We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical convention hotel, decent rooms, very poor service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Mayflower Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Mayflower Hotel to your Saves list
The Mayflower Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1127 Connecticut Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Formerly The Mayflower Renaissance Washington DC) (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Deal: 20% Off
Ranked #80 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Typical convention hotel, decent rooms, very poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

October convention. Hotel was full. Rooms are typical for a high quality convention hotel. But service was horrible. My husband had flowers delivered to the hotel Friday morning. They never delivered them to my room or called. When my husband asked if I liked them by phone that evening he was soo disappointed (as was I). I called the desk. They found them 45 minutes later (at 11 PM). Said their computer system had crashed. I just don't believe them. . The maid service did not come until close to 5 pm both days to make the bed or change the towels.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    613
    554
    260
    111
    72
See reviews for
351
331
87
595
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
63 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is my second time around at the Mayflower. Upon check in I noticed they remodeled the lobby. The flow is much better. The staff was polite and pleasant even though my room was not ready but that was no fault of theirs as I arrived early. The rooms are a bit small but clean and well appointed. The water was hot and the bathroom was clean and bright. The Wifi is $12.00 a day. Buffet breakfast is $23.00. There are lots of places for breakfast no more than a few blocks from the hotel. Lots to do in the immediate area with a metro stop right at the corner. You can walk to the White House and major monuments in about 15-20 min. Taxi from Union Station will run you about $12.00.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at The hotel for 4 days. Sandy struck whilst i was there but The staff made everybody feel at home in a relaxed atmosphere. All The staff was so friendly and helpfull and my room (jr. Suite) was so cosy not your typical hotel room. The concierge was a funny and very helpfull lady that made The stay so enjoyable. My friend and i were on a business trip but due to sandy we couldnt meet our clients but The concierge did everything to keep us busy! When in DC this hotel is a must.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed at the Mayflower Renaissance over the Veteran's Day weekend and will definitely return for future trips. The hotel and staff were absolutely fantastic and the place is absolutely gorgeous. Staff at the front desk were very helpful upon check in and the dining room staff, as well as housekeepers were very friendly and courteous each and everytime they were approached. Only recommendation is the doormen need to pay closer attention to those coming and going. Weren't quite as courteous as the rest of the staff. Will be back though, thats for sure. Also excellent location to tour the city! Short walk to the White House and that area, as well as the mall.

Room Tip: Enjoy one of their suites. Fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We like to staying in the historical hotels when possible. This is a great one. Our room was 3 doors down from where FDR penned his inaugural string, "You have nothing to fear. It fear itself." Amazing! We were somehow upgraded to a suite, so had a lot of room. This was helpful since we were in DC for a week. Service was impeccable--plus we had the luxury of the wonderful Marriott beds and linens. Yes, it is old, it has been recently refurbished. I realized we stayed there when I was a kid and we were in and out of DC frequently. The lobby is a work of art. Staff understated and able to anticipate your needs. I love the history and patina of this place. Can't wait for the opening of the new restaurant Edgar's Bar and Kithen coming soon. Named after J. Edgar Hoover who lunched there almost daily. Another noted, the hotel is so convenient to the metro and public transportation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Recently stayed at the Mayflower Renaissance on a business trip. Hotel was nice, clean, and quiet. The staff was great - all very friendly and attentive. The concierge was especially helpful. The property is well located and within walking distance of convention center. Also very convenient to metro stations.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel
Renaissance Washington, DC Dupon...
#74 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 778 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Quincy
The Quincy
#14 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 841 reviews
JW Marriott Washington DC
#77 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,451 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Loews Madison Hotel
Loews Madison Hotel
#59 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,517 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#17 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mayflower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mayflower Hotel

Address: 1127 Connecticut Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Formerly The Mayflower Renaissance Washington DC)
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#63 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#72 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mayflower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 581
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection has been a vibrant social hub in Washington, DC since opening in 1925. Refreshed and contemporary, our historic hotel newly inspires the city for business or pleasure with its premier location on Connecticut Avenue. The Mayflower delights with a timeless luxury found in our sweeping marble lobby, picturesque ballrooms, in-house health club, and luxury-minded guestrooms, offering plush bedding, high-speed wireless internet, and flat screen TV's. Enjoy a culinary delight at our lively American brasserie EDGAR, or step outside to experience the local flavor of Dupont Circle and other nearby attractions. Effortlessly blending historic tradition and modern luxury here in the heart of the nation's capital, The Mayflower Hotel is national treasure not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your The Mayflower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayflower Hotel Washington Dc
Renaissance Washington Dc
Washington Dc Renaissance
Renaissance Mayflower Hotel
Mayflower Hotel Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mayflower Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.