We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel between Dupont Circle & Georgetown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Valet Parking
Ranked #15 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Great hotel between Dupont Circle & Georgetown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

The service at this hotel is fantastic. We had a suite on the 9th floor of this wonderful hotel. If you go, ask for a room or suite far away from the garbage dumpster since it is picked up each morning and very very loud. Other than that the suite was great. Very spacious with a sofa bed in the living room area. Two tvs and a very nice size bathroom with lots of counter space. Great lighting throughout the room as well as the bathroom. Bathroom has a nice vanity and bench and a lighted mirror as well as great bath products and the best towels...they were absorbent and so soft. Nice thick bathrobe...but just one was in the room. I didn't care for the faucet in the bathroom sink because water trickled out of it and the faucet was tall and in the middle of the sink and hard to put face downward to wash...however the shower made up for it because it had the strongest water power...loved it!
The comforter on the bed crackled when you moved in the middle of the night and there was nothing else to cover with so we HAD to use it. No coffee maker in the room but coffee was offered in the lobby until 10:30 a.m.
DuPont Circle is only 2 blocks away in one direction and Georgetown shopping area is about a 10 minute walk in the other direction.

There are several breakfast places in the area (2 across the street) and an organic one about 2 blocks away.

Room Tip: away from dumpster.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Hello spaintravelerAtlanta,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. Sounds like just an awesome stay. I appreciate the notes about location, we are perfectly situated for business or leisure. Your room descriptions are great. For the coffee maker, they are available on request so for your next stay, we can outfit your room prior to your arrival.

Cheers,
Abe Liao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,916
    769
    196
    74
    20
See reviews for
604
1,175
215
649
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (543)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Arrived at the Palomar on Good Friday around 6.30pm. The place was hopping and reception was very busy but we were checked in within15 minutes. Despite the hotel being full and one of the elevators being out of order we didn't have much of a wait at any time. The double queen room was big, bright and well equipped. We were on the 3rd floor at the front of the hotel but once we used our earplugs , we didn't hear a sound. Even the person in the room next door who had the TV on full blast all night, every night didn't keep us awake. Room and bathroom was very clean and the shower was very powerful. Good lighting too in the bathroom and the mist free makeup mirror was very useful. Liked the funky bathrobes, makes a change from the boring white ones! Plenty of storage space. As we did an awful lot of sightseeing and ate a lot on the run, we didn't get a chance to try out the restaurant on this visit. The location is perfect as it's a quick walk to the Metro and we were easily able to get around the city. Checkout was quick. As there were no taxis available when we were leaving, the hotel car took us to Reagan airport. The driver was very nice and we had a smooth journey in a spotless SUV.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Hi Aprilfool1965,

Thank you for your review. What an awesome stay! Sorry to hear about noisy neighbors, in the future, a quick call to our Guest Service Team will resolve this. I appreciate the note about room size, the Executive Category Rooms are awesome, over sized rooms, great for families or multiple travelers.

Cheers,
Abe Liao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is fabulous! This was my first time here, and It will be my DC residence. The location is perfect. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The wine hour in the lobby brings a great, vibrant, and interesting crowd. However, in the hallways and bedrooms.....utter silence! What a combination. The staff is attentive but not pushy or intrusive. Package all that and the fact that they are Pet friendly! You will not be disappointed.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We spent the weekend (April 25/26/27, 2014) in the Palomar. The rooms were massive, the hotel quite clean and the experience was great. YES the hotel is in the middle of a renovation and one of the 3 elevators is out for service but we did not have any issues with wait times and our kids loved the stairwell in the morning anyway. An OUTSTANDING Wine/snack happy hour that gets busy FAST. Recommend that you get to the lobby by 5:10 to have a place to sit.

Walking distance to Dupont Circle restaurants and the METRO. We parked at the hotel and never used our car again until we left.

Recommendation is to CALL for your car 20-30 mins before you need it as the parking lot / team seems to be a bit remote.

