We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Washington Plaza to your Saves list
Washington Plaza
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Thomas Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Logan Circle/ Shaw)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park & Stay Package
Ranked #39 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed 3 nights at this great location in DC. Arrived early and asked to see if they could accommodate me and there was a room available earlier than check-in. I was then upgraded for free from a queen room to a king room with a balcony. Free upgrade and free wi-fi= love at first sight. ATM on site and gift shop too.

The room: Overlooked the spectacular pool. Bed was very comfortable. Free bath and body works toiletries were present in the bathroom. Water pressure and temp in the shower was great. TV had many stations to choose from and there was a safe in the room for valuables. Very clean.

Service: Incredibly friendly and accommodating staff from the front desk, bellman, doorman, housekeeping, restaurant, and room service. I felt like royalty. Prompt and attentive.

Restaurant: Had the Sunday brunch buffet which featured rib-eye steak, pastas, salads, and desserts. Mimosas are available. A little pricey though but I filled my tummy.

Turn down service: Free bottled water, prepared the room for bed, and filled the ice bucket up to the brim. Great to come back to after a day out wandering.

Location: Not too far from the DCA airport. There is a 24 hour CVS located across the street which came in handy for items that I forgot to bring. Near a metro station and within walking distances (15-20 minutes) of some of the sites to see.

Pool: Very inviting after a hot day in the DC sun.

Incidentals: about $60 the first night and $50 each additional night. Released upon check out depending on what was charged to the room.

Con: noisy police sirens but that is outside of the hotel's hands.

All in all great place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. I’m delighted to learn that you enjoyed your accommodations and found your bed comfortable, our team incredibly friendly and the pool inviting. I’m also pleased to hear that you took advantage of our new Sunday Brunch Buffet at 10 Thomas Restaurant! I’m so glad you experienced our warm hospitality during your visit, and we hope to see you back soon.

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    634
    606
    180
    60
    63
See reviews for
298
490
134
317
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beavercreek, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

My husband I and stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. We parked the car in the garage and walked everywhere. You are close to all the museums, The Mall, Georgetown Shopping etc. The Price was good especially the parking and breakfast was included. The room was spacious, clean, the pool was a refresher after a hot walk around DC. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We will be back for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the balcony. Also, ask for Breakfast to be included. By the time you find a pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments! I’m pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and our accommodations and location fit your needs. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Washington, DC!

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Great location in central Washington and a wonderful street level pool.
Well trained staff who provided service above expectation.
Rooms and other facilities above average combining to give good value.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. I’m delighted to hear that you enjoyed our location and our service exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I'll admit some reviews had me a little nervous, but I think some people are rating this spot on 5+ star hotel standards. IMO this hotel doesn't claim to be all red carpet luxury. If you want luxury & all the bells & whistles, choose & PAY for a hotel in that category...I'm off my soap box now LOL

Stayed here on a Spring Break trip w/ my kiddo & it was a fabo experience!When we arrived the staff was on their toes & very helpful. We were quickly checked in & given the Wi-Fi access code. Wi-Fi worked excellently during our stay BTW. No problems w/ internet speed at all.

The day we arrived & each day of our stay, the room was spic & span. The bed linens were fresh...I'm one of those people that pulls the covers back & like digs through the sheets, all the way down to the box spring :-) The bathroom was equally clean. Loved the fact the shower head was a little higher (I'm kinda tall) & the water actually got nice & hot! Thought the complimentary bottled water daily was nice.

Now, the best things about this hotel are 1) Location & 2) Cost....you really couldn't beat the price considering how close you are to many of the attractions. I was expecting to pay a bit more than I did considering the location.There are plenty of bars, restaurants & things to do within quick walking distance. An added bonus was the CVS right across the street for those "dang I forgot to grab the _____" runs.

I didn't try the room service or their restaurant. Yeah these prices were a lil steep, but I mean it's a hotel, it's to be expected. Had a cocktail one night at their bar & it was fine. Service was quick & drink poured nicely.

All in all it was a great experience & I would gladly book here again. I've not run into a hotel staff that was on point all the way around in a very long time...which can make all the difference in the world when you're on vacay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay and your praise of our hotel. I’m delighted to hear that you had a fabulous experience with us! I’m glad that our hotel rooms and amenities were to your liking. Thank you for taking the time to recognize our colleagues and the excellent service they provide. We all look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Washington, DC!


Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myerstown
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This was a SUPER hotel. Clean, friendly, and safe! Parked car underground…not scary. The pool was A+. I think a lot of business people use this hotel, so pool is underused…great for kids. Room service was excellent…a treat for my daughter. Try the mac and cheese - it is linguine noodles with a rich sauce!!! Fries were super. Great caesar salad. No more expensive than a diner. Walked the first day - a 10 year old could make it downtown with breaks. The next day we took subway from the Capitol area back and only had to walk 4 blocks back to hotel. Not a lot of places to eat around hotel, pizza shop and The Brown Bag were good. Nice mini-fridge, good TV with cable channels, nice AC. CVS across street. GREAT bathroom separated with a sink area and closed off with door for extra privacy for changing area. Bath and Body toiletries! Great place…will stay the next time and recommend to all friends.

Room Tip: Back side of hotel has no view, but much quieter than front. We like that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I am delighted to hear that you had a great stay and you could take advantage of all the hotel has to offer. I’m glad that you and your family enjoyed our beautiful pool. I also appreciate your comments regarding the excellent room service – it is an option that provides great convenience. The Caesar Salad is a favorite among our guests as seen in previous reviews. Thank you for your kind recommendation and we hope to welcome you back very soon!

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Just the kind of hotel if you need peace and quiet. Loved the pool area and very comfortable
lounge chairs. Pool side service is a plus. Sunday brunch on the patio was delightful. Staff was
very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Washington Plaza. It’s wonderful to read that you were able to have a quiet and relaxing stay in such an active city. I’m delighted to hear that you enjoyed our Sunday Brunch on the patio. Please come back and see us again soon!

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Centra...
#90 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 717 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
One Washington Circle Hotel
#28 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 988 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Quincy
The Quincy
#14 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 841 reviews
Upper Northwest
The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel
The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel
#42 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Plaza

Address: 10 Thomas Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Logan Circle/ Shaw , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Venere, TripOnline SA and TIG Global so you can book your Washington Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Plaza Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Plaza Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.