We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place with one warning” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Give Yourself Some Credit
Ranked #16 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Eilat, Israel
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place with one warning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Love the coffee and hot cocoa in lobby in the am. Happy hours is a plus. And of course summer time ice tea.
Only problem - pet friendly. I've been in room next door to a dog whose owners went out. Not pleasant.
Still always happy when work arranges reservation there. Good location, right near metro.
Continental bfast is a bit weak and a letdown. They should at least add granola and bagels.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hi Ben H,
Thank you so much for being so loyal to us. Give me a shout next time you are in town. I will make sure your room is assigned on one of our pet free floors. See you soon. Best wishes, Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,797
    718
    183
    71
    20
See reviews for
569
1,113
203
606
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Kirby, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Hotel in good spot handy for metro and lots of good eateries - circa and paradiso very good. Great staff and very clean hotel. Only downside is the pet friendliness - great if you have a pet but not so great if you don't care for animals in hotels, however all pets were well behaved and no bother to guests.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hi Sharon T,
So great to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you so much for choosing our hotel while visiting DC. Happy to read that all four-legged guests were well behaved too. We hope to see you again very soon. Best wishes, Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Palomar for two nights on business travel. The wi-fi worked great and the rooms were very spacious with moderate-sized bathrooms.

The staff were fantastic and super helpful. I spoke with the concierge, Delaney, on numerous occasions for suggestions. She was always patient and generous with her thoughts and ideas. I truly appreciated every helpful hint. Delaney's same great customer service was also found in each employee I encountered from the valet, front desk, housekeeping and restaurant staff. It truly did feel like the hotel staff cared about my stay @ the Palomar.

The location is very convienent to many activities for tourism, dining or even recreation. The hotel has a well-equipped gym and pool that is tucked in between buildings for a unique feel. If you venture outside for a run or walk, you can quickly pick up the Rock Creek Park path and head out on a route to the Kennedy Center along the Potomac River - passing M Street/ Georgetown -or if a longer distance is your goal, the Lincoln Memorial may be a good route for you.

Cabs are always available - and the Metro is also very close.

Overall, I had a great experience and I look forward to a return trip.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hi PASR_15,
Thank you so much for the shout out for our staff. We love to hear that you had so much fun with us. Come and see us again soon. Best wishes, Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Pros:
Great Location. You can rely on the metro to get everywhere in DC.
Clean: The cleanest hotel I have ever been in
Staff: Friendly and more than accomodating

Cons:
Thin walls: We could hear conversations that our neighbors were having and kids in the hallway. It wasn't loud enough to be too disturbing, but loud enough to mark it as a slight con.

Overall this was one of the best trips my wife and I have had. When we return to DC we will surely stay at the Palomar again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Hi Kyle B
Thank you so much for celebrating America’s Birthday with us. Love to hear you enjoyed your stay. Next time you are in town please let me know; I will make sure we assign you a room in a quieter location of the hotel. Best wishes, Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This was an amazing mini vacation and I wish it was longer! The staff was so nice and the room was great! The perfect size for two people and a dog. All Kimpton hotels are, and with no fee for our pet!
The wine hour was fun and packed and the pool was a nice cool down for the hot weather from the July 4th weekend!
I want to thank Cherif, Delaney, Gordon, Andrew, Colleen and Jerry for all being awesome employees! I mean who doesn't like a nice welcome note and amenity during their stay?
I now tell everyone to stay at the Palomar when they are traveling to DC. Not to mention I am still raving about my stay!
Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear HelloStaycation,
Awesome stay; awesome review. Thank you so much for giving a shout out to our dream team. We are so lucky to have them. I will be sure to share your feedback with all of them. Come and see us again soon. Best wishes, Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This hotel is a very nice Kimpton property. The staff appeared happy, friendly helpful, and outgoing. The restaurant downstairs, Urbana, is very good. If you stay here, you should have at least one meal here. The location is incredible for those who are visiting DC.

The room they initially placed me in had a broken AC which Engineering came to fix but the room temperature remained at 78 degrees. I told the front desk who moved me immediately to a different room. The new room had luxurious furnishings. The old room may have needed a renovation.

The hotel is quiet in general, I would say the only complaint would be about the elevators. It takes a long time during busy times to get up and down the stairs. I waited 10 minutes once.

Aside from that, I highly recommend this hotel. Dupont Circle is also a great neighborhood to stay in. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear travellotus,
So great to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your great feedback. I am sorry you encountered issues with the AC in the room upon arrival. I am glad that we were swift in getting you comfortably set up in another room. Let me know next time you are in town; I would love to say hello in person. Best wishes, Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel is in a great location without feeling like its smack dab in the middle of all the tourist attractions. It's an easy 5 minute walk to DuPont Circle metro stop and the area of DuPont Circle feels very safe and friendly. The area is home to many embassies and countless restaurants. The hotel staff was very accommodating with all of our needs and our room was spacious and quiet. I would definitely stay here again or at other Kimpton properties.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Sharon C,
Thank you so much for staying with us. Great to hear you had a great time at the hotel and enjoyed the Dupont Circle neighborhood. It really has a great feel to it. We cannot wait to see you again soon. Best wishes, Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#16 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless sophistication meets contemporary style at the Hotel Palomar Washington DC. This luxury boutique hotel provides flawless service and exquisite amenities in engagingly innovative surroundings. Located within Washington’s historic Dupont Circle, this Kimpton Hotel and its lively Urbana restaurant are a short walk to Georgetown and the city’s largest concentration of private art galleries, museums, theaters, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.