We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for sight seeing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Washington Plaza to your Saves list
Washington Plaza
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Thomas Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Logan Circle/ Shaw)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park & Stay Package
Ranked #39 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Hotel for sight seeing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

A reasonable walk to Metro McPherson and a very clean hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The bathrooms were a bit small and the toilet is almost blocking the shower (no tub), but otherwise the room was OK. We used Hotels.com and got a great rate.

Room Tip: Avoid elevator areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. It was great to read that you found our team helpful and friendly, the hotel clean and the location convenient for your needs. On your next visit, please let us know your preference for rooms with a larger bathroom so that we may ensure a perfect stay. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back.

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    634
    606
    180
    60
    63
See reviews for
298
490
134
317
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericktown
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I stayed at the Washington Plaza earlier this week, and was quite impressed. I rode the Metro in from Reagan Airport to the McPherson Sq. Station, a short walk to the hotel. The building looks to have been remodeled in the past coupled of years, and the service was great. Each person from the front desks attendants, bellhops, and servers in the restaurant were delightful. Every inch of the hotel was clean; the outdoor, and indoor surroundings were very well kept. I greatly enjoyed my stay, this hotel was conveniently located, friendly, clean. Also, I was over joyed to see the Washington Post waiting at my door in the morning rather than USA Today, a nice change. I would recommend this hotel for anyone traveling to Washington DC.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Very nice, very clean. Great customer service. Good location. Nothing negative to say about this hotel. Appreciated the free bottled water each day. The price for the area seemed to be very competitive. I noticed many sirens at all hours of the day or night, so maybe request a room away from the street side of the building.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White River Junction, Vermont
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I was wondering how the hotel would be given how inexpensive it was for us and was pleasantly surprised. I loved the "Mad Men" feel of the hotel and was impressed by the cleanliness of the room and the newly up-to-date bathroom and linens. We'll stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I went there two years ago (really that was already 2 years ago?!). Still remember that chili winter in DC with two of my best friends. The hotel was on sale on 3rd party website. Got a great deal and the total stay was memorable. Friendly staff and beautiful decor. The bed and room are displayed like home.
We ordered room service in the morning. Delivered on time and the beverage was kept hot, which is important for breakfast room service!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
131 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I liked the free internet, free bottle water, and the hotel being close to the metro. The staff is also very friendly. Little annoying things included, an unreasonable long wait to get checked in (3 receptionists 2 helping one guest and the third seemingly chatting with another about other hotels?), no local TV stations working, a somewhat tricky room key (remove slowly), and very hot hallways (it was an unusually warm Dec. day). I'd stay there again if the price was right, but wouldn't pay a premium.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed here by chance from a booking off of priceline. Hotel was pretty big and very nice and clean. All the staff are very friendly. Restaurant in the hotel has great food at a reasonable price. The rooms seem to be a little small, but I assume they want to get as many people in the hotel as they can, so maybe that was the intent. The rooms are very nice and have everything you'd need for a few days stay. Hotel is located in downtown DC and is a walk to a lot of sites.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Centra...
#89 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 718 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
One Washington Circle Hotel
#28 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 989 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Quincy
The Quincy
#14 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 841 reviews
Upper Northwest
The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel
The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel
#43 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Plaza

Address: 10 Thomas Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Logan Circle/ Shaw , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and TIG Global so you can book your Washington Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Plaza Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Plaza Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.