We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comforatble, convenient, great breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel to your Saves list
The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1127 Connecticut Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot Summer Deal: 15% Off
Ranked #83 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
bucks
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Comforatble, convenient, great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2007

First time in Washington at a busy time of year. Mayflower was only option not fully booked as we needed two rooms, but I was pleasantly surprised. Clean room, good bathroom ( small bath ). Outstanding breakfast for a US hotel. Convenient for the sights in Washington. Only the lacklustre service stopped this being a 5 rating. Big hotel and a bit anonymous, with little effort to make you feel like a valued guest. Hotel was full of Cisco delegates on some conference, so that might be one explanation. Lack of decent management might be another. But I would stay here again.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    534
    247
    103
    70
See reviews for
327
308
86
557
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2007

My wife and I recently stayed at the Mayflower and had a wonderful experience. I would agree with other reviews that the rooms are small, but they are tasteful and comfortable. How much time do you spend in your room anyways? The hotel makes a very good first impression upon entering the lobby. It is convenient to the metro (why bother in D.C.) and walking distance to the White House. Also, there are a lot of good pubs & restaurants within walking distance. Mackey's Pub is right around the corner on L Street. Self parking is available around the corner from the hotel for $20 a night. $100 on Priceline.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2007

If you require Wireless Internet, DO NOT stay here. There were many angry businessmen and women who were not very happy because the wireless network did not work all week. Having stayed at the Mayflower twice about 8-10 years ago, I was very disappointed that things have changed since then. The rooms have lost their colonial charm and have been replaced with more modern furniture. The staff, well, no attention to details is the kindest thing I can say about them. As with the previous reviewer, I contacted the hotel directly asking for a romantic surprise for my husband be placed in the room, but they "forgot." Very disappointing. The hotel is for business travelers. The concierge club is closed as of noon Friday. If you are staying for a weekend and you have earned elite status, closing the club tells me that I am not at all important. I was not very happy with my stay. There are definitely better choices.

  • Liked — The lobby is beautiful
  • Disliked — Modern furniture instead of colonial
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Forge, New York
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2007

A historic grand old hotel, nicely redone, however for the price I was disappointed. The on site fitness facility was basic...the "pool" is a pass at the local YMCA..(at 400 dollars a night..I do not think so)..The communication between staff is poor.. While sitting in a friends room (we arrived very early..they offered their room while we waited for ours to be ready) the friendly bellman set up a huge screen monitor, saying it was requested the day before...we called our friends who were walking the town...they had no such request..it was politely removed. When I called a few weeks before my arrival, I explained I was traveling with 2 elderly parents, and I wanted to rent a couple of wheelchairs to have on arrival...this a very important component for this trip..I called again before departure, and was assured the hotel had "plenty" of wheelchairs, no need to rent one...well, you can guess where this ended on Columbus Day Sunday...not a chair to be found...they did manage to find one after considerable whining by me (I hate to complain)...they found 1 (not 2). At this price and calibre hotel..I would expect more. I absolutely believe you can do better in this price range.

  • Liked — lobby and location
  • Disliked — lack of communication
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
park city utah
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2007

Our stay at the Mayflower was wonderful. The location is a nice walk to Dupont Circle and the Mall. The Metro is less than 1/2 block away. The room was a nice size and very thoughtfully laid out. Our rate included a buffet breakfast which was nicely prepared in the lovely old restaurant. After walking for several hours we came back one day for tea and soup. A harpist played while we read the paper and relaxed. It was expensive but very nice. This hotel takes you back to a more elegant time. It is now owned by Marriot and part of their Renaissance chain. I checked all of the online travel rates and found the same rate at the hotel website. The weekend rate of $224.00 (including breakfast for 2) was a bargain for what we received. If you enjoy old world hotels that have been beautifully rennovated this hotel has both the lovely lobby and nice rooms.

  • Liked — location, room, restaurant and friendly staff
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2007

Gorgeous lobby. Very large, welcoming fully staffed information desk. They were knowledgable about the best way to get around in the city driving or by metro. Their directions were immaculate and that's saying alot for driving directions.
Very nice hotel staff. Not too pushy or talkative just comfortable to be around and polite. Cucumber infused water in the lobby. Very clean room with wonderful full length mirror and top notch bathroom facilities (granite, gold, beautiful fixtures, etc.) Great location in great neighborhood. Near metro and major streets so driving is easy whether into DC or Bethesda, MD. Shopping nearby is topnotch, high end discount and staple chains like Victorias Secret.

  • Liked — quality of furnishings
  • Disliked — 30 min wait for valet car pickup
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Renaissance Mayflower Hotel for three nights over a long weekend and had a terrific time. We booked the hotel over Priceline so we didn't know exactly where we'd end up but we had requested a 4-star and found that the Mayflower was up to that description in every way. Our room was small but comfortable with a large bath, a large plasma television and whisper-quiet air conditioning. The property itself is absolutely gorgeous although we didn't spend much time there really, we were in town for the opening of the Edward Hopper exhibit at the National Gallery. Everything from check in to check out was made easy and simple. Plus it is in a vibrant neighborhood with lots of restaurants and shops very nearby and most importantly, the metro stop is just a few doors down. Since we arrived on a Friday evening, the front desk suggested that we could save on parking garage fees because anyone can park for free at meters all weekend long and we did exactly that just two blocks away.

  • Liked — Location, overall quality, quiet and comfort.
  • Disliked — Lack of free internet access - maybe because our room was so inexpensive.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel

Address: 1127 Connecticut Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#55 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#67 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#73 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 657
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel effortlessly blends historic tradition and modern luxury here in the heart of the Nation's Capital. Once described by President Truman as Washington, DC's "second best address", our hotel is listed on the National Register of Historic Places, and has captivated visitors since opening its doors in 1925. Many of the luxury touches that originally graced the hotel have been preserved - along with contemporary amenities designed to enhance your stay. 657 Guest rooms and 74 luxury suites boast marble bathrooms and deluxe bath products; flat-screen TVs and high-speed Internet access allow you to relax or connect as you see fit. Our magnificent Mayflower Suite features a private terrace with stunning Washington, DC views. Hosting an event? We offer sophisticated venue space to suit any occasion. And our prime downtown location enables you to explore this fascinating city with ease. Book an unforgettable stay with us at The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayflower Hotel Washington Dc
Renaissance Washington Dc
Washington Dc Renaissance
Renaissance Mayflower Hotel
Mayflower Hotel Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mayflower Renaissance Washington, DC Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.