We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hello D.C. Have you been to their new BRUNCH!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Washington Plaza to your Saves list
Washington Plaza
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Thomas Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Logan Circle/ Shaw)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hello D.C. Have you been to their new BRUNCH!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

My friends and I were looking for a hotel in DC during April. We didn't realize how hard it is to find a nice hotel during Cherry Blossom season! We booked our rooms and we pleasantly surprised! I have been a hotelier for over ten years, so you can imagine how critical and picky I can be when staying at any hotel. Many hotels now a days lack the customer service and staff presence that make guest feel so welcome. The bell staff welcomed us before we reached the door and even opened our doors and helped us with our luggage. The front desk staff were Amazing! You rarely see many people greeting and or behind the desk greeting guests. As many times as we entered and left the hotel we were greeted with a warm hello every time! The rooms were large, clean, and the bed was extremely comfortable!!! But, my absolute favorite part of out stay was their hidden gem of a restaurant. We ended up eating there almost every night! Their executive chef Luca De Marchis, who opened the Padella Restaurant at The Westin in Dulles, did amazing job. He came out to greet our party and explained the authentic Northern Italian dishes! They even hand make their pasta everyday! Truly awesome meal! And to top it all off we went to their brand new Sunday Brunch!!! Hello D.C., you should be here every Sunday! The pricing is incredible and there is so much good! You get bottomless mimosas and bloody Mary's ! They have so many options. Everything from kale and cashew salad, smoked salmon, smoked trout, Italian sausage and polenta, hummus, artichoke dip, an insane omelette station, pork belly, beef, roasted bone marrow, chicken, ham, and pork and my favorite the fresh pasta bar. They even have passed plates of beignets, mini pancakes, and yummy mini Reuben sandwiches. Really awesome find!!! And an excellent example for a passionate and customer oriented hotel! Seriously you need to try their brunch!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you so much for such a glowing review of our hotel. I’m delighted to know you were so impressed with our accommodations and our team. I greatly appreciate your kind comments regarding our delicious Sunday Brunch Buffet that recently debuted at 10 Thomas Restaurant. Your recommendation is our biggest compliment. Please come back and see us again soon!

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    536
    169
    57
    60
See reviews for
263
444
122
275
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We are very pleased with the staff and property of this hotel! We stayed at the Four Season's in STL for our wedding night and the staff/service was just as strong here at the Plaza! We will come back again! Great location for seeing all the DC sights and there is a capital bike-share station right in front of the hotel which makes it easy to get around!!!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong! Worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for choosing to start your honeymoon at the Washington Plaza and for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay. I am delighted to hear that you were so pleased with our guest service and location. We are looking forward to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

This was my third stay at this hotel; perhaps the best value for money in the area. Location is convenient, room and bathroom very clean and quite spacious, very comfortable bed, wifi was fast, staff was ok, some street noise did not bother me. I had lunch and dinner a couple of times and it was fine, not great variety for breakfast though.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you very much for the 5-star review! I was pleased to read that our convenient location and comfortable and clean accommodations keep you returning to our hotel. We look forward to your next visit so that you may enjoy another stay with us.

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This is a older hotel so if you're ok with little things like a sink in the bedroom and a few stains on frayed carpet this works. It worked fine for me. Bed was comfortable. Water was hot. Last minute upcharge from a king to a double at $30/night was disappointing.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback. My apologies for any inconveniences you experienced while staying with us. I was glad, however, that you found the bed comfortable and hopefully you were able to have a rejuvenating sleep. While I am sorry to hear not everything was to your liking, I sincerely hope you return to the Washington Plaza Hotel in the future so that we may improve upon your impression of our hotel.

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This is a great hotel to stay at while visiting DC. We visited for the weekend (3 nights) as a couple. The hotel staff are friendly. The room was great - nice modern look, nice size HD TV, very large bathroom (ours seemed to be the exception though), and a great view of the Thomas circle. Five stars for pillow quality - I don't have pillows that good at home. It is about 10 minutes to the white house and 15 to the mall. Everything else is close - within 30 minutes walking distance. Subway is close as well (2 min walk) and the subway lines are fairly developed. Georgetown is about 40 minutes away walking distance and the walk is nice. There are a couple of cafes nearby, including one serving crepes, and A Pon Pain, all of which are great breakfast places. Parking is $25 for self-park, which we used, and a bit more for valet. Self-park is very convenient - like any underground garage. The garage itself is well lit and in a good condition. The pool outside was under construction in early April 2014. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Thomas Circle for a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to hear that you had such a great stay at our hotel and our rooms and amenities were to your liking. It's so important to us that you are comfortable while staying with us. It was a pleasure to have as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurinburg
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Clean room. Comfortable bed. Local shops and restaurants are within walking distance. Short cab ride to the Verizon Center if your attending an event there. Enjoyed the balcony. Not many hotels have them any more unless you're on the beach.

Room Tip: King bed with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent visit with us. I am delighted to read that our location was the perfect spot to compliment your travels to Washington, DC. I’m glad your enjoyed the balcony. We look forward to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This place rocks. Rooms are great - good sized, great view of Thomas circle, excellent location. But the best part is the staff. They truly make you feel like they want to serve you. I stayed here over Easter this year and lat may and the bartender remembered me! I will never stay anywhere else in DC.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you so much for the 5-star review! I am delighted to learn you had a great stay. Your comments provide a great source of encouragement for our entire team. I am fortunate to work with such a great team of employees that truly care about each of our guests. We all look forward to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Plaza

Address: 10 Thomas Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Logan Circle/ Shaw , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Washington Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Plaza Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Plaza Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.