We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gigantic and clean rooms, excellent service, good location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gigantic and clean rooms, excellent service, good location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Great stay at our first Kimpton and based on this experience would definitely try again. We had a room with 2 queens, and it was the biggest hotel room we had ever stayed. National mall and downtown DC are all less than $10 cab ride. Service was first class. Rooms were very clean. Beds were a little springy for me, but ok. The bathroom could use a fan and the sink faucet was extreme splash even with a light touch. But these are minor inconveniences given the huge rooms, cleanliness and service levels. We got a great rate of $147 including 2 adult continental breakfast on getaroom.com off from tripadvisor site. If you see a good deal, I would book it as the online pricing seems to fluctuate by the minute. Georgetown is a short walk over the bridge, great selection of Restaurants, cafes and restaurants on the street and a block to DuPont circle. Starbucks next door. Very nice stay.

Room Tip: Room 725 very large facing street but little noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear gianttrees,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We love to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon. Best wishes, Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,998
    814
    206
    78
    20
See reviews for
638
1,233
223
677
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We've stayed at several other Kimptons and this one was far from the best. I'll break down by prors and cons.

Pros: Good location. A 5 minute walk to the metro. Safe neighborhood. The daily evening wine hour is nice. The room was very clean. Most of the staff was friendly. The bed was comfortable.
The Executive King Room was big.

Cons:

Smell -There was a weird smell in my room. Upon checkin I called and advised them of the smell and they said it was probably the deodirzer they use but they would change my room to another room. I declined since the new room was on the second floor and was too close to the street noise for my liking. The front desk assured me the smell would go away. Three nights later, the smell was still there. It was an odd chemical smell that I believe came from the carpet, but I was never able to figure it out.

Noise - I am admitledly a semi-light sleeper. My husband is not. We both agreed to walls in this hotel are paper thin. Two out of the three nights we stayed we were woken up by random noiseds from adjacent rooms (babies crying, people talking,etc). There was also a bunch of sorority girls singing chants at midnight on the last night of our stay. We had to call downstairs twice and ask them to please ask the ladies to stop screaming and singing. They were about 3 doors down and we heard them clear as day (front desk seemed annoyed when I called the second time which i thought was inappropriate). I read several other reviews regarding the noise and thought maybe people were being super sensitive, but they were right. Noise is a problem at this hotel. If you are a light sleeper, stay elsewhere.

Soap - this is nitpicky, but I will mention it. We were given one bar of soap to use for both our hands and our bodies in the shower and it wasn't replaced at all by housekeeping. I had to ask them to give me an extra soap during my three night stay. I understand everyone is cutting corner these days, but this was unacceptable when I am spending $300 a night at a hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear lovevacas,
Thank you so much for offering your feedback. This is not the type of service we like to deliver. I have shared your review with the team and we will work extra hard so that the replenishing of amenities isn't overlooked. We are also exploring other options of odor eliminator. It definitely shouldn't be over powering. I would love to welcome you back lovevacas. If you are ever back in town please let me know. I will make sure you receive a quiet room and your experience remains flawless from start to finish. Best wishes, Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Was traveling on business with a colleague when our flight home from DC was cancelled and we had to find a hotel. I got a great rate for the Palomar on Hotwire and we set off. We had spent the last three nights at another Kimpton property, which we had enjoyed, but this was much fancier and more upscale. We unfortunately missed the complimentary wine hour and didn't do much more than go out to dinner and return to sleep, but were very impressed by the property. Stunning modern decor, color scheme of brown, bèige, stone- really impressive and soothing. Standard rooms are well-appointed, and this property provides animal-print slipper socks to go along with the bathrobes. This tortellini is about a block from Dupont Circle, making it very convenient to the Metro as well as dozens of good restaurants. Front desk staff were very friendly, and everything went smoothly in spite of our last-minute third-party reservation. I would stay here again any time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear PHW,
Love to hear you had a great time. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes, Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

If you are looking for a beautiful stay in DC, the Palomar is your hotel! They sponsor comp wine and snacks each evening and they are also pet friendly. The rooms are spacious and gorgeous! There's an outdoor pool and workout room. It's located in the best spot on a quiet street but in the middle of all that Washington has to offer. We used their complimentary bikes and had a ride. It's very quiet inside the rooms and we never heard another guest while in our room. When we return to DC, this will be our hotel!

Room Tip: We had a high floor and the views were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear BarbaraMVirginia,
It make us so happy that you experienced everything the hotel has to offer and had a good time. Aren't the bikes awesome? Thank you so much for your review and we hope to see you again soon. Best wishes, Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights, great location near metro and tour bus stop. Quirky hotel, great artwork and nice touches in room, animal print bathrobes, slippers and umbrellas. Hosted wine reception went down well together with coffee and water available most of the time. Ate in restaurant one evening and had a good meal, ate breakfast one morning which was quite pricey but lots of other places nearby to get breakfast if breakfast not included in your room price. Nice to have a pool but not a large pool area so need to be there early to get a space. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear TurkeyHampshire,
Thank you so much for staying with us. Love to hear you enjoyed your stay - we cannot wait to welcome you again soon. Best wishes, Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville Centre, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The staff at the Palomar were warm and welcoming. They made sure that all of our needs were taken care of. Wine tasting was enjoyable. Nice to have coffee and tea available in the morning. This is a pet friendly hotel which we did not realize. So if that bothers you, this is not the hotel for you. Many dogs as guests.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Garritys,
Thank you very much for staying with us. Love your comment about the staff. I will be sure to share your review with the team. Hope to see you soon. Best wishes, Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel has large and comfortable rooms in a leafy district a short distance away from Georgetown. There is not a great choice for eating out but that doesn't matter as the restaurant Urbana is excellent. The hotel holds a free wine reception at 5pm each evening. Staff are efficient and friendly. A short walk away from the Metro which gives easy access to the rest of Washington. Not easy at first to work out how to buy tickets and remember to add $1 if using cash.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear michealjean,
Thank you so much for staying with us. So great to read that you enjoyed interacting with the staff. Urbana is a great spot too. We are glad that you enjoyed the service and the food. We hope to see you soon. Best wishes, Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Dupont Circle
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
#26 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 942 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle Hotel
The Dupont Circle Hotel
#18 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
The George
The George
#13 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,655 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,459 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#1 of 135 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#16 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless sophistication meets contemporary style at the Hotel Palomar Washington DC. This luxury boutique hotel provides flawless service and exquisite amenities in engagingly innovative surroundings. Located within Washington’s historic Dupont Circle, this Kimpton Hotel and its lively Urbana restaurant are a short walk to Georgetown and the city’s largest concentration of private art galleries, museums, theaters, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, BookIt.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.