We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Night in the City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Valet Parking
Ranked #13 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Luxury Night in the City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We wanted to stay in the city for a night since we were celebrating a birthday. Hotel Palomar was very close to the Dupont Circle metro station, which was extremely convenient for getting around. Dupont Circle is a great area as well. The staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating. Since we were only staying for one night, we had requested a late check out in advance. Upon arrival the concierge gave us a 2pm check out time, at no extra cost.

Included in the cost was a wine reception, which were unable to attend, but which looked quite popular. The room itself was lovely. Everything was clean and the bed was deliciously comfortable. Just down the block from the hotel is a Starbucks and a lovely little breakfast place. I would definitely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear bribs28,
Thank you so much for a great review and for choosing our hotel to spend the night in the city. What great comments about the staff; thank you. I will be sure to share your feedback with the team. Best wishes, Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,744
    691
    178
    67
    20
See reviews for
558
1,078
198
580
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Echo the excellent reviews given by other travellers. Lovely large room with good facilities, friendly and helpful staff who made us feel well looked after. Upon arrival, we were given $50 worth of drinks vouchers for the bar! Free coffee at breakfast and wine reception in the evening. Good location too, midway between Mall and the centre of Georgetown. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Travel1981_12,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review with the world travelers. So happy to read that you enjoyed the extra room offered in our Executive King rooms. Thanks a lot for the great comments about the staff. I will be sure to share your review with the team. We hope to see you again soon. Best wishes, Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This hotel has a great vibe and manages to be hip while welcoming kids and pets. The room size was amazing - our kids are 12, 10 and 6 and an executive queen room with a cot was very roomy. Our room faced the main street but was still very quiet. Dupont Circle is a great location - restaurants and metro within easy walking distance. Short metro ride to the Mall. Amazing value - the nicest hotel I've stayed at for that price. All staff were fantastic.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear ddme,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience. So happy to read that the entire family had a good time and everyone enjoyed the extra space available in the double queen room. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes, Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Kimpton's Hotel Palomar puts visitors a block from Dupont Circle. Part urban art gallery, part chic boutique hotel, the Palomar is done in comfortable taupe and golden hues with fun splashes of color. Guest rooms are spacious. In the comfy lounge, ask for Joe Bolam, just voted Best Bartender.

Room Tip: Request a room in the top floor facing south for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

A wonderful boutique hotel in a great location. The staff wonderful and the executive king room is one of the best rooms that i have stayed at. large and nicely appointed. The bathroom are a touch small but it does not hurt the overall feelingThis was my first stay at a kimpton but will not be my last. Over the last number of years I have migrated to the boutique style and I do not see going back any time soon. Great location. The health club is a touch small and could use a few more newer machines but was fine

Room Tip: the executive king facing the street on a high floor was great . i would avoid a lower floor as ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear jonToronto,
Thank you so much for your feedback. Love to read that you found our hotel to be a great boutique hotel. Thanks for being a fan. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes, Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

What can I say about this place that hasn't already been said? Let me try:
-We chose the Hotel Palomar because of their dog-friendly policy: no restrictions on size, breed or quantity of dogs (we have two, 20lbs and 50lbs, a poodle and a pitbull). Also no requirements that the dogs must not be left in the room alone, or that they must be crated. In short - our dogs felt very welcome the entire duration of our stay, and it really went a long way in making us loyal Kimpton Hotels customers (the entire Kimpton brand is pet-friendly).
-The room was spacious - over 500 sq. ft. Very comfortable King-size bed. Lots of natural light, and one of the most comfortable ergonomic chairs we've ever sat in. Warm, comfy, cozy. Exactly what we wanted.
-Location is excellent. 2 blocks from the Dupont Circle Metro station. A 15-minute walk to Georgetown, just head west on P St. Around the corner from Embassy Row and the Phillips Collection.
-Great places to eat: Kramerbooks and Afterwards Cafe (open all night Friday and Saturdays); Bistrot du Coin, Jaleo, Blue Duck Tavern, 1789, Bier Baron. Couldn't go wrong.
-The hotel has a daily wine happy hour from 5-6pm in their lobby. Choice of white, red and hot toddies (in winter time). Also complimentary hot chocolate, coffee and tea in the a.m. in the lobby as well.
-Front Desk and Valet attendants were more than helpful.
-Our only teeny tiny complaint is that the wifi service was less-than-reliable for the majority of our stay at the hotel. Each room does come with a hard-wired ethernet cable, and that worked just fine, but it meant only one of us could be on reliable internet at any given time. Not sure what they are doing to fix the problem.
-Also, on our third night (we stayed a total of 4 nights), some very noise people checked into the room next to us (we were in 802, they were in 801). They were VERY loud, raucous and distracting, but it was still early evening (say, between 8-10pm). My boyfriend and I had decided to stay in for the night (cold, rainy weather), and didn't want to be kept up until all hours of the night with these people. I called down to guest services around 9pm - not to register the complaint, but just to feel them out for when it would be acceptable to make a noise complaint or ask them to take action - and they were already on top of it! They had already had a problem with the people and were sending security up to give them a warning. Whether the hotel moved the people or they actually quieted down, I don't know. But I do know they took care of it, and we got a good night's sleep!
-They have a generous AAA discount (15% I think), which was great. Parking was a little on the high side - $40/night - but all in all, we still paid under $200/night for the room, parking and all the amenities.

WE WILL DEFINITELY BE BACK!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 802 - an executive king. Nice room and the end of the hall - we had a foyer before...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear lucybaby77,
Thank you so much for your feedback. I am so happy you enjoyed your 4 day visit with us. I was equally thrilled to learn that the staff was helpful and efficient in resolving the noise issue caused by your neighbors. I will be sure to share your review with the team. We are looking forward to seeing you again very soon. Best wishes, Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I had a short getaway in DC and stayed at the Palomar. This hotel feels professional and friendly at the same time. Every staff member we interacted with was engaging and helpful. Nobody acted like they didn't want to be there, which I find refreshing. A bottle of champagne was waiting for us in our room with chocolate covered strawberries. Wine hour is awesome and the hotel restaurant is good. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The only negative I would say is that the walls are pretty thin.

The Dupont Circle metro station is 2 blocks away and Starbucks is 1 block down P Street, although you'll find plenty of other places to get good coffee, too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Katie H,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. So glad that you enjoyed your time in DC and had fun interacting with the staff. We hope to see you again very soon. Best wishes, Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless sophistication meets contemporary style at the Hotel Palomar Washington DC. This luxury boutique hotel provides flawless service and exquisite amenities in engagingly innovative surroundings. Located within Washington’s historic Dupont Circle, this Kimpton Hotel and its lively Urbana restaurant are a short walk to Georgetown and the city’s largest concentration of private art galleries, museums, theaters, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.