We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Clean Hotel in the City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Washington Plaza to your Saves list
Washington Plaza
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Thomas Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Logan Circle/ Shaw)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park & Stay Package
Ranked #39 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
White River Junction, Vermont
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice Clean Hotel in the City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I was wondering how the hotel would be given how inexpensive it was for us and was pleasantly surprised. I loved the "Mad Men" feel of the hotel and was impressed by the cleanliness of the room and the newly up-to-date bathroom and linens. We'll stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    584
    176
    60
    63
See reviews for
285
479
130
303
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I went there two years ago (really that was already 2 years ago?!). Still remember that chili winter in DC with two of my best friends. The hotel was on sale on 3rd party website. Got a great deal and the total stay was memorable. Friendly staff and beautiful decor. The bed and room are displayed like home.
We ordered room service in the morning. Delivered on time and the beverage was kept hot, which is important for breakfast room service!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I liked the free internet, free bottle water, and the hotel being close to the metro. The staff is also very friendly. Little annoying things included, an unreasonable long wait to get checked in (3 receptionists 2 helping one guest and the third seemingly chatting with another about other hotels?), no local TV stations working, a somewhat tricky room key (remove slowly), and very hot hallways (it was an unusually warm Dec. day). I'd stay there again if the price was right, but wouldn't pay a premium.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed here by chance from a booking off of priceline. Hotel was pretty big and very nice and clean. All the staff are very friendly. Restaurant in the hotel has great food at a reasonable price. The rooms seem to be a little small, but I assume they want to get as many people in the hotel as they can, so maybe that was the intent. The rooms are very nice and have everything you'd need for a few days stay. Hotel is located in downtown DC and is a walk to a lot of sites.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed here for four nights. Rooms are small, but they were clean - plus it was a nice amenity to receive two bottles of water plus ice delivered to my room each evening. Beds are not all that comfortable - I kept waking up during the night because of it. Exercise room is a disappointment as there's very little space. The restaurant's breakfast leaves much to be desired. Found the staff to be friendly. Only a 10-minute walk from the White House and the Smithsonian museums.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Me and a friend stayed in this hotel for 3N/4D on November 15-18, 2012. The facilities were great.. the room was beyond what we expected (in a good way). We paid $125 per room per night and that is cheap considering the facilities and the room of this hotel. The room is clean.. the hallway is well lit. The bed was comfy and nice.. the whole atmosphere of this hotel exudes a 5 star hotel for a 3-4 star rate per night.

The only downfall is that it is not near the tourist attractions. Its about 15 minutes away by cab from white house and about 20 minutes or more from Union Station and Smithsonian.

If i were to go back to DC and would like to stay in a hotel that is not crowded.. i would stay again in this hotel but if i want to go to the tourist attractions, i would stay in a hotel nearer. You need a cab (which is additional cost for a tourist) if you want to visit the tourist spots.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I was at Washington Plaza for 1 night only. The experience was good in general. The bed was comfortable, the room clean and there is complementary wifi. The room I got was a bit noisy due to the DC traffic and also some weird loud noise every time the heater came on. I'll blame that on the room itself and since I didn't ask for another room, I won't hold it against the hotel.

The location is pretty good, Thomas Circle is very lively and there are a number of restaurants in walking distance.

I pretty much got what I paid for, a nice room, with a nice bed for me to spend a night in. No complains here. The staff was very polite and pleasant as well.

Room Tip: Try and get a room that does not face the DC traffic. The noise kept waking me up while I was sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Washington Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Plaza

Address: 10 Thomas Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Logan Circle/ Shaw , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#38 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#53 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, BookIt.com and TIG Global so you can book your Washington Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Plaza Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Plaza Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.