We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Upgrade Your Stay
Ranked #15 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York, NY
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Terrific service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I confess I normally stay at a different Kimpton in DC (Rouge) but was booked into the Palomar for my last overnight stay in late November. The front desk service at this hotel is truly top notch and they were great at giving recommendations for places to eat etc.They were also helpful with my bill when I was charged twice for a movie I watched only one time.
I loved the complimentary hot chocolate bar--great quirky touch--which was refilled all day long! The room was standard Kimpton fare in DC where many of the hotels are converted apartment buildings. Note standard rooms have TINY bathrooms and the hallways a bit dark or atmospheric. Usually the Palomars are spotless, but I thought the room could have been vacuumed better and noticed a ton of hair on the carpet and the area around the headboard which had a lot of crumbs. I really appreciated that the hotel had a door man who could assist on getting taxis (always 2 or three in line at the door) or to help with luggage--something the Rouge does not have. I didn't eat at the hotel restaurant but ordered drinks from the bar to drink in the lobby next to the fireplace. The hotel is not really for families--more an adult scene. My observation was probably not the fault of the hotel but rather its guests.Two scantly clad women were escorted into the hotel (around 10:30 pm) lobby by security of some kind (had earpieces and hand mics) and brought to the lobby bathrooms and then escorted upstairs. My friend and I wouldn't have noticed but the outfits pretty much explained their "profession" and they were drunk and really loud and shouting--the whole lobby was staring but the front desk didn't approach them. All I can say is the next morning at 8:00 am I rode the elevator down with one of the women who was wearing the same clothes from the night before (makeup smeared all over her face) and she was carrying her shoes and wearing socks from the hotel LOL.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,988
    810
    203
    78
    20
See reviews for
631
1,228
221
677
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (570)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The Palomar hotel was everything we were looking for: ideal location, close to the metro, close to restaurants and shops and a huge bedroom and bathroom.
The staff were friendly and helpful. One of our bags was delayed at the airport and we were given necessary toiletries so that we didn't have to go to one of the several CVS stores nearby.
The only thing, and it really is a minor thing, the power in the shower wasn't great - but then again, I like a powerful shower! It really wasn't worth complaining about, or moving rooms for.
We never ate in the hotel restaurant, although we did celebrate new year in the bar. So we can't comment on any food. But, if you're there for a short break, I recommend exploring the many restaurants nearby and further afield. From the looks from many reviews, that seems to be the best plan.
We were there for 4 nights. I wish we were there for longer. Great all round hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear danwizey,
Awesome review! Thank you so much. We hope to see you again soon. Best wishes, Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarrytown, NY
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

It's not hard to become a disciple of Kimpton Hotels, what with their devotion to top-quality service, free WiFi for InTouch guests and the always-welcome "Raid The Minibar Feature." No two properties are exactly alike, and they often reflect the city and even the neighborhood you're in.
To a large extent, the same can be said about the Palomar. It's in a great location, just two blocks or so from the Dupont Circle metro stop. You get a warm welcome at check-in, and any interactions with the front desk staff will inevitably be cheerful. The spacious king room I stayed in had a distinctive decorating touch you wouldn't see at larger, corporate brands. And the Aveda products in the bathroom demonstrated someone gave some thought about what to offer discerning guests. Ditto for the animal-print bathrobes.
So why doesn't it get five stars? A lack of attention to certain details. If you offer bottled beer in the minibar, then you need to supply a bottle opener. This was the second Kimpton I've stayed in where that was lacking. The handle on the fridge worked, but that wasn't its intended purpose.
Also, maybe it's just me, but I could not figure out how to turn off the iHome clock radio/MP3 player, which is in need of updating for newer iPod models. Speaking of updating, the furnishings in the room are certainly nothing you'd see in a Hilton or Marriott. It has that faux 60s-70s retro touch that lets you know you're staying with a chain where business is anything but usual.
However, it's time for an update. The furniture is starting to look tired. The carpet is not worn, but it is tired. And the flat-screen TV needs to have a digital signal.
I didn't get to try the restaurant, which was a little pricey, even traveling on an expense account. There was a good empanada joint a block away on P Street. If you don't want to pay $20-$25 for breakfast, Starbucks and Le Pain Quotidien are on the same side of the street. But if that's not an issue, the restaurant has done well on Yelp.
Overall, I'd go back at the right price. But Kimpton has a bunch of other choices in Washington--I loved my stay at the Rouge, for example, that you might want to get a little more adventurous. Still, I can't help but think that the people staying at the Residence Inn across the street would have been rather envious of my digs. Now about that bottle opener....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear murrayhill,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for pointing out some of the details missing - we will get right on it. Best wishes, Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I love Kimpton HOtels! However, this one was really excellent. We had the King Spa room- The room was as big as a one bedroom apartment. The spa tub really made the experience as it was a cold time and warming up in a jacuzzi tub (a true jacuzzi tub in which you sit on little seats and are under water) with jets was amazing. The room was exceptionally quiet which is key for me as a light sleeper and the bed was comfortable. Finally, staff were amazing and helpful at every turn in our stay. Will definitely go back! Note: We didn't try the food.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Many other poeple have rated this hotel and its staff highly but from the moment we arrived we were disappointed. The rooms were big, but not that clean. We stayed for 6 days and during that time it was not dusted once. The baths were incredibly small. The beds were good though. The reception staff were very unhelpful. We wanted some tourist info and advice but frankly we did not find them really interested, and when we asked questions we were brushed off. They were also useless at giving us ideas for restaurants, especially as they closed theirs Christmas Day, which we had relied upon as a backup if we could not find anywhere else. The location is good though, a mere 2 min walk from the very efficient metro service. Breakfast, which was included was very poor. It was hit or miss is they could be bothered to put bagels out. No cerials were available so that left toast or fruit!. Overall not bad, but certainly in our opinion not as good as others have made it sound.

