
Renaissance Washington Dc
Washington Dc Renaissance
Renaissance Mayflower Hotel
Mayflower Hotel Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.