We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mayflower Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Mayflower Hotel to your Saves list
The Mayflower Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1127 Connecticut Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Formerly The Mayflower Renaissance Washington DC) (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Deal: 20% Off
Ranked #80 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great location and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Nice hotel, the lobby looks posh! room is small but big enough as I was travelling alone. Not very sound proof so could hear neighbour next door going in and out. If you don't mind walking a little bit, most of the places of interest are within reach. The subway station is just a stone throw away. Got sick of the breakfast after 4 days, the spread was very limited. Maybe I am too used to the big spread of international bfast buffets at Asian hotels :)

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the lower floor esp 2nd level where the meeting rooms are located. Noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    554
    261
    111
    72
See reviews for
351
331
87
596
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Caguas, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

If you look for a great vacation with kids, this Hotel is the best....Next to the Hotel is the Metro Station (Farragut North red line) that if you take it you can connect in the next stop (Metro Center) to the Blue or Orange line to take you to every monuments, Museums and point of interest. The room is antique but spacious and the bed are very comfy. You will be 2 blocks from the White House. We arrived on Saturday 23 and we came back today November 29, and trust me we couldn't finish covering all the attractions because they open at 10am and closed at 5pm and on Thanksgiving a lot of things was closed but we had a blast and we will want to come to cover that we missed. The kids enjoyed the trip so much. The best museum was the Smithsonian's, even though the are free are the best of the best. The Natural History, The American History, Air and Space was the best...THe wax museum was good as well. The Spy Museum was OK, you paid a lot for not to have the opportunity to see to much because they promote the museum so much and the space inside was so crowd that we could enjoy it so well. The Bureau of printing and engraving was fantastic. The Holocaust has a part for kids understand what happened that was fine. The National Monuments of course great.....In summary great vacation, great hotel, great staff.....2 days rained and they borrow umbrellas from us.......

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

I stayed at the Mayflower Renaissance hotel a week ago because my friend was having her wedding there. My boyfriend and I stayed two nights--a Friday and a Saturday, and ultimately decided it would have been more worthwhile if we had splurged and taken a cab into DC for the wedding events on Friday and Saturday instead of trying to stay at the hotel, since we live in Northern Virginia. I am not kidding when I say that not only have I stayed at a Days Inn with cleaner rooms, I've also stayed at hotels in Third World Countries that were nicer, with free Wi-Fi and better service for a far cheaper rate. Perhaps the problems we faced seemed so extreme to us since we live so close to DC and know what to expect from a DC hotel--this hotel was a total disappointment.
Our issues:
-The fee for Valet parking per day at this hotel is $46.50. This is roughly $10 more than many other DC hotels. I could barely understand the Valet Parking Attendant. Again, the people at foreign hotels have better grasp of the English language.
-The shower curtain in our room was stained and had hair stuck to it.
-There was mold on our heating/ AC unit and when we tried to run the AC to cool the room off a little (there is no exhaust fan to clear the air after a shower), it smelled so badly of mildew I wanted to vomit.
-There was no water pressure in the shower. My family in rural upstate New York has better water pressure and they have a well-water system.
-Hot water? Forget it.
-Want to sleep in? Not with a cleaning service that sounds like a bunch of bulls in a china shop clattering through the halls.
-Only 3 pillows that were the size of Chiclets on a King Size Bed
-Had to beg for free Wi-Fi at check in, otherwise Wi-Fi rate is $16.95 per day.
-Speaking of said Wi-Fi, I am pretty sure it was connected by a very tired hamster on a wheel in the basement.
Overall, this hotel was a disgusting rip off and if I ever set foot in it again, it will be too soon.

Room Tip: Stay at another, much more reasonably priced hotel in the DC area, such as the Washington Plaza Hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I stay at the Mayflower a couple of times a year for meetings and have had a room not much bigger than a closet the last two times. The small size would not be an issue if the carpet and chairs were not stained. Also need new linens - pillows are small and hard and comforter too short. The lobby was remodeled in the last year and looks nice but I miss the old lobby bar that was out in the open so you could sit there and wait to meet others while people watching. There aren't enough benches or chairs in the lobby either.

That said, the location is very convenient and the staff friendly. The doormen are friendly but don't actually open any doors as someone else recently mentioned. They greet you nicely as you struggle through the door with your suitcase. Check-in is always very efficient and pleasant with an offer of champagne, bottled water, and an apple.

An update to the rooms, more benches in the lobby, and doormen who opened doors would bring this hotel back to the level that it deserves.

Room Tip: Because it is an old hotel, rooms are not a standard size. I've been given anything from an almo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

What a beautiful hotel!!! The renovations they did since my last stay are incredible. What a lobby and bar! Just get past the Indian bell man and valet and you're good to go. I don't speak Hindu and they don't understand English so getting your car valet parked and your stuff out of the car and on it's way to the room can be a challenge. Not sure why Americans are subjected to this language barrier c _ _ p in our own country but it is what we have to endure now days. Other than that experience, after a long day, I would have given the Hotel and 5 star rating. Highly recommend the upgrade to a suite - that is a great room. Not a great location for proximity to shopping or the "Mall" but it's is near some really good restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

This hotel was easy, making for a great trip. The service was impeccable, the room superior, location superb. You just couldn't ask for any better and at a tremendous value compared to other hotels in the area. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
145 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Slow check in, slower valet and no late night room service. On the positive side, the staff are friendly and the location is great.

I would suggest getting a standard double over a suite as the value add of the suite wasn't substantial

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel
Renaissance Washington, DC Dupon...
#74 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 782 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Quincy
The Quincy
#14 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 841 reviews
JW Marriott Washington DC
#77 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,456 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Loews Madison Hotel
Loews Madison Hotel
#58 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,523 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#17 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mayflower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mayflower Hotel

Address: 1127 Connecticut Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Formerly The Mayflower Renaissance Washington DC)
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#60 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#73 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mayflower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 581
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection has been a vibrant social hub in Washington, DC since opening in 1925. Refreshed and contemporary, our historic hotel newly inspires the city for business or pleasure with its premier location on Connecticut Avenue. The Mayflower delights with a timeless luxury found in our sweeping marble lobby, picturesque ballrooms, in-house health club, and luxury-minded guestrooms, offering plush bedding, high-speed wireless internet, and flat screen TV's. Enjoy a culinary delight at our lively American brasserie EDGAR, or step outside to experience the local flavor of Dupont Circle and other nearby attractions. Effortlessly blending historic tradition and modern luxury here in the heart of the nation's capital, The Mayflower Hotel is national treasure not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your The Mayflower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayflower Hotel Washington Dc
Renaissance Washington Dc
Washington Dc Renaissance
Renaissance Mayflower Hotel
Mayflower Hotel Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mayflower Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.