We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mayflower Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Mayflower Hotel to your Saves list
The Mayflower Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1127 Connecticut Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Formerly The Mayflower Renaissance Washington DC) (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Deal: 20% Off
Ranked #80 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Good hotel. Great location. The place is cool because it is old and I am willing to give up a few of the perks of modern hotels to stay someplace older with some character and history. Place is beautiful. It was hot and the AC never got the place really cold. Rooms are old but decent sized.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    615
    554
    263
    112
    73
See reviews for
351
332
88
598
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brea, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I just spent one week at the Mayflower in DC for business. The Hotel is historic and beautiful but my praise stops there. The staff in most cases seemed somewhat rude. Rooms were dirty and I even asking for housekeeping to resolve the issues, nothing was done. Management even did not return phone calls. I would only recommend the Mayflower Renaissance, DC if you wanted to see a historic location. It is unfortunate I had such a bad experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Lovely clean rooms. Good size beds. Lovely complimentary toiletries. Excellent location for main tourist attractions like The White house, Capitol Building,etc. Don't confuse this with another Renaissance property located not so far away and from the outside did not look half as nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

The location is great: walking distance to Georgetown, Dupont Circle, National Mall - you name it. Most fabulous housekeeping staff I have ever met. Conference buffet food was not great, but not worse than the average food. Highly recommend!

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia, Illinois
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Only stayed here because I found a significantly discounted online rate. Room was spacious and had updated amenities. Great bed. Marriott elite members have access to a nice lounge with free breakfast and free nonalcoholic drinks all day. Literally steps away from red line subway. National Mall is sort of a hike but a good walk if you like to get exercise.
Staff is fantastic--everything you'd expect at a luxury hotel. They even allowed me to keep my discounted rate when I changed the date of my reservation. Fantastic all around!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This was great hotel at one time...but after staying at this property for the last six years its appeal has slowly declined. During my last stay, I was upgraded to a suite. After all I was staying there for 11 nights. I had to call the front desk three times to get the toilet fixed, air-conditioner thermostat replaced, tv remote batteries replaced... The hotel staff are always friendly toward the guests, however, the hotel is just getting old and fixtures are wearing out. The location is great for those visiting the "K" street coridoor, but there are much better hotels at lower costs downtown DC and across the river in Arlington, VA.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

One of the secrets in Washington, DC is that very nice hotels are inexpensive on the weekend and many holidays. We recently took advantage of a great rate to spend time with friends downtown at the Mayflower. Overall, we had a great time in a nice hotel.

There were not many negatives about this visit, but there were two annoyances. First, parking is high, even by DC standards. The hotel charges $45 for overnight parking. The trick to remember is that the parking garage across the alley only charges $22, and is open 24/7, and you can walk out of the garage and right into the hotel. Second, the front desk was very understaffed when we arrived at 3 pm, which was the posted checkin time. There was only one person on duty and long line.

The good news was that we were not disappointed once we obtained the key. We had booked two rooms. At check in I was told that one room was upgraded to a suite because of my Marriott Platinum status, but that the suite was not ready yet. We dropped off our things in one room and left for some museum hopping. I received a call around 4 pm that the suite was ready. When we returned, we discovered that the suite was connected to the room we already had. It included a large living room with a non-working but decorative fireplace, and a large corner bedroom. The room and bath were clean. The suite included a small refrigerator an a wet bar area.

I tend to prefer more modern hotels, but this one was renovated and clean. The weekend rate was great, and it had great access to the metro and places to eat all around the hotel. Overall, a nice place to spend a weekend in the city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel
Renaissance Washington, DC Dupon...
#75 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 785 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Quincy
The Quincy
#14 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 841 reviews
JW Marriott Washington DC
#77 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,459 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#17 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 927 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Loews Madison Hotel
Loews Madison Hotel
#58 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mayflower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mayflower Hotel

Address: 1127 Connecticut Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Formerly The Mayflower Renaissance Washington DC)
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#60 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#74 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mayflower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 581
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection has been a vibrant social hub in Washington, DC since opening in 1925. Refreshed and contemporary, our historic hotel newly inspires the city for business or pleasure with its premier location on Connecticut Avenue. The Mayflower delights with a timeless luxury found in our sweeping marble lobby, picturesque ballrooms, in-house health club, and luxury-minded guestrooms, offering plush bedding, high-speed wireless internet, and flat screen TV's. Enjoy a culinary delight at our lively American brasserie EDGAR, or step outside to experience the local flavor of Dupont Circle and other nearby attractions. Effortlessly blending historic tradition and modern luxury here in the heart of the nation's capital, The Mayflower Hotel is national treasure not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Mayflower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayflower Hotel Washington Dc
Renaissance Washington Dc
Washington Dc Renaissance
Renaissance Mayflower Hotel
Mayflower Hotel Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mayflower Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.