We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Amazing Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mayflower Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Mayflower Hotel to your Saves list
The Mayflower Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1127 Connecticut Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Formerly The Mayflower Renaissance Washington DC) (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 136 Hotels in Washington DC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
“An Amazing Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I loved the location of the Mayflower Renaissance Washington. The central location was ideal and in close proximity to a lot of site;however, I was there to attend a convention which provided shuttle service to the Convention Center. When it was difficult to have a place to store luggage prior to departing, the hotel provided a room for all luggage to be stored. This was a great gesture of service.

Room Tip: The staff is extremely helpful. The service is superb. The location is ideal. The hotel's dec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    641
    566
    266
    113
    74
See reviews for
368
338
90
608
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

The Mayflower is a classic DC hotel. All the cab drivers will know when you say, "The Mayflower" because it is a landmark. The hotel is central to many great restaurants and shopping.

The rooms and bathrooms are small, which makes sense given its age. I thought the rooms were well-maintained and very tastefully decorated.

The early morning (4:15 am) desk attendant and bell hop were fabulous and helpful. I was assured there would be a taxi at the crazy hour of 4:15 AM for a drive to the airport on a Saturday...and they were right!

There were a number of us there for an event and we all had a good experience. One Person in our group had a constantly running toilet, but after asking for a room change all was resolved with ease. Kudos to the desk folks for being very accommodating!

I would return to the Mayflower.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

It was about six years since I stayed at the Mayflower, so I was pleasantly surprised when I walked into a totally new looking and feeling lobby. It was well done, bright, contemporary and well lit. Yet, I quickly realized that something was amiss, when there was no one at the front desk to check me in. Someone did come, but having to wait for someone to greet you at a hotel (including at the front door) is not what you expect from the property that bills it self as Washington's second best address. When I got to my room, i noticed a not so low "Hum" and looked outside the window and saw that the room was near a generator (or something) and that this would have gone on all night. I called the front desk (and also realized that it's hard to get the front desk and/or in room dining directly on the phone) and asked to be moved, which I eventually was. While waiting to be moved, I noticed two empty refrigerators in the room -- one which reminded me of the type I took to my dorm room at college. Curious, that they were both empty. Yet, looking around, I noticed dents in all the wood furniture, which made for a pretty dim looking room, which no painting on the wall can mask. I was moved to a room that had no outdoor sounds, but which had furniture with lots of dents and scratches. Even the soap dish in the bathroom was chipped. When I picked up the television remote, I noticed the back of it (where the batteries go), was missing. This is just sloppy and not well maintained. I can't argue if the decor is not my "taste", but can get annoyed for rooms that are not well kept. I could go on about how room service was late and other points, but think you get the point here. I don't often like to make "complaints" publicly -- yet my brief experience was pretty poor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Prior to visiting Washington DC we'd read a whole load of mixed reviews bout this hotel, but we went with and open mind. And guess what in our opinion we'd use the hotel again, we had a great time. It location is perfect for those people who enjoy sight seeing and want a bit of atmosphere in the evenings. The hotel is situated about 10 minutes walk from the White House, and 15 minutes in the other direction you'll find yourself in DuPont circle.

The lobby is impressive with a mezzanine floor above it with very nice seating area and business center, which you can use to check in for your flights for free. Back in the lobby the staff couldn't have been more helpful. Checking was painless and only took us about 5 minutes. As was checkout a few days later.

A big plus point in our eyes are the elevators in a hotel, if they work and are timely in any hotel its a real bonus, if they do all this when you have two major conferences on in the hotel is a double bonus. even at peak times we never had to wait for more 30 seconds for a lift, and they never seemed to be full. Good sign

We had a very nice room at the rear of the building, larger and well furnished. OK so some things are a bit tired, new light switches and a lick of paint of some well worn door frames would add to the overall ambiance, but hey those are minor details. It was clean and tidy, the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was spacious enough with a bath and great shower in it. We had no problems with the water temperature of the water at any stage during our stay.

Air-conditioning was efficient, a little noisy possible but nothing that stopped wither of us sleeping or relaxing.

