We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Don't Have ONE Complaint!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Give Yourself Some Credit
Ranked #16 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I Don't Have ONE Complaint!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

The Palomar Hotel is great from the moment you step inside. The doormen and employees at the front lobby are very friendly. Aesthically the hotel is immediately cute and quaint. There's a comfortable lounge area that leads to a restaurant and trendy bar. In the mornings there's complimentary hot chocolate with white and milk chocolate shavings and in the evenings there's a complimentary wine hour. Both red and white wine are served. Very hospitable and appreciated. The rooms are another treat. I think we stayed in the smallest one but it was absolutely adorable! The bed had body pillows, faux fur throws and animal print robes. The price was also incredibly reasonable. The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance to shops and this awesome bookstore/diner called Kramer's. A quick cab ride will get you to the center of Georgetown for more shopping. I would definitely be back to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear karmelLosAngeles,
Thank you so much for the fantastic feedback! We wish you a Happy New Year and hope to see you again very soon. Best wishes, Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,799
    718
    183
    71
    20
See reviews for
570
1,113
203
606
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The service was excellent. The doormen and front desk are especially good.

The free hot cocoa, free wi-fi, free newspaper, free mini bar, and free wine hour are great perks.

The gym was decent. I think it could be a little bigger and have more treadmills, but overall it was clean and stocked with fresh towels and fresh fruit.

The breakfast was wonderful! The service in the restaurant seemed to be charming, but slow. But overall the food was very pleasant!

Valet/ overnight parking costs $40 a night which is insane. oh by the way, plus tax. But that being said for everything else you receive as a perk, I didn't mind it as much.

I stayed in the deluxe King which was very spacious and comfortable. The only comment I would say is they should redo the bathrooms with a bigger bathtub. Right now the toilet is basically sitting about a foot a way from the tub so it's a pain getting in and out of the shower.

The area this hotel is in is in the heart of it all. You can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Chris P,
Thank you so much for your feedback. I am glad to read that you found our hotel to be of good value and enjoyed the neighborhood. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Happy New Year! Best wishes, Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed at the Palomar Washington DC for a long weekend. The hotel is lovely, very modern and well appointed. Our room was spacious and the beds were extremely comfortable. The front desk staff and the concierge really went out of their way to be kind, friendly, professional and helpful. I would say this hotel was just about fantastic except for a few minor things: the first and biggest complaint I had was with housekeeping. They did a fairly good job cleaning our room but seemed to have trouble understanding our request not to be disturbed until after 9:30 AM (we did not have a sign to hang on the door and told them so but they never gave us one). Even once we asked them to come back later, they decided that would be a good time to vacuum the rug in the hall outside our room....for what seemed to be a really long time. And they kept banging the vacuum into our door. I'd like to think this was done innocently but we had just asked them to come back later so I had to wonder.
All in all, though, I would describe those things as minor inconveniences. The hotel is very close to Dupont Circle and excellent restaurants and shopping. It is NOT super close to the mall and museums, so if you don't want to walk a lot, wait for the metro which is very sporadic on weekends, or pay for taxies (about $12 one way) then don't stay there.
Otherwise I would absolutely recommend this hotel and we will for sure stay there again when we are back in DC. The best part of the experience (other than the great staff) is their daily 5PM reception where they serve wine, hot toddies (in winter) and soft drinks, as well as snacks to all guests. We met the couple we were traveling with there every evening before heading out to one of the delicious restaurants in the area. This hotel is a sure hit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear SGill1125,
Thank you very much for your feedback. Love to hear you enjoyed your time with us. I am sorry that housekeeping did not take care of your request to not be disturbed prior to 9:30am. I will review your comments with the team and we will make sure all the rooms have a sign available. Let me know next time you are in town, I would love to welcome you personally. Happy Holidays, Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I choose this hotel based upon its walkability to Georgetown and Dupont Circle. It is right in the middle and except for really bad weather walking is no problem. There are many restaurants around and it is relatively quiet since it is largely residential around this area. The hotel itself is great and I enjoyed the room. Like most hotels in DC, watch out for the valet/parking fee.

