We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Washington Plaza to your Saves list
Washington Plaza
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Thomas Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Logan Circle/ Shaw)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book & Save 10%
Ranked #38 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

If you don't mind walking a little bit, the location is handy to the White House and other sights, it's about 10 minutes' walk to the White House. However, some of the neighbourhood to the north and east are a bit less than desirable. We took a walk to the nearest supermarket, which was about 5 minutes away, and it was in a really bad area of town, which felt really unsafe. Otherwise good value and good location for tourists. Just don't go any further north or east.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and hope you will come back and visit the next time you are traveling to Washington, DC.

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    573
    175
    59
    63
See reviews for
281
474
130
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aquebogue, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed at the Washington Plaza for three nights. Great location; it's within walking distance of all the major sights (on the mall) and some great restaurants and bars (on 14th St). Unlike some other reviewers, we had no problem with the (free) wifi, and our room had a large bathroom with a tub. Every member of the staff was friendly and helpful. The turn-down service that included a filled ice bucket and 2 bottles of water was a great surprise. We got an incredible internet/slow season rate. We had to tack on $30/ night for parking, but that is a typical parking fee in DC. I have stayed at hotels costing three times as much and have been a lot less happy! I highly recommend staying here. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant, so I'm unable to rate it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of the amenities offered. I am delighted to learn that our entire team was able to make such a positive impression during your stay. We take pride in providing a comfortable hospitality experience in the heart of Washington, DC. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

A reasonable walk to Metro McPherson and a very clean hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The bathrooms were a bit small and the toilet is almost blocking the shower (no tub), but otherwise the room was OK. We used Hotels.com and got a great rate.

Room Tip: Avoid elevator areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. It was great to read that you found our team helpful and friendly, the hotel clean and the location convenient for your needs. On your next visit, please let us know your preference for rooms with a larger bathroom so that we may ensure a perfect stay. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back.

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericktown
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I stayed at the Washington Plaza earlier this week, and was quite impressed. I rode the Metro in from Reagan Airport to the McPherson Sq. Station, a short walk to the hotel. The building looks to have been remodeled in the past coupled of years, and the service was great. Each person from the front desks attendants, bellhops, and servers in the restaurant were delightful. Every inch of the hotel was clean; the outdoor, and indoor surroundings were very well kept. I greatly enjoyed my stay, this hotel was conveniently located, friendly, clean. Also, I was over joyed to see the Washington Post waiting at my door in the morning rather than USA Today, a nice change. I would recommend this hotel for anyone traveling to Washington DC.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Very nice, very clean. Great customer service. Good location. Nothing negative to say about this hotel. Appreciated the free bottled water each day. The price for the area seemed to be very competitive. I noticed many sirens at all hours of the day or night, so maybe request a room away from the street side of the building.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White River Junction, Vermont
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I was wondering how the hotel would be given how inexpensive it was for us and was pleasantly surprised. I loved the "Mad Men" feel of the hotel and was impressed by the cleanliness of the room and the newly up-to-date bathroom and linens. We'll stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I went there two years ago (really that was already 2 years ago?!). Still remember that chili winter in DC with two of my best friends. The hotel was on sale on 3rd party website. Got a great deal and the total stay was memorable. Friendly staff and beautiful decor. The bed and room are displayed like home.
We ordered room service in the morning. Delivered on time and the beverage was kept hot, which is important for breakfast room service!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Plaza

Address: 10 Thomas Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Logan Circle/ Shaw , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#38 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#54 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline and TIG Global so you can book your Washington Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Plaza Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Plaza Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.