We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Give Yourself Some Credit
Ranked #16 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great location and hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

My room was small, however the bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean. DuPont circle is less than 5 mins walk which makes for a great location. All in all I liked the hotel a lot. My one grip was charging $16 for a horrible buffet breakfast which is served in a meeting room. I understand the restaurant was being refurbished, but their solution was a joke. They should not be charging guests such a large amount for nothing. I would have been really annoyed if I was there more than 1 morning. During refurbishment offer continual as part of the room charge.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,798
    718
    183
    71
    20
See reviews for
570
1,113
203
606
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oldham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Well situated for all major sites in Washington DC most within walking distance. Staff polite, helpful and cheerful. Rooms clean and of reasonable size. We had breakfast included at the hotel and found the food plenty full and varied. The 5 o'clock happy hour where the hotel supplies free wine and cocktails for one hour is not to be missed after a long day sightseeing. You will read other reviews regarding access to the lifts which are currently undergoing renovation. Yes it is a slight inconvenience but one which did not spoil the overall positive experience of staying at the hotel and of course once the work is completed things will revert to normal. This hotel is well worth considering if visiting Washington DC. There is free WiFi on request and in room coffee making facilities if you request it although there is free coffee and drinking water in reception.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester MN
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a 3-night stay in a junior suite at the Palomar. Their restaurant is closed for upgrading, as was one of the three elevators so that limited our assessment to Very Good. There are many nice amenities at the Kimpton properties -- excellent (free) coffee starting at 6 AM in the lobby, use of a bicycle if you wish, fun location, popular Happy Hour in the lobby, great bed + linens. We used the DuPont Circle Metro easily for our many trips. Would definitely stay at the Palomar again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

I really don't like this hotel. I've stayed a many Kimpton's, so I do get the concept, but my experience of this particular Kimpton has been bad (I'm staying in it right now, actually):

--I got one of the best rooms in the hotel, and yet the view is of the wall of a building. Apparently all of the rooms have similar views.
--DC is empty right now, and I could have stayed at any hotel in DC for this price, but I choose Palomar because of its restaurant and bar. Well, turn out both are closed! When I checked in, I mentioned to the woman behind they counter that the website should have notified me of the lack of a restaurant she very snottily said "it is on the website!" I looked, and yes, buried on a page nobody would go to, it does say it...but that's ridiculous, it should be stated very clearly on the home page. Of course that would mean less revenue, so they instead chose to hide it...
--Jack hammers going off in front of the hotel as the redo the restaurant.
--Generally impersonal staff.
--Room service wasn't there when I called and I am still waiting for them to get back to me after being "paged."
--One of the elevators has been out of service the whole time i've been here, and the other two are painfully slow. So, we end up using the service elevator down a dirty hall.

There's very little positive I can say about the place except that the room is big. Stay away. Perhaps it's better with a working restaurant, elevator and room service...

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMJennings, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Hello Penelope Rose,

We hope you are still here. We really want to fix this for you before you leave. Please send me a note at mark.jennings@kimptonhotels.com so we know who you are and can reach out.

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We stayed at this hotel during our first trip to the USA in December. It was fantastic perfectly located for the metro etc, staff couldn't do enough for you! We had a room upgrade to a corner suite and it was divine! The wine hour is a brilliant touch especially cozying up by the fire after a long day sight seeing. Highly recommend this hotel. Weekend brunch superb and bar had a good atmosphere!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

The Palomar is my first choice for DC travel. The place is comfortable and very well located, close to the Red Line and many places of interest within walking distance. I find the service to be excellent, and the nightly wine tastings are legendary.

Room Tip: I prefer higher floors and to face P Street.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very good actually, You can see on their web site.
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

A very nice hotel--except for the tiny elevators---and staff. Beautiful beds and linens, well decorated. A bit surprised in today's world that they still have analog TV reception--I forgot how great HD is. The wine reception is nice and they handled the restaurant/bar remodeling as well as could be expected in such a small space. I would use this hotel again if in Dupont Circle area.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#16 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#22 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless sophistication meets contemporary style at the Hotel Palomar Washington DC. This luxury boutique hotel provides flawless service and exquisite amenities in engagingly innovative surroundings. Located within Washington’s historic Dupont Circle, this Kimpton Hotel and its lively Urbana restaurant are a short walk to Georgetown and the city’s largest concentration of private art galleries, museums, theaters, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.