Room Tip: rooms facing north have a courtyard/pool view and are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed at the Palomar hotel 4 nights, a very good location few blocks from the metro, which is easy to reach to the mall museums and monuments, we did not used the car.
The neighborhood is good, the staff is very kind and the rooms are very big and including comfortable beds, nice bathroom. It has all you need to feel good in hotel, clean and updated furniture's, the atmosphere in the hotel is very good - music all over and satisfy people.
Breakfast is continental, ok, need to add from the menu in order to get an egg/ pancake. Pay attention that breakfast is not always included in the price.
The parking is expensive.
Loved the cookies for the kids every night. We highly recommend this hotel!!

Room Tip: High floor and facing to the back is better, corner suittes are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Mismad,
Thank you very much for the great feedback! Love to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had fun interacting with the staff. I will be sure to share your review with the team. We hope to see you again soon. Happy Holidays, Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langhorne, pa
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed on a Sat night in Dec. the hotel has a lovely atmosphere and the staff was very helpful and friendly. We enjoyed the wine reception in the lobby. We requested a quiet room and we asked for a larger room at check in which was a small up charge. The room was #516. It was a nice size, fairly large for a city hotel. The bench by the bed had a big stain and the carpet was pretty worn in places. By the way, this is a pet friendly hotel, so if you do not want to be woken up by a barking dog, as we were, ask for a no pet floor! We could also hear the doors opening and closing late at night. They close very loudly and sound like the are your own room! There was a wedding in the hotel that night which seemed to have caused some problems for the staff because they weren't surprised when we called to complain about the group of twenty something's standing in the hallway at midnight talking very loudly. Last, for a quiet room, the ice machine was literally on the wall on the other side of the head of our bed! We heard that all night long! Maybe more soundproofed rooms would have minimized these inconveniences but it was a looooong night. The handling of these matters by the front desk staff and management added one level to my rating. Will we give the Palomar another chance? Maybe, but after we try some of the other hotels nearby first.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear tammilip,
Thank you very much for your feedback. Our hotel can be very lively and energetic and I regret that the noise disturbed you. We do have rooms that are in quieter locations in the hotel and we are always happy to move or assign such room for guest who request one. We are also about to start a project that will significantly reduce the noise on guest floors. I was glad to read that the staff was ready to handle your concerns. When you are back in town let me know; I will make sure that your stay is nothing less than perfect. Happy Holidays and thank you for your business. Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed here for a few days and thoroughly enjoyed it. Boutique style hotel. Check in was quick, efficient and friendly. It was a weekend and there were a few functions on so I heard the odd Saturday night reveller but not a problem. The bedroom was excellent, spacious very well equipped with King bed, large flat screen TV and an elegantly modern chaise longue.

Bathroom was good with shower over bath, good water pressure and toiletries. The room has lots of power points and a great work desk. I had breakfast once, it was pricey but good quality.

Everything about the hotel is good and both rooms and public areas are keep clean and to a high standard. They do a wine reception in the evening between 5 and 6 but I missed it as I was always out at that time. They also provide free coffee in the morning just off reception.

Highly recommend this hotel for business or pleasure in DC Dupont Circle area. Taxis always at the door and metro a couple of blocks away at Dupont Circle. Great location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear DannyBoyBlue,
I am thrilled you chose our hotel and had a great time. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Happy Holidays, Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#16 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#22 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless sophistication meets contemporary style at the Hotel Palomar Washington DC. This luxury boutique hotel provides flawless service and exquisite amenities in engagingly innovative surroundings. Located within Washington’s historic Dupont Circle, this Kimpton Hotel and its lively Urbana restaurant are a short walk to Georgetown and the city’s largest concentration of private art galleries, museums, theaters, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.