We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ Good but not great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Plaza

Save Saved
You added Washington Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Washington Plaza
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Thomas Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% Off Promotion!
Ranked #32 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“ Good but not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 24 h inbetween flights. Decent location, fresh but little plain interior. Not very thick walls/doors but was never bothered - guess it depends on your neighbours... Nothing to complain about really so could stay here again, but just nothing special that would stop me from trying another next time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I am glad to hear our hotel met your travel needs and you would consider staying with us again. I sincerely hope you return to the Washington Plaza in the future so that we may improve upon your impression of our hotel.


Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,259 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    511
    477
    156
    55
    60
See reviews for
245
403
108
242
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
287 helpful votes 287 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I called the hotel the day before arrival and spoke with Monica who was very interested in our visit and made notes about our visit - thanks Monica!! On arrival at the hotel from walking through the front door to checking in with Rachael to the housekeeping staff to the restaurant staff - we all noticed how friendly and polite everyone was! We booked two rooms - one for my friend celebrating her 40th birthday and one for me and my husband celebrating his 50th birthday. On arrival both rooms were upgraded to suites - we also got rooms facing the pool area so the view of Thomas Circle was great - thank you! Although we arrived early at the hotel (10am on Saturday) expecting to have to put our luggage into storage we got both rooms immediately - what a delightful surprise. The rooms were very spacious and the decor bright and modern - also very clean!! We had no problems with noise despite the hotel being fully sold out and being near to the elevator! The hotel is in a great location to all the major sightseeing attractions in DC and also close to the Metro which made getting around easy. The breakfast at No 10 on Sunday morning was very nice and great value for money for the main buffet! Thanks to Rachael and the management and staff at Washington Plaza for making this special celebration a stay to remember.

Room Tip: Request a view of the pool area - great location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor. I am so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and found our team to be so friendly and accommodating. It's wonderful to hear that they were able to upgrade you to suites with great views of Thomas Circle and our pool. I’m also delighted to learn that you enjoyed the convenient location of our hotel and the breakfast from the Ten Thomas Restaurant. We hope this experience brings you back to stay with us upon your return to Washington, DC.

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My husband and I booked this hotel online based on a few reviews and mainly the location for a long birthday weekend. (6 blocks behind the Whitehouse) It was basically a steal for $70 a night!

First when we arrived at the front desk exceptionally wonderful and personable service was provided. We told him it was my birthday and we got upgraded to a higher floor. It was so sweet!

The Room- Spacious and Modern with all of the conveniences of a good hotel room. Wonderful bath area. High end shampoos and soaps were a plus! Great view of Thomas Circle.

This hotel is within walking distance in each direction of everything we wanted to see... Georgetown, the Whitehouse, the Smithsonian Museums, etc!

Restaurants were a little iffy in the area... we did head out towards Georgetown the second night and found some amazing places. (Georgetown Cupcakes)

All in all- I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your birthday weekend! I am delighted you enjoyed your stay, our convenient location and the high floor upgrade. I was pleased to read you found the room modern and spacious and you loved our amenities. We strive to give great service to all our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbank, Iowa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The room was clean but small. We eat at the resturant twice and we really enjoyed the meals. We were in walking distance to most of the attractions which was very convenient. We had one problem with our own car that was parked below the hotel. The pipes above our car leaked some sort of lime/calcium deposit on it. It was real hard to get off. The only thing that would work was CLR cleaner.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed the convenient location of our hotel and the delicious meals from the Ten Thomas Restaurant. However, I am so sorry to hear about the issue with your car and I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused. Your feedback is much appreciated and we hope this will not deter you from visiting us again in the future.

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth County
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Hotel was priced good for a weekend visit, but way too high weekdays. Bar/food on premises, although we didn't eat there (a lot in walking distance). Prepare to walk, parking is tough in this area, we paid $30 to pay for our stay underground the hotel in addition to the room price - but this is normal in that area. About a mile walk to the White House & other things to see in that area. Shuttles all over, best way to get around. The down point of this (and other hotels in DC) is that the stairs are not freely accessible.

Room Tip: There were 3 rates, a full priced, one with a 24-hour cancellation period, and the best was one with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your review and for staying with us! It’s great to hear you enjoyed the close proximity of our hotel to many DC attractions and public transportation. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The staff was excellent and super friendly, from the doorman to front desk to the bar. While my room was quite small, it was clean and the bed with SIX pillows was awesome. The only one issue I noticed was the inconsistent hot water. My showers went from cool to hot, neither extreme but it's the one thing I remember that was bad. The food at the bar/intl restaurant is excellent (recommend the hanger steak). Hotel location is excellent and a quick walk to many good restaurants and bars, easy walk to the convention center as well as the white house and other attractions on the mall.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback. It’s wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I appreciate the compliments about our friendly team, comfortable beds and convenient location. I am sorry that you encountered issues with the water temperature in the shower. We are committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused and do not hesitate to contact me directly for any assistance in the future.

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Really enjoyed my stay at the Washington Plaza, we had a nice room on the top floor which was spacious and spotlessly clean. Room had all the usual amenities + a fridge and free wifi.

The staff were very friendly and professional. Some other nice touches, for example a newspaper was left outside the door every morning and someone would come round in the early evening and fill up the ice bucket and leave some bottles of water in the room - very welcome after lots of walking on a warm day.

Location was pretty convenient, roughly a 15 minute walk from the white house. There was also a pharmacy across the street and a number of food options in the surrounding area.

Would definitely recommend the Washington Plaza.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Plaza

Address: 10 Thomas Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#43 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Plaza 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel, TIG Global and Venere so you can book your Washington Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Plaza Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Plaza Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.