We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical Address” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mayflower Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Mayflower Hotel to your Saves list
The Mayflower Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1127 Connecticut Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Formerly The Mayflower Renaissance Washington DC) (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Deal: 20% Off
Ranked #80 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Historical Address”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The Mayflower has worked very well for our small conference. I was a participant, not a planner. The room is smallish but to be expected in an old hotel. It is, however, well appointed and clean. My view was over the skylight on top of the lobby, on the same floor where Spitzer got caught with his call girl. The hotel, however, has other, less salacious historical connections, including the room in which FDR wrote the speech about having nothing to fear but fear itself. The bar is hugely overpriced for the normal world although it might be on par for DC. The wide central hallway, stretching the depth of the hotel from front to back is magnificent in scope, with some interesting abstract art along the walls. The ballroom and other main meeting rooms along this hall are sumptuous. The regular meeting rooms on the second floor are somewhat standard for hotels, with distracting columns in the middle of some of them. The front-desk agent, Yingxi, was most helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    613
    554
    260
    111
    72
See reviews for
351
331
87
595
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
albany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Our stay at the Mayflower was mixed. The Lobby is beautiful and large. Staff and check in very friendly and fast. Then you get into your room and are very disappointed. Our room was on the fifth floor. It was a large room with a sitting area, unfortunately the carpet was stained, furniture dated, and the bathroom ceiling was partially peeling. Curtains were dated and the shades hanging crooked and dirty. On the other hand the bed was very comfortable, accessories in the bathroom were also nothing special. On the other hand, Breakfast buffet at Edgars was, after the staff got organized.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patterson, Louisiana
Level Contributor
56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed here last year and loved it! So historic and so exquisite! The service was beyond satisfactory! Although we were staying for business, we enjoyed spending time with our friends. We even got a taste of DC entertainment!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

TERRIBLE PEOPLE...I also felt they werelittle racist...with the way they looked at me..I booked a room for 5 people and online the price for it was more than 2 person room but the room was so small there was no room to move around...also they said the breakfast was only for 2 people. I had called 5 times before I made the booking i dont know why no one mentioned about it...I paid extra for a room with breakfast and its all gone waste now...my family came to the united states for the first time and this is the experience they are getting. No one from the staff was helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joecardone, Manager at The Mayflower Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
We appreciate your review of The Mayflower and apologize that aspects of your stay fell short of your expectations. We know how important the breakfast experience can be for our guests. Your concerns will be shared with our management team as we are always working to enhance our facility. We will make certain to clearly state what is included in the "room package" you booked on-line. We are happy to share that we are certain that we have taken steps that will eliminate the issues you experienced. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will stay with us again in the future.

We would like to assure all TripAdvisor readers that great service and the well being of our guests is our number one priority. It is disheartening for us to hear of a guest experience such as this. Although we are confident in the abilities of our associates, we encourage any guest that feels that an issue has been inadequately resolved to reach out to our General Manager or a member of our Executive Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harker Heights, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This hotel is very nice and it was very reasonable for other hotels in D.C. The King room is very large. The room has the bed in a nook and then a seating area for 2 on the other side of the room plus an area to do work if needed. The bathroom is also large. This is a great hotel for couples as well as family. This location is also feet away from Farragut North (Red Line) and 2 blocks from Farragut West (Blue Line). These two lines are the lines you will need to use to get to most of the major attractions D.C. has to offer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Ma
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The Mayflower Hotel is a nice hotel older but nice. The location is great to Dupont Circle and walking distance to the White House and the Metro is right at the corner. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Beautiful, old classic big city hotel. Staff not particularly helpful. In house resturant over priced and way too loud in the evening. After first day of sightseeing returned late to cold shower. Requested room change on second morning and had to follow-up twice to confirm that we would be moved. Returned the second, and last, night to new room same condition, another cold shower. Complained the next morning to a fairly unconcerned front desk clerk. Hotel offered no compensation. Marriott corporate credited one night's stay. Definitely think twice.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel
Renaissance Washington, DC Dupon...
#74 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 778 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Quincy
The Quincy
#14 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 841 reviews
JW Marriott Washington DC
#77 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,451 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Loews Madison Hotel
Loews Madison Hotel
#59 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,517 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#17 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mayflower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mayflower Hotel

Address: 1127 Connecticut Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Formerly The Mayflower Renaissance Washington DC)
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#63 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#72 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mayflower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 581
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection has been a vibrant social hub in Washington, DC since opening in 1925. Refreshed and contemporary, our historic hotel newly inspires the city for business or pleasure with its premier location on Connecticut Avenue. The Mayflower delights with a timeless luxury found in our sweeping marble lobby, picturesque ballrooms, in-house health club, and luxury-minded guestrooms, offering plush bedding, high-speed wireless internet, and flat screen TV's. Enjoy a culinary delight at our lively American brasserie EDGAR, or step outside to experience the local flavor of Dupont Circle and other nearby attractions. Effortlessly blending historic tradition and modern luxury here in the heart of the nation's capital, The Mayflower Hotel is national treasure not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Venere and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Mayflower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayflower Hotel Washington Dc
Renaissance Washington Dc
Washington Dc Renaissance
Renaissance Mayflower Hotel
Mayflower Hotel Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mayflower Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.