We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love this hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Give Yourself Some Credit
Ranked #16 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“love this hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

The rooms are actually fun - not your typical anonymous hotel room. And I specifically go there for the restaurant (Urbana) and bar. There's even a "wine hour" (which I missed last time and they gave me a voucher for the bar). It's just a fun place all around.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Hi Jasmine111aaa,

Thanks for your review.

Not your cookie cutter Hotel experience. We love just being a little different than the rest. Our Evening Manager's Hosted Wine Reception is great feature. A little party to welcome you back every evening.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,797
    718
    183
    71
    20
See reviews for
569
1,113
203
606
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orleans, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Decor not as quirky as some Kimptons - but a completely enjoyable experience. Friendly staff, large rooms, nice size workout facility, great Dupont Circle location. The restaurant - Urban - is great. Breakfast was quick, delicious - just need slightly better lighting for reading! Would stay again.

Room Tip: Just ask for a larger room -
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Hi marles83,

Thanks for your review.

Like you mentioned, another great Kimpton property. I appreciate the note about Urbana! Our new Executive Chef Ethan Mckee is shaking things up on the menu. RAVE reviews so far. Please check us out again soon.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, Georgia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

This is a very classy, elegant hotel right off Dupont Circle; it does not have the quirky character I normally associate (and love) with Kimpton hotels, but rather has a posh modern feel. The rooms are huge and very clean. The front desk staff is terrific, very efficient and friendly. I love the wine hour. There are a lot of restaurants and a metro within a couple of minutes from the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Hi long4travel,

Thanks for your review.

Sounds like just an awesome stay. Thanks for pointing out our location, it's in one of the best in all of DC. The Executive Category rooms are some of the largest "standard" size rooms in the city, for all Hotel brands.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

It is really nice - buy stuff from the supermarket across the street because when I woke up at 4 due to jet lag I couldn't get coffee and had to wait until 6 am when they start serving coffee at the lobby. Gym is 24 hours. I would come again. Overall, it's sufficient to what you pay.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Hi CluelessRiyadh,

Thanks for your review on TripAdvisor.

Sounds like a pretty good stay. For future reference, you may request a coffee maker in advance of your stay and we will proactively place it in your room. Our gym is huge, thanks for pointing this out.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Hotel was very nice and great location. Elevators under maintenance… slow. We had very loud disruptive neighbors first night. Lukas at front desk was fantastic…..kind and professional. He changed our room, upgraded and reduced first night significantly. This was all in response to our calls the previous night. He even went so far as to ensure the room next to ours was empty the second night. You just do not come across that level of service these days…Thank you Lukas ( you deserve a raise!!! :-)

Anyway, we would stay there again and recommend highly!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Hi Lem0nLulu,

Thanks for your review.

Sounds like overall a good stay, minus some issues with the elevators and noise. So you know, the elevator work is the first step in a major renovation for the property that is scheduled to really take off at the end of this year. Thank you for acknowledging Lukas as well, he is one of our finest associates.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

This is a very nice decorated hotel. The room we got was large and well equipped.
The main problem was the size of the bed. It was a small queen size bed that just too small for a couple ( and we both very thin). It felt very uncomfortable, when I complained at the front desk the answer I got was " sorry, next time you should order a king room"...
Another big problem was that only two elevators worked and it usually took us a long time to get to the 7th floor.
The best thing at the hotel was the wine reception at the lobby. They served free wine which made me forget about the problems with the room and give a four star review for the hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Hello gadidan,

Thanks for your review.

I'm sorry to hear about your room size issue. We do offer several room types that vary in size, features and exposures. We ensure that our Room Type Descriptions online are true and accurate to actual room conditions. As for the elevator work, this is the first stage in a major renovation currently in progress at the property. We will be renovating our guest rooms and corridors as well, near the end of the year.

I hope you will join us again afterwards.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

My family stayed at the Palomar this past Spring break and were very comfortable in our two queen bed and spacious room. Every morning when we down to hail a cab to begin a history tour, the door man always greeted us with a smile and got us transportation into downtown. Upon arrival after a long day of sight seeing, there was always a doorman to greet us and open the doors for us. The staff always welcomed us back. I would stay at the Palomar hotel again, anytime.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Hi Phoebebigelow,

Thanks for your review.

Sounds like just a wonderful experience. Thank you for acknowledging my Doorman Team. They are truly just caring, nice people. I'm looking forward to your next stay with us...the Doorman will be there to greet you when you return.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#16 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#22 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless sophistication meets contemporary style at the Hotel Palomar Washington DC. This luxury boutique hotel provides flawless service and exquisite amenities in engagingly innovative surroundings. Located within Washington’s historic Dupont Circle, this Kimpton Hotel and its lively Urbana restaurant are a short walk to Georgetown and the city’s largest concentration of private art galleries, museums, theaters, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.