We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay, but a bit run-down and ELEVATORS NOT WORKING” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Valet Parking
Ranked #15 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
St. Helena, California
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Okay, but a bit run-down and ELEVATORS NOT WORKING”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I stayed at this hotel due to the location, the amenities, and the overwhelming positive reviews. Well, I have to say that I can see the allure, BUT this hotel seemed EXTREMELY packed, and as such it was completely unacceptable that they had elevators not running due to repairs (and the ones that ARE working are very small.) If I had known this, I wouldn't have booked a room there.

The non-functional elevators resulted in 15-minute waits for a single elevator trip, and situations with people forcing their way onto the elevators, overcrowding them and smashing each other into the walls... a fistfight almost broke out at one point.

Unacceptable, and I would advise staying against there until situation is resolved.

Also, the hotel seems in need of some maintenance/updating -- wallpaper warped and peeling from walls and other run-down appearances. Bed was comfy and room was clean, though.

Room Tip: The budget rooms are fairly small. The beds are reasonable (good size and comfy), but the rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Hi mediaguru,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. The elevators are currently being modernized, which is also apart of a much larger renovation. I apologize it impacted your stay, but unfortunately the work is unavoidable. Once complete, we will move on to renovating the Hotel Guest Rooms and Corridors. Hopefully you can return to us after these updates are complete? I would love to personally arrange that future stay for you.

Cheers,
Abe Liao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,913
    767
    196
    74
    20
See reviews for
603
1,173
215
647
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (542)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

My flight got in really late and I hate to get up really early so I didn't really make the best of this. But it seemed like a great hotel and as good as any of the other Kimpton's I have stayed in over the years. I got a great deal through Hotel Tonight (about $150). The room was very comfy, stylish etc. The location good. parking sucks. That's about it really. Hopefully I will be back to savor it more fully one day.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Hi Mactoki,

Thank you for your review. Glad you found a great deal on Hotel Tonight. We load only a few rooms at a time, last second, so it's great you got a room. Sorry you didn't get to enjoy our services, would have loved to see you at our Evening Hosted Wine Reception or Dining in Urbana. Next time?

Cheers,
Abe Liao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We agree with the below review from jakklein...after a 4 night stay we were a bit disappointed from our previous visit. 2 small elevators just don't handle the number of guests in a 10 floor hotel, and the waits were very disheartening. The manager posted a "mea culpa" in each room but it was not expected and made coming up and down for morning coffee (nice touch) or evening wine almost painful.
The Dupont Circle location is hands down the selling point for this Kimpton...there are great restaurants all around, it is 2 blocks from the metro, and the neighborhood feels so safe and busy without the downtown frenetics of some of their other locations. One more comment from our previous visit, some of the furnishings are starting to show their "age"...While we too are showing our age I expect Kimpton hotels to keep their rooms up to their 4 star standards. Sure hard to beat the large room size of the Executive kings...made our other destinations seem tiny.

Room Tip: Executive rooms are about 500 sq. ft.
See more room tips
Green Features: Good signage to encourage "green" practices (re-using towels etc)
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Hi 145JulieH,

Thanks for your review on TripAdvisor. I'm sorry to hear about your experience with our elevators. They are the first phase of a multi-million dollar renovation that is occurring through the end of 2014. The renovation beyond the elevators will also address all the wear and tear issues you mentioned in the guestroom. Hopefully you will rejoin us after the renovations are complete and I would love to personally arrange this stay for you.

Cheers,
Abe Liao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Nice hotel, unfortunately there was only two active lifts during are stay and they're were extremely slow which was a little annoying. Also, during the night every time someone shut a door on our floor our room door shook so we didn't sleep well. The room was a good size but doesn't really provide any views. A bit out of the hub of the city but very close to a metro station & I would recommend using this. The breakfast was basic but sufficient. The hotel restaurant, Urbana was a little disappointing. The reception staff booked it for our first night of our honeymoon & they told the restaurant this but they still sat us on probably the worst table in there & the food was ok but not amazing, preferred Scion across the road. Would look at other hotels if visiting Washington again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Hi CEL1232014,

Thanks so much for the review. I'm sorry about the mixed bag of experience at my Hotel. We're currently in the process of a major renovation, the first steps in this process include modernizing the elevators. as for the view, all of the buildings in DC are subjected to a height ordinance, so views are tough to come by in general. I'm also sorry to hear about your Restaurant experience. We will be sure to review this with our Management Team in that area.