Room Tip: High floor and not at the back as you will be woken with noisy lorries, very early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Adrian D,
Thank you so much for your feedback. Ouch - sounds like we really blew it. I am sorry! You should always receive the level of service and special attention you expect during your stay with us. We won't fail you twice. The next time you are in town, let me know. I would love the chance to personally make sure your next stay is an all out success.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

You can't beat being on P Street in Dupont for nightlife, metro access, restaurants, atmosphere. And the staff is very helpful and prompt. We've stayed there twice and both rooms were slightly tired, needing some work on doors and paint and lighting and the like. The basics were great: beds and bedding and bathrooms and ventilation all were in good order.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear rrrosner,
Thank you so much for your feedback and for returning to the hotel. I will be sure to share your comments about the staff with the team. While I am at it; it looks like these poor door jambs and trims are in need of some love. We will get right on it. Take care and see you soon! Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We chose the Palomar for our stay in DC owing to the good reviews in TripAdvisor and the affordable price. The only good thing in our stay turned out to be that it reminded us that TripAdvisor is not to be trusted unconditionally. It feels almost like we haven't stayed at the same hotel as the majority of the other people reviewing the Palomar.

Everything started to go wrong right during the check in. Apparently the clerk thought it was appropriate to diss the Republicans. As European we don't endorse neither of the major American parties, but still we don't think that this kind of behaviour is appropriate for a hotel receptionist.

The hotel premises seemed a bit shabby, but since the TripAdvisor reviews were so good, we thought the room would be nicer. Well, it wasn't. It was dark, dingy and small with views to a dreary courtyard. In addition to that the room lacked a coffee maker - and any kind of soundproofing. On the table there were a bottle of sparkling wine and a box of chocolates. We thought that they were a welcome present for us, but the letter on the side proved that they were addressed to some other couple for their honeymoon...

Since it was late we went to sleep and decided to reassess the hotel in the morning after the breakfast. Unfortunately, things didn't go any better the next day.

Our reservation included a choice of buffet breakfast or a voucher to be used for the à la carte breakfast. The buffet was the lousiest we have ever seen in a hotel. Everything was either canned (like the fruit salad) or dry (like the bread and the pastries). The selection was extremely narrow. As for the voucher, the value of it was not enough for anything from the menu.

After the breakfast, when leaving our room in order to go for a walk to Georgetown, we closed the door and tried whether it had locked. Luckily, since we noticed that the door would not lock but stayed unlocked instead! If we hadn't tried the door, anybody could have walked into our room and taken our stuff! That was the nail in the coffin for us. We packed our belongings and opted for another hotel.

The Palomar was the first and the last Kimpton hotel for us.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear HraPormestari,
Thank you so much for your feedback. I am so sorry that we didn't deliver the level of service we are so well known for during your stay this past summer. I will share your review with the team and make sure that we don't repeat such mistakes. If a future trip brings you back to DC, please let me know. I would love the opportunity to set up your visit personally. Best wishes, Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
#25 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 941 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle Hotel
The Dupont Circle Hotel
#19 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
The George
The George
#13 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,646 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,449 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#1 of 135 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#18 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless sophistication meets contemporary style at the Hotel Palomar Washington DC. This luxury boutique hotel provides flawless service and exquisite amenities in engagingly innovative surroundings. Located within Washington’s historic Dupont Circle, this Kimpton Hotel and its lively Urbana restaurant are a short walk to Georgetown and the city’s largest concentration of private art galleries, museums, theaters, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, BookIt.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Agoda, Otel, HotelsClick and Jetsetter so you can book your Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.