Great location, super clean hotel, wonderful amenities and front desk team.

Room Tip: With the elevators under construction try to get a room on the 5th floor or below ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Hi Ron M,

Thanks for your review. Sounds like a great stay, not impacted by the elevator renovations. The work will be complete in a few months, so we'll have super efficient elevators moving forward. It was time to completely replace them, so the cost of doing business I am afraid. Glad to hear the kiddies loved it. Come back once the pool is open!

Cheers,
Abe Liao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

The Kimpton mantra of having a good time being more than great sheets and a good mattress, suits us just fine!! Wine every afternoon, while visiting with other guests, creates positive energy! We look for a Kimpton first as the staff are friendly and hospitable. The Palomar is more pricey than the Helix. (stayed there on our last visit, as it was last minute and the Palomar's prices were too high), however, with that said, the Palomar is a much better location and new, so worth the difference in price. Also, across the street from the Palomar is the best little bagel place in town! The whole wheat bagels are fabulous and they do a booming business. We like taking them to go and walking to the park.

Room Tip: We ask for a room away from the busy street, so prefer the rooms in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Hi lindakellyfisher,

Thank you for your testimonial on TripAdvisor. Funny you mentioned "mantra", stay tuned for more along those lines. Traditionally, our pricing does differ from the Helix, but from time to time we do offer specials. Be sure to sign up for Kimpton InTouch to stay in-touch with those offers.

Cheers,
Abe Liao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Malling, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We loved this hotel, from the friendly staff to the excellent breakfast. Our room was on the top floor and the lift very slow however that did not spoil the experience.
The hotel was easy to get to using the Metro and was within walking distance of all the sights, as long as you are used to walking. Lots of very good local restaurants and a buzzy feeling to the local area.
The wine reception each evening was a real bonus and we met lots of nice people and dogs.
The staff were very helpful in organising our transfer to the airport.
We will hopefully return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Hi Jennifer L,

Thank you for your personal testimonial. Sounds like a pretty awesome stay. I love hearing stories where guests take advantage of our location and DC's world class mass transit system, metro. As for the elevators, we're in process of fully modernizing them. The renovation will take some time, but once complete they will operate more efficiently.

Cheers,
Abe Liao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

1. The staff put my bag in another customers car while they were supposed to be holding it for me until I checked in. The hotel was extremely lucky these people called to tell them they had my bag in NY since the hotel had NO idea where my bag had gone. I arrived on a Friday and did not get my bag until Monday, the day before we left. The staff and management were terrible about this. They acted like they didn't care at all. Horrible. Truly horrible.

2. Dog barking across the hall in morning. Manager told me to call when this happens. I would have, but the phone by the bed was broken.

3. Bizarre rolling barn door for bathroom. No soundproofing and very noisy to close.

4. The. Elevators...oh my...the lines and wait was so long people started arguing with each other. We felt trapped in the elevator when 2 coupkes started having words. We took the stairs from then on, but not everyone can do this.

5. Service was just poor all around. Really. Stay somewhere else...anywhere else.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the rooms near stairwells. Everyone is using them because of the terrible ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Hello MaryHogan,

Thank you for your review. Yikes, I'm sorry for your experience. The lost bag is inexcusable, albeit an honest mistake. Our elevators are currently in the process of being modernized, which will extend through the later part of the year. As for room design, I have good news to report that the Hotel will be undergoing a Rooms Renovation likely starting in December of this year. I feel terrible you experienced so many issues at my Hotel. Would you be so kind to contact me directly? I want to make this up to you if possible.

I hope to hear from you.

Cheers,
Abe Liao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#18 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless sophistication meets contemporary style at the Hotel Palomar Washington DC. This luxury boutique hotel provides flawless service and exquisite amenities in engagingly innovative surroundings. Located within Washington’s historic Dupont Circle, this Kimpton Hotel and its lively Urbana restaurant are a short walk to Georgetown and the city’s largest concentration of private art galleries, museums, theaters, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Amex, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.