The concierge desk was always manned with very efficient and polite staff who did everything from give out advice about places to eat/visit to arrange transfers to and from Dulles for us, great people who always have a smile and some useful tips for the first time visitor the the city. The duty manager and house detective always seem to be on hand in the lobby and are very helpful and friendly. As are all the staff we met during our visit. The newly refurbished Bar/Restaurant is very nice, We only had breakfast in it and my one tip for people like us (i.e those who eat reasonable portions) choose from the menu don't go for the buffet. believe it or not if all you want is coffee and say eggs, bacon and toes its cheaper off the menu. If you eat a hearty breakfast then by all means head to the buffet table.

Obviously the hotel has a large conference scene during the week so a lot of business types around during the week as well as a few of us tourists (This was late Sept). The hotel caters well of all young, the not so young and the older customer and everyone seem to go along with not problems at all.

One point I will say, which is recurring is the WiFi is fee in the lobby but you have to pay for it in your room, and at peak times the lobby service is swamped even though they have two or three systems set up (conference, Lobby and another service I can not recall now).

I could keep on writing about the hotel, but I'll leave you with this thought. Its a fine old hotel with loads of history, a great location and wonderfully helpful staff, close to metro stations or easy walking distance to all the main attractions. Don't judge he place because some of us aren't to careful with our bag going in an out of rooms and chip a bit of paint. its a good place to stay for all. I hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

One last thing it doesn't have a swimming pool, and no one advertises prior to your arrival, but if you see a member of staff you can get access to one right around the corner.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the rear of the building I'm told its quieter, we certainly didn't have a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Couldn't ask for more from a hotel. Wonderful beds and linens and towels. Surrounded by every kind of restaurant one could ask for from Italian to Seafood to Greek and a wonderful breakfast hideaway called the Luna cafe one block away. Great bar and banquet and meeting facilities for hundreds. Friendly service from the people at the door to the housemaids. Would not hesitate to return.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Whenever I visit the District, I stay at The Mayflower. It is conveniently located within the city, a great place to people watch, AND there is a Filene's Basement across the street for us savvy shoppers! The staff is friendly and professional. I particularly commend the hotel for having one of the finest concierges I have ever met. Her name is Azi. If you choose to stay there, please tell Azi that Bonnie said hello.

Room Tip: Unless you don't mind the sound of a dumpster early in the morning, do not get a room over the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed here for three nights, Septemebr 21-24. The hotel has outstanding history. The lobby is amazing. Location good, about 4 blocks from the White House. Sadly, the rooms, at least my room, needs improving. It was hard to slept with the old-fashioned air conditioner running all night with rest periods of maybe 5 minutes before it started again for an hour at a time. The breakfast buffet in the Edgar rooms needs some freshing up. All the staff were outstanding. If you like the history that is the Mayflower, this is your hotel. If you want a modern hotel room, this isn't it.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel
Renaissance Washington, DC Dupon...
#73 of 136 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 802 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Quincy
The Quincy
#14 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 871 reviews
JW Marriott Washington DC
#75 of 136 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 2,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,494 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Loews Madison Hotel
Loews Madison Hotel
#59 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,576 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mayflower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mayflower Hotel

Address: 1127 Connecticut Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Formerly The Mayflower Renaissance Washington DC)
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#52 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#62 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#74 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mayflower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 581
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection has been a vibrant social hub in Washington, DC since opening in 1925. Refreshed and contemporary, our historic hotel newly inspires the city for business or pleasure with its premier location on Connecticut Avenue. The Mayflower delights with a timeless luxury found in our sweeping marble lobby, picturesque ballrooms, in-house health club, and luxury-minded guestrooms, offering plush bedding, high-speed wireless internet, and flat screen TV's. Enjoy a culinary delight at our lively American brasserie EDGAR, or step outside to experience the local flavor of Dupont Circle and other nearby attractions. Effortlessly blending historic tradition and modern luxury here in the heart of the nation's capital, The Mayflower Hotel is national treasure not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Hotels.com so you can book your The Mayflower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayflower Hotel Washington Dc
Renaissance Washington Dc
Washington Dc Renaissance
Renaissance Mayflower Hotel
Mayflower Hotel Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mayflower Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.