We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy decor, great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Give Yourself Some Credit
Ranked #16 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Classy decor, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The whole ground floor exudes boutique-ness and everyone is really welcoming; doormen, reception staff and concierge. Really helpful with planning a day in Washington and how to use the Metro etc. We emailed in advance and got a huge corner room and $10 free from the minibar. Not the most centrally situated for the major attractions but Dupont Circle is lively and has a large choice of restaurants, and the White House is about a 25 minute walk. Metro stations and Circulator bus stops < five minute walk. Restaurant and bar a bit noisy, but that's because people are enjoying themselves.
Wholeheartedly recommended.

Room Tip: We understand that rooms near the elevators can be noisy but we emailed in advance and, being in a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear BobthePoet,
Thanks a million for staying with us while visiting DC. Love to read that you enjoyed the hotel and our lively neighborhood. We cannot wait to welcome you again soon. Best wishes, Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,800
    718
    183
    71
    20
See reviews for
570
1,114
203
606
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ft Walton Beach FL
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Like most Kimpton hotels, the Palomar is chic, modern and stylish, apparently aimed at appealing to younger travelers. The hotel is well located, a short walk from the Dupont Circle Metro station and Embassy Row, a mile from Georgetown, and close to countless bars and restaurants of every imaginable ethnicity. Although the posted rack rate for my room was $999/night, I took advantage of a SniqueAway.com offer of $189/night (plus tax). My room was very large, quiet and comfortable with good quality toiletries and animal themed bathrobes (very unique!). I found the staff to be warm and accommodating. Like other Kimpton properties, the Palomar offers a reception each evening featuring free (low quality) wine and (minimal) snacks - don't expect the quantity or variety that you would find at Embassy Suites, Homewood Suites or Residence Inns. Downsides: the limited view from the undersized window in my room captured only the brick walls of nearby buildings; no coffee in the room (at least none that I could find, although the hotel provided free coffee in the lobby each morning).

Room Tip: South facing rooms would have a more interesting view but might be subject to noise from traffic on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Kimpton hotels are known for being dog friendly, as this one is no different. If you don't mind dog or even like seeing them, this is a great choice. If you don't like them, consider somewhere else.

The room was a big dated, and showed signs of wear. Lots of little things that don't affect the stay like cracking caulk, missing grout, and chipped night table. The room was clean, the bed comfortable, and the equipment in working order - though I worried that the water wasn't that hot and the pressure a bit weak.

Location is great, and the staff was wonderful. The place was very busy and the elevators slow, so hopefully you won't get frustrated.

I didn't think that the $42/night for parking was reasonable, but other than that its a good value.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Booked the Palomar in DC through SniqueAway, quite a good deal! Great location in Dupont Circle, close to the Metro. The hotel was very nice and clean. The rooms were large and beds were comfy.

It was a bit difficult to find check-in parking...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Just returned from a two-night stay at the Palomar and we were pleasantly surprised how much we enjoyed this hotel. I had taken advantage of a discounted opportunity through TripAdvisor's SniqueAway site. The sale coordinated with a trip to look at colleges, and the Palomar's location near Georgetown and GWU was perfect. The hotel has a funky, chic vibe. The nicely appointed room was large and the beds were cozy, complete with furry extra throw blankets and other amenities. The fun animal print robes were a nice touch as well. The staff was friendly and helpful, and we noticed the hotel welcomed pets, who were greeted with dog bones and fresh water in the lobby. The hotel also offered a free wine reception each evening. The neighborhood had good places to eat, including a few nearby cafes that I would recommend over the hotel's expensive breakfast in the dining room.
All in all, we would love to stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room, which was near the end of the hall, but it didn't have much of a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
267 helpful votes 267 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

In general, I like Kimptons for five reasons. 1) They are generally reasonably-priced, 2) they are well-located, 3) they are pet-friendly, 4) the service is always excellent and 5) they always have a unique, fun vibe. Having met all these criteria, the Palomar gets to a "very good" rating, but I asked myself whether the Palomar stood out as a particularly good hotel, among Kimptons, and the answer was "no." In fact, I had given the Nine Zero in Boston a "very good" rating, rather than an "excellent," and if I had to choose the better of the two, I would choose the Nine Zero over the Palomar, so I just couldn't see my way clear to rate the Palomar as excellent.

With all that said, however, the Palomar is located in the Dupont Circle area, which is one of the best parts of the city. The price is usually a bit higher than most of the other Kimptons in the area, due largely to the popularity of the location, and service is consistent with the high standards we've come to expect from Kimpton. So, all-in-all, it's a good hotel, and I would recommend it, but is it a "Kimpton among Kimptons?" Probably not.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I've stayed here twice now for work and have decided I won't stay here again. The rooms are very dingy, and the beds are awful. Lumpy pillows, very tired linen, and generally a very old feeling to everything. The beds have horrible faux fur throws on them and very thin old duvets. The rooms have a worn, sad atmosphere. Even the towels are old. Also, both times I've stayed here there have been problems with basic services, The staff are very nice but the systems don't work. Last time they checked a man into my colleague's room and he walked in in the middle of the night! Then they called my room - at midnight! - to apologise. I had been asleep for two hours. This time they forgot to send out my laundry - I had to call and then follow/up personally five times!! I also stayed at a Kimpton hotel in New York where very similar things happened. - Worse actually. So, don't be tempted by the lovely pictures on their websites - go elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#16 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#22 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless sophistication meets contemporary style at the Hotel Palomar Washington DC. This luxury boutique hotel provides flawless service and exquisite amenities in engagingly innovative surroundings. Located within Washington’s historic Dupont Circle, this Kimpton Hotel and its lively Urbana restaurant are a short walk to Georgetown and the city’s largest concentration of private art galleries, museums, theaters, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.