Cheers,
Abe Liao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Just finished a five night stay at The Palomar. A Kimpton property that I used to love. It is going through a rough time right now. Our stay simply wasn't good, and we were not alone.

1. The hotel has 10 floors and a large number of nice rooms. However, it has 3 elevators, and they are upgrading the inside of one elevator at a time right now. So, with only two SMALL elevators, the waits to go up or down (we were on the 10th) floor were unacceptable. Sometimes we had to wait 10-15 minutes for an elevator.

Worse, I asked the maintenance engineer and they are not upgrading the speed of the elevators anyway, which are already remarkably slow. This is a serious problem.

2. They have a very finicky door key. Our keys would routinely stop working after each use - forcing us to trudge back down 10 flights (or wait 10 minutes for an elevator) to get a new key.

At first they told me it was just us - unlucky. Then I realized it couldn't be us - we had two rooms and all of us had the same problem. Apparently just having your key in your pocket, with a cellphone in ANOTHER pocket, leads to demagnetized keys. Furthermore (can you believe this?) they told me that they keys demagnetized when you visit a museum in DC (metal detectors). So, get ready to keep asking for new keys.

3. This is a VERY pet friendly hotel. I don't have a pet but find that Ok, unless, as was the case here, you have barking dogs all the time, as we did. I have no idea how they are supposed to deal with this, but I think they really want only dog owners.

The hotel is well located, just 2 ½ blocks from the Metro. It has a decent restaurant. But I would not stay again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Hi jakklein,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. I appreciate you compartmentalizing your experience. Sometimes if one issue occurs, there is a tendency to impact the entire stay negatively. Yes, we are in the midst of an elevator modernization. They will not be faster, but there are many things with the operation that will improve to make them more intuitive, therefore more efficient. I'm sorry to hear about the key issue, but glad to see it was addressed. Like all Kimpton Hotels, we are pet friendly. In the future, we can always setup a request to block your room on a pet free floor. I appreciate your loyalty and hope you will continue to choose us for your stays in DC. Please feel free to contact me directly for your next stay at, Abe.liao@hotelpalomar.com.

Cheers,
Abe Liao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

The location and service was excellent. The room was above average in size and clean. The gym was above average for this size hotel. The lobby restaurant was very good for breakfast. I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Hi qdkelly,

Thank you so much for your review. Sounds like a great mix of value and services. Our guestroom size and gym, are larger than the average accommodations in DC. Appreciate you sharing that. A tid bit of info, our Restaurant is undergoing a renovation in July. Be sure to check us out after.

Cheers,
Abe Liao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Stayed for a family city break. Location close to Dupont Circle and Metro was really helpful. Also not too far from a stop on the yellow route on the "Big Bus Tour" (recommended). We had an executive room with two Queen size beds - room very spacious and coped well with four of us. Free wifi (thanks to being a Kimpton In Touch member) was very helpful.
All staff were really friendly and helpful - particularly the concierge team.

Room Tip: Some early morning noise from garbage removal for rooms at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Hi PaulRTaylor,

Thank you for your review.

Sounds like a great stay. We do have VERY spacious guestrooms, especially our Executive Category rooms. I appreciate the note about my staff as well. They are genuinely friendly people.

Cheers,
Abe Liao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#18 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless sophistication meets contemporary style at the Hotel Palomar Washington DC. This luxury boutique hotel provides flawless service and exquisite amenities in engagingly innovative surroundings. Located within Washington’s historic Dupont Circle, this Kimpton Hotel and its lively Urbana restaurant are a short walk to Georgetown and the city’s largest concentration of private art galleries, museums, theaters, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Amex, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.