We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sparkling clean, helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Washington Plaza to your Saves list
Washington Plaza
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Thomas Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% Off Promotion!
Ranked #27 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
Virginia, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sparkling clean, helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I just can't say enough about this hotel. We loved everything about it. Every surface that could be cleaned, literally sparkled. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. The door men hailed our cabs and met us at the door after our days exploring with a 'welcome back'. In such a big city, it was comforting to know we had some people who would help us if we needed anything. The restaurant was lovely, excellent food prepared in creative ways. Expensive? - not any more than anywhere else in DC. The room was small but we did have a balcony, which was very fun. We were really out and about all day. The housekeeper came twice a day, of course in the morning but again in the evening to turn down the bed and bring us each a bottle of water which, again, was nice. It was really such a lovely hotel. Very very good location to the monuments, White House etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a room w a balcony. Nice little table and chairs for viewing the neighborhood and relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you so much for reviewing our property. Your comments provided a great source of encouragement for our entire team. We are delighted to know you had such a wonderful experience at our hotel. Thank you for recognizing our efforts and we hope to see you on your next visit to Washington, DC.

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    511
    160
    56
    60
See reviews for
259
430
115
259
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This place is very good value. The building (Lapidus design) is lovely, a treat for the eyes from the exterior and equally good to be in, if you like a modernist lobby and the smooth lines of mid-century architecture. I do, and while it's been refurbished it has held its stylish edge. Very painless check-in and we were upgraded straight away -- our room was large, decor inoffensive and even somewhat stylish. It's a good spot for eating around Logan Circle or down to Dupont Circle, so we didn't try the restaurant, but I wish we had, because it looked cool-retro in there. Desk staff were helpful with wake-up calls and other bits of business. Everything was painless. Big fish tanks in the lobby were a nice touch, ditto the mid-century chairs, lounges, the orchids, the screens. It felt nice to be in there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for staying with us during your trip to Washington, DC. I am delighted to read that the check in process was smooth and efficient and you were able to enjoy our welcoming lobby and unique decor. Perhaps during your next stay you can dine at the Ten Thomas Restaurant and try some of our Chef's delicious meals! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This hotel offers all amenities in a most graceful manner. I was tired when checked in: a king-size bed with 6 pillows (count em!) took care of that! Thomas Circle is an area of large office buildings (mostly non-government), not the most interesting part of DC if you're seeking nightlife and restaurants. Tourists might prefer a hotel elsewhere. Good, well-run hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for choosing Washington Plaza Hotel and for taking the time to share your experience with us. I'm happy to read that you enjoyed your trip and found our hotel operations to be run so smoothly. It’s great that you have been able to rest in our comfortable beds upon your arrival. We look forward to welcoming you back into the hotel.

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Excellent accommodation, very friendly & helpful. Would definitely stay there again. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. Close to all the big sights of Washington DC and restaurants. The hotel food was good too.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I’m delighted to hear that you enjoyed our central location and found our team friendly and accommodating. I’m glad you took advantage of the food and beverage from the Ten Thomas Restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I stayed at the Washington Plaza for two nights; its quite central, convenient to DuPont circle and many restaurants. Rooms were clean and comfortable. For the business traveller, excellent; I'll stay there again without a second thought.

Room Tip: Note: I did not use room service during my brief stay (clicked Service excellent and can't remov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. Being comfortable during business travel is so important and I’m happy to learn that you enjoyed your accommodations. We are looking forward to welcome you back if business or pleasure brings you back to Washington, DC.

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

We spent three nights here and visited many of the sights using the metro, bus and walking to some of them. Very convenient too to restaurants in the area, 14th Street, DuPont Circle, Chinatown, etc. Staff were helpful and it was a mice gesture to receive a call after checking in to find out whether everything was okay. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback! I’m delighted to read that you enjoyed the convenient location of our hotel and were able to experience our friendly guest service. We appreciate your recommendation, and we hope your travels bring you back to Washington, DC soon!

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Location was great,close to Metro entrance.All employees were very help full and friendly.The rooms were very clean.Had breakfast and dinner at the the hotel and found the food and service to be very good! Would come back to Washington Plaza next time in Washington,DC.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of Thomas Circle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you so much for the 5-star review! I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed our central location and the delicious meals from Ten Thomas Restaurant. Thank you for taking the time to recognize our colleagues and the excellent service they provide. Please come back and see us again soon!

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Plaza

Address: 10 Thomas Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#41 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Amex, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, TIG Global and Tingo so you can book your Washington Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Plaza Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Plaza Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.